We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmerston Sunset Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmerston Sunset Retreat
Ranked #5 of 20 Darwin B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hosts Brian & Jan are wonderful. They were so friendly and helpful. The location is quiet with a wonderful outdoor setting on the verandah. There is your own fridge, microwave, sink and utensils. The pool and BBQ were great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
9
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having only stayed in a B&B once before and not enjoyed it as I felt as if I was staying in someone elses house and eating at their dinner table as if one of the family. I like the privacy of being able to choose how much time I wish to spend interacting with the hosts. I really enjoyed this place as they offered us the use of many of their own facilities (pool, laundry, bbq, outdoor lounge and tv area) while making us feel we were not intruding on them and giving us privacy. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and always keen for a chat if we wished to and we had many great conversations. We loved the room and it was clean and comfortable and suprisingly spacious despite having 2 adults and 2 small children in the single room. The balcony with its cooking and cleaning facilities, table and chairs and long wooden bench lounge was a delight. Looking forward to our next visit to Darwin and I will be sure to look them up again to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a beautiful stay at Palmerston Sunset Retreat! The booking was smooth, the hosts Jan and Brian were friendly and welcoming and helpful and, in short, a pleasure. We enjoyed their company and the privilege of having it.
The accommodation is well priced, clean and comfortable and has everything needed including a kitchen area to cook the local fresh fish available in Darwin and laundry with clothesline.
The pool was just lovely!! We could go out each day or just relax by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaytricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having stayed in B&B's for over 30 years we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this place for the price asked. The room was delightful, the pool most welcome and our hosts were very accommodating and helpful with advice on a number of matters for us. We have already recommended this place to a number of our family and fellow travellers on the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were looking for accommodation close to family and by chance came across the Sunset Retreat.
Having never stayed at a B&B before we were a little hesitant however the experience was brilliant.
Simple, excellent (& well priced) accommodation and we're more than happy to recommend them. We will use them again ourselves.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite with the pool outside the back door is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Emailed to request prices. Got email back. Went ahead with booking for a single night's stay. Credit card was immediately charged in error for 4 nights. Called to ask them to fix this. Get told they have a minimum 2 nights stay and I have to find somewhere else. So now they have an empty room and a furious non-customer who not only doesn't have their refund yet, but has nowhere to stay either. RUBBISH.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriaj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmerstonSunset, Owner at Palmerston Sunset Retreat, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Management of Palmerston Sunset Retreat was of the understanding your booking was for 4 nights.
We were also happy to accommodate your earlier check in at no additional cost.

A 50% deposit was taken ( ie 2 Nights accommodation ) and a confirmation emailed sent which is normal booking practice by our Property. 4 nights payment was not transacted.
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding and that only ONE nights accommodation was in fact required.
Our property has a min 2 night stay policy and as discussed we would not accommodate a 1 night stay and we would transact a refund to your account.
The original deposit was transacted at 13:26pm
The refund was transacted at 16:08pm less than 20 mins after the cancellation telephone conversation at 3:50pm.
We have also provided email advice and copies of the eFPOS transactions for your records.

We are dissapointed that this misunderstanding occurred and apologise for any part we may have played in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at this B & B recently, had to stay in Palmerstone for a Police reunion and 50th birthday. My only regret was that I could only stay for 2 nights. Bryan and Jan are just wonderful owners and make you feel so welcome. Great location, quiet, roomy basically everything you could want is provided. I'll be back and so should you !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sculy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
9.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
10.0 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
11.0 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
10.4 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmerston Sunset Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmerston Sunset Retreat

Property: Palmerston Sunset Retreat
Address: 8 Renwick Ct, Darwin, Northern Territory 0830, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Tropical Bed & Breakfast in Darwin with Private 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites seperate to owners Accom. Tropical Gardens and adjoining parklands in central location. Enroute to Darwin's major attractions Kakadu National Park, Wildlife Park & Crocodile Farm. The property has a large Saltwater Swimming Pool (Solar heated), wide spacious verandahs with all suites tastefully furnished with quality linen and amenities. Poolside Kitchen & BBQ facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmerston Sunset Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing