We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly accomodation”
Review of Capricornia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capricornia Motel
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at the Capricornia last minute and they were really helpful in leaving the key out for us. We arrived at about 9 and unfortunately the key didn't work so we needed help getting in. The lady was super friendly and helpful - apologising profusely. The room was simple- bed was comfy. Bathroom was very old and looked dirty (including dirty toilet brush covered in toilet paper and shower curtain which was covered in stains).
As this is the only place to stay with pets in Darwin we were grateful but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Capricornia Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

For a cosmopoltan city which continues to go ahead in leaps and bounds, this place has been left behind. Substandard facilities, very tired appearance and flippant staff. Our advice? Don't! There are far better options in Darwin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

our holiday at darwin was the best ever part because of our fantastic accomadation at the Capricornia which was very homely and comfortable. the reviews which were made before that were negative against the capricornia were very picky.and we were uncertain which to whether to book there but we were very pleasantly surprised . there it a big clean shared kitchen which was very handy and we didnt have to spend a fortune on meals everyday and we cooked there proberly every second night.
They changed the linen every second day and gave you clean towels every day. the cleaner/front desk lady Kiberly was very helpful and always there to helpshe is a very dedicated worker and she is like part of the family. We would recommend the capricornia to others seeking accomadation in Darwin :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a brilliant holiday staying at the capricornia and felt very at home, every second day they would service and change our linen the house keeper/front desk lady was very helpful and dedicated to her job being the every day we stayed at the capricornia which was 10 days. We would very much reconnect this hotel to everyone :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived in Darwin without any bookings, and found that the city was full. Having spent ages looking we found the Capricornia on the internet, and while the office was closed (9.00pm) we were asked to call back the next morning as there was a cancellation. Thankfully we able to book in and Rebecca could not have been more welcoming and helpful. This family run motel is in the most fantastic location, and has basic amenities including a refreshing swimming pool. The airconditioned room room had a bed with lovely crisp white sheets, and an ensuite. It is old fashioned, but this is expensive darwin in the Dry, and the capricornia offers great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cords52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Darwin is expensive & this place is good value for its location.
It is very clean, however very simple. If you are happy with just a bed (clean sheets) & ensuite (no amenities) with fan & air-conditioning - don't want to spend that much time(or money) in your room or at the hotel because you want to be on the beach & walking distance to lots of what Darwin has to offer, then book here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumblebott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel is like something out of the 70's! VERY basic, but clean linen including lovely towels, it has a small pool, barbecue area and is in a fantastic location across the road from the beautiful Fannie Bay beach where you can go for a lovely walk and take your dog for a run.

My reason for staying here is that you can take your dog, they allow you to keep it inside with you and they're really welcoming.

Not cheap at $120 p.n but if you need a place that allows pets, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
2.2 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 36 in Darwin
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
0.4 mi away
Paravista Motel
Paravista Motel
#22 of 36 in Darwin
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hi Way Inn Motel
Hi Way Inn Motel
#23 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricornia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricornia Motel

Address: 3 Kellaway St | Fannie Bay, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capricornia Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run budget motel in a fantastic location surrounded by many local amenities. Opposite the beach and close to the Museum we are also walking distance to all Darwin's most popular seaside clubs, Ski Club, Sailing Club and Trailer Boat Club. We are walking distance to the world famous Minsk Beach Markets held every Thursday during our beautiful dry season and also the local Saturday morning Parap Markets, flowing with fresh Asian food and produce. Our rooms as basic, always affordable, and cleaned daily. We have always had a regular clientele that have become like family over the many years and we always have room for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Capricornia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing