We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“? Not sure what to put in this box. Holiday?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argus Apartments Darwin
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Yes, the rooms are spacious but as the walls are gyprock (hollow) we could hear the people in the next apartment and they were quite noisy. Fairly expensive considering there is similar accomodation in Darwin which is much cheaper. The T.V. was too small and the main air-conditioner was noisy. Wouldn't go back or recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to the Rydges Darwin Airport Hotel or Resort
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Argus Apartments Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 296 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Upon arrival at the Argus at 6.30pm after the Ghan trip from Adelaide, we were greeted with an extremley polite and friendly receptionist (Amie). She explained all the requirements and rules of the appartments. When we went to our room on the 4th floor and opened the door the "wow" factor was evident. The rooms were large and well set up and very clean. The tile floors were very sparkling. We found the master bedroom larger than expected with a king size bed, large ensuite and plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable but could have spare pillows available in the wardrobe. The shower was great and the bath in the other bathroom was enjoyed especially for a good relaxing soak. The lounge suite was very comfortable and the TV's had a good choice of programs once sorted on the remote. The airconditioning was excellent and it only took us one night to get used to the noise. We had a corner room looking out to the harbour and found it very quiet even though the main roads into the centre of the city were below us. The balcony was well used and very pleasent to relax although the humidity was quite high. The swimming pool was excellent to cool off in on the hot days. We would suggest that the concrete walls and roof area be painted in light colours to brighten the area up a bit more.
Argus is only a 5 minute walk to the RSL Club where we had wonderful and cheaper meals. Mitchell Street is only 10 minutes walk and is where all the shops and pubs are.
All the front line staff were very obliging, happy and supportative with our needs which included bookings for a day trip and shuttle to the airport. We appreciated being able to leave our cases in the secure room and use of the lounge area until leaving at 9.30pm for home in New Zealand.
It was sad leaving Argus and we will definitely go back if we go back to Darwin. Argus would be at the top of the appartments/motels we have stayed at in Australia.
Thank you to the staff at Argus for an excellent stay and we congratulate you all on your dedication to make us happy.
Janet and Derek Spratt, Te Puke, New Zealand

Room Tip: Get a room with a balconey overlooking the harbour if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek and Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The apartments were spacious, well maintained and convenient to the attractions of Darwin CBD. The staff were friendly and helpful and were happy to help with any request. I agree that the pool area was a little average but it was still functional. The only down side for us was the cooking facilities in the apartment, the quality of the frypan in particular (i.e. it was cheap), meant that anything we put in it stuck to the bottom - a little annoying when you are travelling with kids who like schnitzels. I would also suggest that the owners invest in providing each apartment with their own BBQ - this is really a draw card for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed here on business regularly and it has always been very comfortable. We work in the unit a lot and therefore spread outselves out. There is always plenty of room. Even though there are only two of us, the fact that there are two bathrooms (one with bath) and an extra toilet is a bonus. There is also a separate office area if needed.
If we have had any problems they have been fixed quickly, and Lindy the Manager has always been very accommodating and understanding in our change of business plans when they occur.
I love staying at the Argus and in fact wouldn't mind living there if I could.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickedwendy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Wow! After reading early reviews I wasn't expecting much from this property. However I was very wrong.

I travelled with a friend who is in the travel business so had some luggage for a function later that evening, on check in we were offered a trolley to assist with moving all our gear, the receptionist (Amy I think) was very good and made the check in process seamless. Even when we were after a power board she was most apologetic that they couldn't assist us.

The room on the 8th floor gave spectacular views over Darwin Harbour, the bathrooms were impressive and the views from the balcony fantastic. The master room had a massive bathroom and even the other bathroom was spacious.

Air con took a bit to cool down the room, but that's expected with a room of that size.

All in all, great place to stay and I'll return there.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyGibson, General Manager at Argus Apartments Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Dodgyvalve

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Our happy and dedicated team at Argus thrive on hearing that their efforts have made your stay so pleasant and that you enjoyed the large living space our apartments offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Darwin.

Kind regards
General Manager
Argus Apartments Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The apartments are quite spacious but quite noisy as the the floor is tiled. the decor is pretty basic and we had the misfortune of smelling another apartment's revolting smelly dinner. The bed was quite comfy though. One thing that bothered me was that I had put a do not disturb sign on our door as I needed a sleep but the housekeeping still came in. I called to say I didn't need them but they started cleaning anyway. It was very annoying :(

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anneliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lets get the bad done first.

My three friends had our usual weekend away. We came from Perth and we booked at least 4mths in advance through Flight Centre.

We requested a 2 bed apartment with 2 single beds in each room. When we checked in the receptionist and yes to was a older one with attitude said that we couldn't have that configration and asked if we booked through flight centre which she knew we had as my friend had the booking paperwork in front of her and said that flight centre never passes on what people book so it was their mistake and she couldn't do anything about it and that they were fully booked and gave us an example of another booking that went wrong . I asked about the Penthouse suite as I had seen it on their web site and asked how much as it was 4 bedroom. Well the look I got was you can't afford it and didn't answer my question. Then all of a sudden it was we can open up another room in the appartment to accomadate us all but you have to pay another $80 per night. What a ploy Argus you say you can't accomadate us but then if we pay extra for a room that is already in the appartment. I don't get it, the room is already there.

We had a booking for a river cruise the next day so we asked if she could confirm our pick up. Well all we got back is that company never picks up anyone. We said that on the booking it said they were to pick us up but she was adamant that they didn't. So she told us to ask the person who was on in the morning to do it but we had to stand and wait for her to do it otherwise she wouldn't. Not very nice to talk about a fellow worker that way.

We went out the next day and when we came back she was working and said that the pick up was going to be late, no apoligy that she got it wrong.

Let me just say that the younger girls including the one we had to watch were very nice and helpful.

The good bits

The room was great, clean, very large and well appointed if you wanted to cook. Beds were large but could do with extra pillows.

Location was very good just a short stroll to the main mall.

Over all if you ignore the shocking service and having to pay for a room that is already in the appartment it's not a bad place.

The 5 rating is for the room and not for the service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balihi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#11 of 36 in Darwin
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 36 in Darwin
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argus Apartments Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argus Apartments Darwin

Address: 6 Cardona Ct | cnr Woods St & Cardona Crt, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $128 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argus Apartments Darwin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argus Apartments Darwin consists of luxury One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments, in addition to our multi-level Four-Bedroom Penthouse Suites and a 24 hour reception, accommodating every guest’s needs from single corporate travelers and groups of up to nine. All our superbly appointed luxury apartments feature; fully equipped kitchen facilities, separate living and dining areas, separate office, private balconies and private laundry facilities. Our distinctive ranges of open plan air-conditioned living spaces are designed to provide maximum comfort where our guests can socialise, work or relax as if in one's own home. Apartments feature direct-dial phones, unlimited Wifi, DVD players and Televisions with Foxtel viewing. Split system air- conditioning allows guests to set the temperature to their individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argus Apartments Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing