We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best!”
Review of Dingo Moon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dingo Moon Lodge
Ranked #33 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Darwin
2 reviews
“Not the best!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Not a good hostel, pretty dirty place, the room i stayed in was never cleaned and there was still rubbish from previous travellers, staff were generally unhelpful,and the rooms were very small. i stayed here for a week as they do not offer refunds so be careful once you book, as they need payment before they book you in.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    27
    22
    23
See reviews for
7
35
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

As the Dingo Moon is recommended by Lonely Planet and many more and as the Rates are really high (35,5 AD in a mixed 4 Dorm) our expectations were also really high. The room was so small, Nr 7, and itmwas almost impossible to fit 4 People and luggage in there. It wasn't clean at all.the only positive Thing in the room was the Air conditioninf which worked well.
The kitchennhas been a mess, no one cleans his stuff and you don't have enough glasses there.
The Pool is Ok, but in front of the kitchen and sitting area so not a relaxed place at all.
Showers and toiletts are alright and not too dirty!
Breakfast is Good, they offer 4types of cerials, bread, different jams, nutella, fruits, muffins and more. Unfortunately they just bring along the things how they want and if you are not there that moment you can be lucky if you still got milk.
One of the most disappointing thingmwas the Manager who is more than unfriendly! They advertise with Free Wifi but it die not work. He just said that it is not his Problem, as he does Not have to offer it.
I definitely would not go back there anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here four nights in a private room for four (a good size, with two sets of bunks plus a fridge, which was a great boon). The room was clean and had aircon, but no individual reading lights, just a big old strip light in the ceiling, which was a bit of a pain. The rest of the hostel was not so clean, as other residents seemed to delight in leaving a mess in the bathrooms and kitchen. The bathrooms were private but there were probably not quite enough of them. The kitchen was basic, with insufficient work surface and a dangerous-looking gas range which was serviced while we were there, ie it was out of action for several hours. But the main issue with the kitchen was the washing up facilities - two sinks next to each other in a corner with very small drainage areas - which were constantly full of dirty pots and pans, and meant no-one could wash up easily... Staff pretty much kept to the reception booth at the front of the building, were not always available, and certainly did not wander round keeping an eye on things.

On the plus side, the pool was lovely and really is under a frangipani tree, and the hostel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, waterfront, and main backpacker drag, but far enough away that it is relatively quiet (apart from its own residents...). The lack of a bar was a selling point for us as a family. There was just about sufficient outdoor seating (nowhere inside apart from bedrooms) but lack of charging points for laptops etc (except in rooms).

Given its location and the price (about AUS$130 per night for the room, including a hearty continental breakfast), this was a good choice, just spoilt a bit by the mess and lack of staff presence. A bit more vigilance and intervention by the staff (and a better kitchen set up) would improve this hostel no end. We'd probably go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We (a couple) stayed in a private room. It was like staying in a demountable! Long-ish, narrow room with 1 window and door at one end. Low ceiling. Just a double bed, a single bed, a lamp, a fridge, a noisy air-conditioner, an even noisier oscillating fan and 3 hooks on the wall.

The no cancellations policy (even with 72+ hours notice) is plain stingy.

The free washing machine was useful but you'll need your own pegs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flobbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed in Dingo Moon for a week for a holiday and going on a overnight trip in between.

The hostel is located just a short walk off the main buzz on Mitchell Street where all the partying and noise happens. There is no bar in Dingo Moon which all the people I met found favourable as this meant everyone just got some drinks in the evening and was sitting around at the tables at the pool talking and having fun. I find this is a good hostel to make new friends easily as there is always someone around to talk to.

The staff was very helpful with organising tours and giving tips what to do in Darwin. They actually called me the night before my overnight trip when I was at the markets being worried I could not pick up my free sleeping bag for my trip in time. Knowledgable staff who were always really helpful!

The facitilies in the hostel were clean when I was there except when heaps of people used the kitchen at the same time. The bathrooms and showers were outside which is no problem at all though. The rooms were simple with bunk beds. Only downside here were maybe a lack of powerpoints (2 in a 8 room dorm) and maybe a shelf would be nice. First room I stayed in had no aircon but fans and bed was comfy. Second room had aircon but my mattress was quite worn out. No worries with sleeping as every day was packed and the people usually were really considerate when entering the rooms at night.

The free breakfast is a real winner with loads of different things for everyone, i.e. bread, croissants, pastries, fruit, juice, yoghurt, different spreads, muesli, cornflakes etc.. There is also free laundry use from 2 pm onwards (which I did not use though).

I met heaps of great people up there and think Dingo Moon is one of the best places to stay in Darwin. In other places you would probably get a higher standard accomodation for this price but it is an average expense for Darwin for good value. Am definitly going to stay there again when visiting Darwin again one day!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 to 10 are in the back building away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfuchti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Darwin is very expensive when it comes to accommodation so the term "you get what you pay for" doesn't really apply.
We spent three nights that sandwiched a trip in between. On our first night we stayed in a private double. It was big enough and clean with two free bottle of water and a private fridge (came in very handy!). The other night we stayed in a shared dorm and our biggest problem was the rubbish truck that happens to come early one morning and wake us up. The room was ok but having travelled a lot and stayed in a number of youth hostels this is basic by some standards.
The shared spaces were ok but largely dominated by long stay residents who had developed pattern and routines. The kitchen looked like a bomb had hit it at dinner time (the long term ressies do there washing up when they want) and the fridges were packed and unusable for us. We were happy to see though that later that night the kitchen was all squared away nicely and really we tend not to eat in at night anyway so this didn’t bother us at all.
Bathrooms and showers for the most part were clean, especially considering the amount of people use them.
Pluses:
Great location (a short walk to the bars and restaurants, far enough away from the action for it not to disturb)
Excellent, knowledgeable staff who are more than happy to help.
Free sleeping bag hire (if returning to hostel after trip)
Free breakfast, laundry and luggage storage
Value for money (Darwin style)
Very relaxed and friendly place
Negatives:
Long term residents can sometimes dominate the place (but for the most part are very respectful of people needing to get up early or needing to sleep.

If I were in Darwin I would stay there again but have a private room for all nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This Hostel is quite expensiv (but not more expensive than any other hostel in Darwin) but its really nice.
Its always clean, the free breakfast is awesome (there are even croissants, fresh fruit, pancakes and so on) and there is free laundry (I've never seen that before).
Its quite close to everything and there is no bar next to it so its nice and quiet if you want to sleep (other hostels have bars underneath them).
The pool are is really nice and you can always sit there, talk to someone and make friends!
The staff at the reception was really helpfull.
I would go there again if I would go to Darwin again!

Room Tip: I choose a 8-bed-room but I got a 4-bed-room for the same price that was really nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 37 in Darwin
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
H Hotel
H Hotel
#11 of 37 in Darwin
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
0.3 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#32 of 49 in Darwin
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingo Moon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingo Moon Lodge

Property: Dingo Moon Lodge
Address: 88 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dingo Moon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most centrally located and consistently maintained backpackers in Darwin. Dingo Moon is independently owned, offering more value for money including Australia’s best free backpacker’s breakfast. Dingo Moon's location allows easy access to all shops, attractions and popular venues within the Darwin area. The lodge offers a variety of rooms suitable to every traveller. All rooms are air conditioned which is available 24 hours day, all double rooms and some dorms include fridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dingo Moon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing