We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down to earth and value for maney”
Review of Paravista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paravista Motel
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed many times at this hotel and found the people wonderful and accommodating, rooms are clean and comfortable. Great BBQ at pool, with swim drinks and whatever you want, close to amenities, Great business place to stay, full kitchen to cook if want to.Thanks to all for making our stays memorable
Brendan & Britt

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Britt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

To begin, Nelson (the current manager) is a fantasic person, he's honest, helpful and an all round worldy person.

You may be decieved by his appearance at first, however, you'll soon be humbled by his friendly and down to earth demeanour, which is a god-send in the hotel industry.

Both he and his wife currently run and service the Paravista.

They're eagerly attentative and will help you as much as they physically can.

Both my girlfriend and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Paravista Motel.

The location is less than $13 taxi fare into the city and is conviently located near the Parap Markets (held on saturdays).

If you're after something simple, clean, affordable, I'd highly recommend this Motel

It's Darwin after all and for the asking price, you can't do better than the Paravista!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank meta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed our first night in Darwin here as it was close enough to our car rental place that we could walk to it in the morning. We were really impressed. Owners were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and equipped with everything we needed. We had a lovely peaceful sleep here. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amyandbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfectly adequate motel in the quiet Darwin suburb of Parap. Our room was quite spacious and also had a little balcony, so we were happy with the accommodation itself. You need a car here though - it's not far from Darwin but too long to walk and the cost of a bus or taxi (expensive) means that getting to Mitchell Street etc seems a hassle. It is a motel though, so I guess most guests have cars! But otherwise, better to stay in Darwin itself.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

good motel cumffy bed a lot of ants and a few cockys good location pub and food just down the road bit overpriced but ok stayed two nights staff were friendly and helpfull small television my room was nice and quiet as it was on the third floor

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steviek58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We use to live up in Darwin
So we knew that the Paravista would be so central to everything , walk to town and markets
I stayed with my mum and one year old daughter and the staff Dennis and tennille were so helpful and friendly
The rooms were older but clean and
Lovely!
Will be staying here every time we visit Darwin

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kez223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My first time to Darwin (quite possibly my last, I really can't cope with the heat - November), the owners/operators are the most fabulous people, nothing is too much trouble. Spotlessly clean roomy room, AC and a fan,comfy QS bed, good blockout drapes, flat screen telly, bar fridge, spacious WR, balcony with outdoor setting which just serves to make you appreciate the AC. Ask for a pool towel and you get a terry towelling blanket, great pool/barbecue area with shade. It's a very short walk to the Parap Tavern - reasonably priced meals/bottleshop, the Raging Bull Steakhouse (10% off when you show your room key). The other corner has a nice little general store and the shopping centre past the Tavern on Parap Road on your right is also a market on the weekend. The bus stop is a short walk (to your left) up Stoke St also and only $2 to go to Darwin (10 mins) and a good walk if you can cope with the heat - I recommend a parasol. A taxi is about $10 to the CBD where there are lots of good pubs and restaurants. The Paravista is an oasis just out of the Darwin city area with the most easy going, helpful, hospitable people on earth. The rooms are serviced unless you put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door handle. And they Do Not Disturb. It was and truly worth the money; I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Darwin, its true value for money.
PS We happened to be out the balcony on a hot night during a close thunder storm and were treated to a spectacular lightning show for ages.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the rear carpark are good, nice greenery and no people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gypsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 35 in Darwin
47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 35 in Darwin
402 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 35 in Darwin
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
1.5 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#10 of 35 in Darwin
166 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paravista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paravista Motel

Address: Holiday Units 5 Mackillop St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: $56 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paravista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paravista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing