We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paravista Motel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$136
$124
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$145
$142
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Pandanas(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$165
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darwin Central Hotel(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$138
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$126
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$164
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
35
46
35
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
46
35
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparap marketsmindil beachclean poolshort walkbar fridgebus stopvisit darwinground floortea coffeefirst floorhire carcomfortable staycentral darwinaccommodationbalconytvbbq
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 132 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is my third stay at the Paravista, it si propably the best value for money in Darwin. The rooms are great and the staff are beyond reproach. The Motel is run by a husband and wife team who are helpful, kind and just good people. I would reccomend this motel to all travellers who want comfort and convenience, without having to pay big city prices.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you have a special request just ask Dennise or Tonille the managers they are very helpful
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our room was spacious with a nice balcony. The bed was more comfortable than many of those in a far more expensive property. Everything was squeaky-clean. The staff were obliging and friendly. This property is within easy walking distance of a few really good restaurants, and it's rather nice to stay in a more suburban area for a change. The bus transport is quick and cheap into Darwin city.
Don't expect anything fancy; this hotel was built in 1974 and I'd say some of the fittings and decor haven't changed since then.
But we'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors (there are only 4 floors) are quieter because they don't front on to the carpark.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Air conditioned stair well so not so bad lugging cases up to 3rd floor (not 4 floors + ground). Room 18 good as it faces away from morning sun so cooler when wake up. TV, fridge, air conditioning quite and fan available. Room very clean. Bed comfy. Not far drive from anyways. Can walk to Mindil beach but better to drive due to humidity. Coles in Mitchell st to stock up on water and stuff. There is a kitchen next to room 18 but didn't use it. No noise from kitchen though. Excellent lighting next to desk if you need to do work. Good Telstra 4G coverage. Parking a breeze and safe. Great views from top floor. Services daily. Water cooler in lobby. Hosts friendly (and good lookin :) Suggested where to park if Mindil beach full - on side road near golf course. Do visit Ski Club for dinner - sign in green book as visitor. Scotch fillets to die for and best water sunset views in Darwin. Outdoor restaurant. Just a short drive away (can also walk).

Room Tip: Ask for Room 18 on corner and as faces away from hot morning sun and allows you to sit on the balcony in the evenings sipping cool beer. Don't be off put by lugging lugagge up stairs as the stair case is internal and well air-conditioned. Room 18 near kitchen if you need it. Air conditioning has quiet mode - use it at night but during day set it to Auto for best air-conditioning. Desk is well lit for business travellers. Buy all water in bulk from Coles - $11 for 24 bottles.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvilDaifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family of 3 adults shared a room here in late August. It is a very dated motel - dark with small rooms and badly in need of a bit of love and attention. (e.g.grimy looking brown shower curtain) Staff helpful when directly addressed, but seemed disinterested.
I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: request balcony? And there is no lift so ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annerasmussen2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This motel block is sited in Parap & when we first arrived the locality appeared a bit disconcerting as we were driving around the block to get there, but once there , we were hooked. The guys on the front desk are really really nice & cheery, even carrying our suitcases up the stairs & offering all sorts of help & advice. The motel is nothing flash but the rooms have all been refurbished with fresh paint & carpet & new linen. The rooms are roomy with a nice balcony to eat your home cooked breakfast that you can make in the fully equipped kitchen on the top floor where there are 2 fridges & a dining area as well. . Tea & coffee facilities & a fridge are in the room & they have a good sized bathroom . There is a laundry with 2 machines & a dryer & iron etc. Unfortunately there is no lift , but they were thoughtful enough to offer to rearrange the rooms around so we could have a ground floor room if we so wished. There is also a lovely pool for guests & a good car parking area. The building is secure & locked from 7 pm till 7am .The only downside - they don't service the rooms on Sundays so if you need extra towels you need to ask ahead to cover that day & make your own bed otherwise the rooms are cleaned & tidied every day.
This motel is only 8 km to the city - taxi charged us only $10 to get into the city to pick up a rental car which is a must. . Closer though is the Parap Village where there is everything you need including a really good market held on Saturdays where the array of food is well worth the five minutes walk down to . It is only 5 minutes from the Darwin Racecourse , close to the Mindil markets, Nightcliff beaches & the casino & Darwin City & 10 minutes to the airport. Parap has some good cafes & restaurants including the Raging Bull at the local hotel where you get 10% discount if you wave your motel keys at them,
While we were there they could have rented out another 30 rooms as it was Cup week & accommodation is .at a premium - we booked 8 months prior to our visit . We enjoyed our stay here & if we ever get back we will stay there again. - this motel block survived Cyclone Tracy pretty much unscathed so must have been very well built.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, book early as it is really popular , especially if you want accommodation during Cup carnival in July/ August . There is no lift so if you have mobility issues book a ground floor room. There is no restaurant so take along your food for breakfast etc.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews