We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant surprise”
Review of Barramundi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barramundi Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Darwin B&B and Inns
Pace del Mela, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the Barramundi Lodge in Darwin after a 6-day drive through the Northern Territory with a campervan. So we had spent the last six nights sleeping in a van and we were looking forward to sleeping in a conventional bed in a conventional bedroom. We ended up at the Barramundi Lodge because it was the cheapest place we could find, but the room was an average motel room without its own bathroom. We had to share the common toilets, which was not very pleasant because that was what we had been doing for the last six nights. The lady at the reception was more a statue-like character - with no facial expression: not a smile, not a sigh, nothing.

Room Tip: It's hard to find a tip: all the rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    12
    5
    18
See reviews for
15
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place was all I could get in the under $150 p/n price range for 5 days. I did not realize until after I booked that there were shared bathrooms. For $130 p/n this is very overpriced. The “kitchen” was old and I dare not use the appliances except the fridge. I never saw any staff. However the place is well placed if you have a car or bike but is not right in town. This meant it was quiet. Apart from the price the lodge would be good value if around $60 /p/n but not $130. Probably will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place doesn't claim to be five-star and at $130 per night in a city where most rooms cost twice as much it's good value and well located within walking distance of the city and Mindil Beach. The rooms are basic and the share bathrooms are kept clean. The lady we dealt with briefly on arrival was very pleasant.

It's on a busy road so there is some traffic noise if you leave the shutters open for fresh air but our BIG complaint is the noisy yobbos who seem to have permanent residence upstairs.This group of young men (and a few visiting women?) stayed up drinking and playing loud music until after midnight every night. Some of them then appeared to go off to work the next morning before returning in the late afternoon to start drinking again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very basic with a small kitchen in each room and shared bathrooms, there’s a small swimming pool and washing room although it closes 9 pm. The manager was very helpful and agreed to store a big backpack for us even though they have no storage room and have a "no storage" policy.

Pros-
Manager’s attitude
Walking distance from some nice beaches (10 minutes)

Cons-
Very basic
No storage room
A bit far from the town center (yet still walking distance)
Only two showers per gender for the whole resort (22 rooms if I remember correctly)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Rooms very old out of date, paint peeling and mould everywhere, doesn't matter how long your stay, your room won't be cleaned, bin won't be emptied and you will not get fresh linen or towel. beds are very uncomfortable, bunks in family rooms have no safety rails on top bunk so are very dangerous, no play area for kids as mentioned on one site, toilets ad showers not up to standard, very out of date and run down. Staff needs customer service training both managers very rude, one manager demanded I pay cash for our extended stay... We will never come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Rooms very out of date, cook tops rusted and most unusable, power points very old and dangerous, staff are very rude, no security: most keys open most rooms, be careful take pics of room before and after as guest have been charged extra for existing damage. Overall don't stay there look and find better, safer accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imbinrippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place doesn't pretend to be a five-star hotel. It's a budget hostel with just the essentials. I was just looking for a cheap private room with a bed and it did the job. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't the place.

Room Tip: If you stay in room 19 you'll hear the hotel's phone ring every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.0 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
887 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barramundi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Property: Barramundi Lodge
Address: 4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barramundi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barramudi Lodge is a small family run lodge with 22 rooms. Our single rooms are shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. All other rooms are shared bathrooms with a kitchenette in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking. The single rooms open to a large reception area next to our pool and BBQ area. All other rooms open to a full length veranda. Barramundi Lodge is a 10-15 min walk into Darwin CBD area in this area you have your main Supermarkets - Post Office - Restaurants - Cafes -Nightclubs - Tourist attractions. Barramundi Lodge is a 5 min walk to the botanical gardens and a 10 min walk to the casino; straight across the road from the lodge is a golf course .We can arrange any sight seeing trips for you at the Barramundi lodge reception. Barramundi Lodge is pet friendly upon request only. Barramundi Lodge has free parking on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a coin operated laundry on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a lovely pool area with a BBQ area surrounded by palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing