We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argus Apartments Darwin
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights in February 2014. We were very impressed with the size and the cleanliness of the apartment (we were placed in a 3 bedroom apartment but the other two doors were locked). We were on the 8th floor with a toddler and were happy the high chair and portacot were complimentary. Reception was very helpful in providing us with a late checkout so we could get our son to sleep before our flight back to Sydney. Great location, walked to the Waterfront twice and to the esplanade. Both Woolworths and Coles were in walking distance too.
We swam in the pool and were extremely happy the pool was undercover and was very refreshing from the heat, since the son was not on it all day.
Only very minor complaint I could say is there was no condiments in the kitchen such as paper towel or cooking oil which would be very handy for short stays, instead of having to buy these to cook for a short time.
But we would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveParisInSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyGibson, General Manager at Argus Apartments Darwin, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear LoveParisInSpring

It is fantastic to get your review and hear your positive comments about your recent stay.

Our whole team at Argus Darwin will be smiling just knowing that their hard work is acknowledged.

I understand fully your mention of the basic necessities for a few days stay. This is the exact reason we keep a caddy that is complimentary for guests that provides items including paper towel, salt, pepper, 3 sauces, tongs, oil and of course and generally a healthy choice cooking spray.

The time you have taken to provide your feedback is really appreciated.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    72
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
104
59
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff extremely efficient and helpful. Check in was a breeze. We had 2 bed apartment (no 25) - 2 adults and 2 kids (4yo and 7yo). Apartment spacious and well appointed. Kids had own bathroom. Good variety of cookware for basic cooking requirements and dishwasher was handy. TV's in main room and main bedroom. Washing machine and dryer. Location is good, although not in the 'centre' of town. Its a short walk to Woolworths, Darwin Mall etc and 25 minutes to Aquascene, 10-15 minutes to Darwin Waterfront (e.g. wave pool), 15 minutes to Mitchell St bars and restuarants. The pool at the complex is under cover and lap style. There are comfy couches and lounge chairs, a good BBQ and big TV. They also have a waiting room with toilet, TV, magazines etc if you have checked out and waiting for taxi's etc. Did I mention the staff were fantastic?!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyGibson, General Manager at Argus Apartments Darwin, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Dazz2014
Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear back from our guests so that we know that we have made your stay memorable, fulfilled your requirements and that the size of our apartments are enjoyed. Our team at Argus are motivated more when we get such positive comments and it is the little things that guests notice that highlights the extra things such as our complimentary lounge area that our concept of "exceeding your expectations" has been met. Always we take all feedback as a measure of how we are servicing our guests and what can we do to make it better. I wish you the very best for 2014 and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After having difficulty finding a suitable place for 3 couples we managed to locate a 3 bedroom apartment at argus. We checked in after our flight in the middle of the night with a lovely welcome from the night staff.

Room was extremely well appointed with everything you need for a 10 night stay. Good selection of saucepans, fry pans, oven proof dish, glasses, utensils etc. I asked the front desk if ant coffee plungers and one was brought to our room immediately by the lovely housekeeper who just could not do enough for us.

One night we cooked dinner for a large group at the pool and the staff were fabulous about making sure we had everything we needed and more!! Nothing was too much trouble and you could see the staff were genuine with their delightful customer service they were providing.

Overall would highly recommend. This place really know about how to deliver service with a smile even when under pressure.

On our last night we came back late before our flight and even though we had checked out that morning we were able to use their showers and they provided fresh towels etc..

Overall would highly recommend and hope to return early next year.

Room Tip: If you are there for a long stay ask for a room up high which will have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were expecting something very special when we booked. Argus apartments are off the main drag at the edge of town and away from the action. The hotel pool is critical in the Darwin heat. The Argus pool is passable for a swim, but the poolside is uninviting. We had a family of 5 in a 4 bedroom apartment. While spacious and clean, the amenity was poor. The furniture was lacking in style. Televisions and air-conditioners in every room, but no oven dishes, jugs, coffee plunger or salt and pepper shakers. Without a BBQ in the balcony, cooking was all indoor-very disappointing. None of this would not have really bothered us except for the fact we were paying $900 per night. While Darwin is expensive, I could not help but think they were having a lend of us. While the staff were helpful and apologetic, we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family and I rented two apartments in Darwin, this week. It was recommended by my travel agent, so unsure of what we would find. Our week there was fantastic, My kids were thrilled with the spacious rooms, cleanliness, and all amenities (including a small laundry which was invaluable as we had 3 small kids). The staff were very helpful and courteous. A small team of cleaners would service the rooms on most days. We felt secure, and happy to walk short distances to the wave pool, and local shopping centres. The pool was great, although cool, as it was under cover. Perhaps solar heating could amend this?
Also, as we had a minibus to ferry us around, we couldn't park under cover. Not sure how this could be rectified, but whoever designed the underground carpark didn't allow that extra bit of height for bigger vehicles. This meant that we had to park on the street, and pay for parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Barker SA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been blessed with true customer service at Argus, from maintenance through to the General manager.
We have had the opportunity to be a resident here for 3 months, the apartment is very big, huge even :) quality furniture, big king bed, fantastic shower, they are fully furnished.
On our recent overseas trip, staff looked after our orchids and our car and was generally pleased to welcome us back, this pleased us very much.
House keeping are polite, do a great job, as does all the other staff, reception staff are friendly and professional always have a smile nothing seems to be any trouble for them.
The General Manager is a lovely person as are some of our "special" ones in reception, these people believe in the true meaning of good customer service. We would highly recommend going to Darwin you stay at Argus Apartments Darwin. You can be assured of a safe, peaceful stay at Argus with 24 hour reception. Reception has a large array of tours available in their stand, staff are very knowledgable and a gym and swimming pool with a great bar-be-que area.
Good old customer service is alive at Argus, the best we've come across. Keep up the great work :)

Room Tip: Does not matter which room, they are all quality rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great apartment, clean, huge, well equipped , love the second TV in the main bedroom - stops the arguments when it's quiet time! Staff friendly, good location.

Only downside if i really had to give one was that theres only a small pool but probably good if you have small kids to contain. But large wave pool just down the road if you needed to get the kids cool and tired.

We stayed in two bedroom apartment.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#13 of 37 in Darwin
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argus Apartments Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argus Apartments Darwin

Property: Argus Apartments Darwin
Address: 6 Cardona Ct | cnr Woods St & Cardona Crt, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argus Apartments Darwin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argus Apartments Darwin consists of luxury One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments, in addition to our multi-level Four-Bedroom Penthouse Suites and a 24 hour reception, accommodating every guest’s needs from single corporate travelers and groups of up to nine. All our superbly appointed luxury apartments feature; fully equipped kitchen facilities, separate living and dining areas, separate office, private balconies and private laundry facilities. Our distinctive ranges of open plan air-conditioned living spaces are designed to provide maximum comfort where our guests can socialise, work or relax as if in one's own home. Apartments feature direct-dial phones, unlimited Wifi, DVD players and Televisions with Foxtel viewing. Split system air- conditioning allows guests to set the temperature to their individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Argus Apartments Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing