We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too expensive...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent one night there in what they call "Family room" (that is only a room with a queen and a single bed plus a microwave...). The feeling was very poor, bad lighting, small bathroom and a narrow balcony facing car Park. The room, as described, cold be' acceptable as a motel airport but not as a 4 star Rating hotel and NOT for the Prince we paid!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_ePaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    48
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
85
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Without doubt this best western is the best that I have ever stayed in. From the moment of arrival to checkout the stay is wonderful. Everywhere is super clean and the staff are super efficient and friendly. I have stayed in two different types of room and both were comfortably furnished and well lit. Free internet is available and the breakfast is both excellent and well priced. If needed there is a wonderful restaurant next door with a pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: I do not believe that you will be disappointed in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Poor staff, poor decor, poor facilities but seriously high price. Clearly trading on it's proximity to the airport rather than it's name. If you need a place to stay for the night, pay the cab fare and go into Darwin! Don't stay here unless the city is full!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P, Owner at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear AmershanReviewer,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. With more details I would be able to respond more accurately. As our name suggests we are very convenient for the airport, although our tariffs are significantly lower than the city centre hotels.
Kind regards,
Kim Page
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a typical Best Western -- a basic motel with everything you'll need for an overnight stay if you have an overnight layover at Darwin airport. The included shuttle service is quick and efficient. You must call them to be picked up, and it takes about 5 minutes for them to arrive. The service is offered 24 hours per day. The room was spacious and clean. For some reason, we were put in a handicapped room, so our bathroom was big and a little "weird," like no shower curtain, so we had to be careful not to spray the entire bathroom. There is no restaurant on the premises, but I suppose you could walk to the hotel (bar, tavern) next door and get a counter meal. We arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so we didn't need meals. I don't remember if they offered room service breakfasts, but I suspect they do. Almost every Australian motel does. If you drive, there is plenty of parking. Free wireless internet and elevators. I would stay here again, if I needed a place between flights, but that's about the only reason I can see to stay at this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or in the back, so you're not on the main street at the front. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel; both times while transitting through Darwin. It is a good choice for airport transit accommodation, but definitely not the best option for a car-less holiday in Darwin, as it is quite isolated.

We stayed in a Family Room which included a queen bed, two singles, a small dining table, bar fridge and microwave oven. The room was a very tight fit with a portacot thrown into the mix, but adequate for an overnight stay. The motel appeared to be quite new (maybe 2-3 years old) and the furniture, fittings, bathroom and portacot were all still in very good condition. The pool was also a welcome addition.

Now for the not so good stuff...

The complimentary shuttle to/from the airport was much appreciated, however we had trouble with it on both visits. We arrived in Darwin late at night both times and called the motel as requested. The shuttle was sent to collect us, but on both occasions left with other guests and without us. The first time we took longer than expected to get 2 sleepy kids, a 6mo baby, 4 suitcases, a stroller and carseat out of the terminal. The shuttle didn't bother waiting for us, even though they knew we had arrived and called for it. After seeing it drive off as we were approaching, we called again and were told we would have to wait until it returned. This was not appreciated after midnight with small children. On our second stay the shuttle bus took off without us again, even though we had called after exiting the terminal. After waiting 20 minutes with tired kids and making a second call, we were informed that the shuttle departed from the second tier of the pick-up area outside the terminal. We were not told this when we called, and there was no signage at the airport other than for the Rydges shuttle pick-up. Not realising that the second tier even existed, and being unable to see it through the trees, we were not aware that the shuttle had arrived and left without us (we couldn't remember the pick-up point from over a year earlier, nor should we have been expected to). It wouldn't have hurt the driver to pop their head around the trees and look for us - they knew we were there and waiting.

The other issue that we found annoying was the complete lack of food available after 11pm. The motel only does breakfast, and the hotel next door was closed for the evening when we arrived. The motel receptionist couldn't suggest anywhere in the area where we might find food, and an Internet search for late night deliveries proved fruitless. The best we could do was some over-priced sad-looking pies and snacks at the service station two doors up from the motel. Not a vegetable or piece of fruit in sight. An airport motel, which knows guests will be regularly arriving at all hours, should have some sort of room service or microwaveable food option available - or at least warn guests when booking that there is no late-night food.

The free Internet offered is also a bit of a misnomer. Whilst it is free (which is much appreciated), it is only available via Ethernet cable. For guests with iPads and smartphones without Australian data access enabled, an Ethernet cable is useless. This, again, should be something guests are warned about when booking. The website only advises that Internet is available, in 2012 one would assume this would be wifi.

Our last minor annoyance was the poor communication between Best Western bookings and the motel. When booking with the Best Western central number I was assured that a portacot would be provided for free, and that there would be no surcharge for paying with American Express. I was subsequently charged an Amex surcharge by the motel, which they would not waive, and on arrival there was no portacot booked. One was thankfully arranged quickly, but we were charged $10 for it, once again non-negotiable. Given the price we had already paid for the Family Room, I found this quite annoying.

Overall, this is a good newish hotel in an excellent location for airport transits. However for longer stays in Darwin, especially without a car, there are many better options. If you are seeking somewhere clean and comfortable whilst transitting through Darwin, this motel will not disappoint; but there are things to be aware of.

My tips for future guests to keep in mind are:

* There is a surcharge for American Express payments
* Portacots are clean and in good condition, but cost $10
* Unless things have changed since May 2012, the free Internet is only accessible via Ethernet cable.
* There is no late-night food available at the hotel or anywhere near it. If arriving late and hungry, stock up at the airport cafes before leaving the terminal.
* If arriving from overseas, activate your mobile phone as soon as possible to make sure you have service to call the shuttle. If you don't have Australian mobile phone access you will need to somehow get coins to operate the payphone in the terminal. There isn't a complimentary phone to call the motel.
* Don't call the shuttle until you are exiting the terminal, and make sure you cross the road and head down through the trees to the second tier of pick-up spaces. There is no sign to look for. The shuttle will not wait for you or look for you if you are having trouble finding it. Be aware that the air outside will be hot, humid and mosquito laden. As far as I can recall, there is no shelter under which you can wait for the shuttle if it's raining or very sunny.

A well-informed stay shouldn't be a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Ellebana,

Thank you for reviewing us. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms, pool and complementary late check-out. However, I would like to address the other points you mentioned.

Our free airport shuttle is only permitted by the airport authorities to stop at one designated spot and we are not allowed to erect signage with our name. Unfortunately it appears a misunderstanding led you to the incorrect position, which is why some delay was experienced.

Due to the solid, cyclone proof construction of our building wireless internet is not feasible. However free hardwired internet is available in all rooms, as are the blue cables if you do not have your own. Many guests find this preferable to wireless.

We are located near a thriving pub with a popular bistro for meals, although this does close before 11pm. There are light snacks available in all our room minibars for the late night ‘munchies.’

Many thanks for the feedback and we hope we may see you again when next transiting through Darwin.

Kim Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I arrived here half way through a relocation from the NT to WA, with a sick wife and a van full of luggage. The staff went out of their way to help, from prompt airport and drop-off to swapping rooms around so we could stay longer while we sorted out airline tickets. It is perfectly located close to the Airport, and a short taxi ride to Casuarina Shopping Centre (and Hospital). There is a nice pub next door which serves good meals and a 24hr Service Staion on the corner, which is perfect for those late night dashes for munchies, etc. The rooms were spotless, modern and well appointed, cleaning staff friendly and efficient, and the lift a very welcome sight when faced with the prospect of lugging bags up and down stairs. Breakfasts were great value with a good choice offered. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Your stay was certainly under stressful conditions, so I am pleased we could all help make it a little easier for you and your wife. It is our pleasure to look after our guests, and try and meet all our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabiru, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have had nothing but superior service from all we have come across in this lovely motel. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. They have an excellent shuttle that is always there when you need it. To us, it feels like we are old friends visiting and will continue to use this hotel as the one to be at in Darwin. Thanks for everything you have done to make our visits, 5 all up now, (especially the boys) so welcoming and comfortable. Mark and Laura Weston :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozaWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you Laura and Mark for taking the time to review our motel. We pride ourselves on offering quality service, from Reception through to our Housekeeping team.
It is our pleasure to look after all guests, and we certainly look forward to your return visits. And yes, your boys are a pleasure to look after!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
0.8 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#19 of 37 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Darwin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Darwin Airport

Property: Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
Address: 225 McMillans Rd | Jingili, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Darwin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Quality Hotel Darwin Airport offers free WiFi and free on-site parking. There are transfers to and from Darwin International Airport, which is less than 5 minutes' drive away. Guests enjoy an outdoor pool and a 24/hour front desk. Each of the air-conditioned rooms offers a balcony and a work desk. Guests can enjoy easy access to Darwin Golf Course, Marrara Sports Stadium and Darwin's CBD. Casuarina Shopping Centre is just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Darwin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing