We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel for a conference at the convention centre. Honestly, we could not fault it! Breakfast was included and we found it healthy and delicious. Our studio apartment was overlooking the amazing waterfront which although small, was well proportioned. Air conditioning was quiet and effective, bed comfortable and shower roomy. The reception staff could not be faulted and extremely polite and helpful!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the waterfront close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sandi28

It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    450
    205
    95
    34
See reviews for
204
429
74
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katherine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stay in Darwin frequently for short breaks. It was a very pleasant change to stay here rather than CBD. Studio apartment was great - lots of room and a decent view of the harbour and wave pool. Would definitely stay here again. Parking was only $10/night which is really good. Didn't.t use restaurant facilities this time but breakfast looked good.

Room Tip: Our room was advertised as room with a view which was a view of the harbour, wave pool and entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Heatherjmk

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and forward to Welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a 5 night stay in early September and found it to be a truly wonderful hotel. Everything was new, modern, spacious and clean. Couldn't find fault with this place at all.

The couple of meals we had in the restaurant cafe were nice and reasonably priced. The bed was great, the air con worked well. The staff were friendly, and most helpful with requests to book tours and taxis etc.

The location itself right on the warefront area is very pleasant and many people use it to swim and sun bathe and use the wave pool, but at night it quiets down a lot with just the nearby restaurants attracting the locals and tourists alike.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Only a 5 minute stroll to the town centre and shopping areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perthgayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear perthgayz,

Thank you for your review on Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've stayed here and in the Crowne Plaza and this is far superior - more modern and comfortable furnishings and fresher (less tired).

Its right on the man made swimming lagoon and wave pool for a swim and in the waterfront development surrounded by bars and cafes.

The main street (Mitchell Street) is not far to walk, but in anything other than winter its probably far enough so that you would end up a bit sweaty in the humidity if you tried!

So its a good option. Nothing spectacular, but no complaints either.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Waddler

Thank you for your review on Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evandale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Always disappointing when you take the mystery hotel and they put you in the handicapped room. Broken shower but fixed next day. Foul smell right along corridor--like a tub of prawns soaked into the carpet. Friendly bar staff in restaurant and nice pool area. Parking a real problem. You have to use the public car park,around $36 a day, pay each time you want your car then apparently they will reimburse us so it's $10 per day!! Weird.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyBurbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear MandyBurbury,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding smell in the corridors and the confusion with the Hotel carpark. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

Please note that we strive to provide a high quality service and standard and it appears that we failed on this occassion. I have passed on your comments with the relevant department concerned so that these occurences may be avoided in the future.

Kind Regards,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing 4 days at this lovely hotel. As discerning and frequent international travellers who have high expectations; we were very pleasantly surprised.
The accomodation was first class; rooms were spotless and very spacious as well as having the convenience of a mini kitchen which is great for the kids.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make us feel at home.
Being located right on the waterfront and next to a swimming lagoon and a wave pool was a big highlight for our three children.
We had a couple of meals at the hotel which were all great and the breakfasts especially were fantastic.
We would definitely stay at this hotel during our next trip to Darwin.
From: Malcolm X

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHCM, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Malcolm Y,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront. We belive we are in Darwin's premier location on the Waterfront and are very proud of the product we offer at the hotel. It is great that you were able to experience all that is to offer on the Waterfront, including the fantastic wavepool, which is fun for all ages.

Thank you again for sharing your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

Kind Regards,

Luke Saunder
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent location and great view. Good buffet breakfast. Room was not clean. Holes in wall. Lobby was nice but the room was basic. Overpriced for $330 a night. You pay for the location rather than what the room offers. This hotel did not meet my expectations, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyLane295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHCM, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Penny Lane295,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I was disappointed to hear your comments that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We belive our product and location is the best in Darwin. Our room rates are very comparable with competitor hotels and in line with the quality of our product and service

Kind Regards,

Luke Saunder
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Address: 7 Kitchener Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darwin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#5 Business Hotel in Darwin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront Hotel Darwin
Medina Grand Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing