We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay For 1 Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barramundi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barramundi Lodge
Ranked #14 of 20 Darwin B&B and Inns
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay For 1 Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just stayed here for one night before heading to Kakadu National Park.

Location was good, walking distance to Botanic Garden, Mindil beach and market. Room was adequate. We chose family room because we need place for 5 persons. Share bathrooms were located in every floor. Our room had small kitchenette, perfect to warm up our takeaway.

Service was excellent. We checked in around 6pm, so we had to call the caretaker, who came straight away. Checked in checked out was super quick.

Overall, it's a pleasant stay for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeKumala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    12
    5
    17
See reviews for
15
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am travelling with my partner and of all the places we have stayed we have enjoyed barramundi lodge the most, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the cleaner had the room and bathroom spotless also fresh towels everyday! the manager Natalie was so friendly and welcoming from the start of are stay untill the end, a real star she went above and beond to give us a prefect stay and really made us feel at home! The room itself was everything u need with your own kitchen, plates, knifes, forks, pans everything was there for you which was great compared to hostels we stayed in! A real home away from home feel with a lovely friendly dog! I would recommend barramundi lodge for a relaxing stay very quite great air con and tv in room beds are so comfortable the pool was massive and so clean with a BBQ area 10 min walk to centre of town which was great being able to go have few drinks, it really was prefect for what my partner and I wanted on are travels

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

At about $100 a night per room (our room slept 4) the Barramundi Lodge offers great value for the budget conscious. Rooms are clean, beds have new mattresses which are very comfortable and there are also basic kitchen items, cook top and microwave in the room.

Ablutions are communal but again clean and tidy. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only down side is if you are a non-smoker. All smokers puff outside their rooms and at times the smell came through the closed door. It also made for an unpleasant trip to and from the bathroom.

Room Tip: No room service or fitness centre but didn't expect accommodation to have any...plenty of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We came here early in the morning, got checked in early for free, had to check out late the next day and that was no problem, too.
nice staff and rooms supply everything you need.
hotel is located 10 minutes walk to the city center and beach.
swimming pool is nice and clean.

Room Tip: pick any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

In a city where everything is super expensive it was a relief to find the Barra Lodge. When I seen the price compared to everything else, I did not expect much but was pleasantly surprised with what I found. It was simple, good, CLEAN accommodation, at a very reasonable price. It is ideally located in a quiet area just out of the noise and craziness of the city, yet close enough to walk in. Its also close enough to walk to the casino and mindil beach. The lady that runs the place is a true blue aussie and gracious host full of knowledge and info about the area and things to do. I will definitely be back to my home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace del Mela, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the Barramundi Lodge in Darwin after a 6-day drive through the Northern Territory with a campervan. So we had spent the last six nights sleeping in a van and we were looking forward to sleeping in a conventional bed in a conventional bedroom. We ended up at the Barramundi Lodge because it was the cheapest place we could find, but the room was an average motel room without its own bathroom. We had to share the common toilets, which was not very pleasant because that was what we had been doing for the last six nights. The lady at the reception was more a statue-like character - with no facial expression: not a smile, not a sigh, nothing.

Room Tip: It's hard to find a tip: all the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Narooma, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place was all I could get in the under $150 p/n price range for 5 days. I did not realize until after I booked that there were shared bathrooms. For $130 p/n this is very overpriced. The “kitchen” was old and I dare not use the appliances except the fridge. I never saw any staff. However the place is well placed if you have a car or bike but is not right in town. This meant it was quiet. Apart from the price the lodge would be good value if around $60 /p/n but not $130. Probably will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.6 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barramundi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Property: Barramundi Lodge
Address: 4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barramundi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barramudi Lodge is a small family run lodge with 22 rooms. Our single rooms are shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. All other rooms are shared bathrooms with a kitchenette in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking. The single rooms open to a large reception area next to our pool and BBQ area. All other rooms open to a full length veranda. Barramundi Lodge is a 10-15 min walk into Darwin CBD area in this area you have your main Supermarkets - Post Office - Restaurants - Cafes -Nightclubs - Tourist attractions. Barramundi Lodge is a 5 min walk to the botanical gardens and a 10 min walk to the casino; straight across the road from the lodge is a golf course .We can arrange any sight seeing trips for you at the Barramundi lodge reception. Barramundi Lodge is pet friendly upon request only. Barramundi Lodge has free parking on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a coin operated laundry on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a lovely pool area with a BBQ area surrounded by palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing