We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel by the waterfront” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Decent hotel by the waterfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed in Vibe Darwin for 4 nights before boarding our cruise, so it was convenient being by the waterfront. The rooms are of a decent size, but a bit weathered and dingy in some areas. This was acceptable given that we only paid about AUD 130 per night. They don't give toothbrushes or shaving kits in the room, although you could request for one if needed, as this was what we did.

There are quite a few restaurants downstairs once you exit the hotel, and the wave pool is just across, although the hotel has it's own pool as well. There are no convenience stores nearby, which was a real problem for us, as we arrived at 4am and extremely hungry. The hotel restaurant opens at around 630. We simply went to sleep with empty stomachs and ate at Curve, the hotel's restaurant the next day. There is also no free internet. The main town is easily accessible, around 10-15 minutes on foot. That is also where you can find the nearest convenience store.

All in all, a decent place to stay for a few nights if ever you find yourself in Darwin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Kenny C,

The team at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are consistently working on keeping the hotel up to date and looking fresh, thank you for your feedback, I will be passing the information onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels in the near future.

Kind regards
Dannielle Jenkinson
Duty Manager | Adina Vibe Hotel Darwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    649
    307
    99
    40
See reviews for
195
551
105
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Modern, Clean, Shower over bath?, plenty of shapoo etc, surrounded by bars/restaurants, overall a very good experience.
Parking attatched with direct access to the hotel.
Just a great location to chill or tour.

Room Tip: As i usually say go for a quiet one ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticalmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Criticalmick,

The team at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels in the near future.

Kind regards
Dannielle Jenkinson
Duty Manager | Adina Vibe Hotel Darwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife booked a 'secret hotel' deal online, and when I learnt it was the Vibe I was a bit reluctant, having read some of the other reviews. But our stay was fantastic. Check in was not a hassle, even with 2 cars. Marion and Daniel are the friendliest receptionists I have ever had the pleasure to meet! The room may have needed a paint, but otherwise was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a great view of the harbor. Breakfast was tasty the next morning, and the girls in the restaurant were all happy and smiling despite the crowd! Checkout was quick and efficient. I will happily stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear JohnBrownlee,

The team at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Daniel and Marion are delighted and thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels in the near future.

Kind regards
Dannielle Jenkinson | Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights from our awesome holiday in the Philippines and before going back to Sydney. Love love love the location, its right near Darwin waterfront, wave pool and about 10 minutes walk to CBD. I dont understand how the other reviewers gave it a negative review because seriously this hotel is worth the money and very friendly staff. We arrived around 3:30am and check in was so quick with a couple of helpful staff on the front desk. We stayed before at a hotel near the airport and spent a lot for food etc, but in Vibe, theres a lot of choices of restaurants nearby and their open til late. We had a nice walk in the park even at night (heaps of lights), few tourists and locals walking around in this laid back atmosphere. The only negative that i can say about this hotel is that their breakfast is $29 per person yet Vibe Gold Coast only charge $15 with the same value of food, oh well heaps of stuff are more expensive in Darwin. Having said that, will definitely stay here again when we go back to Darwin.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherelydf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear sherelydf,

The team at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels in the near future.

Kind regards
Dannielle Jenkinson | Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night for business and arrived late on a flight from Sydney. After I finally communicated through the locked door that I was there to check in I was let through the locked doors and booked in, I had to ask about car parking, then after I was issued with my card and told there will be a $100 fine if I don't return the car park key they neglected to mention where the car park was ! So by now I'm thinking this place really knows how to give great service. I had to prompt the attentive receptionist about where breakfast was as well! The room stank of glade plug in air freshener and the mini bar fridge sounded like a low flying 747. The aircon was comparable in noise to it. Awful experience. Never again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank southsider4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear SouthSider4121,

I’m really disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations and I apologise for this.

After 11pm our night team do lock the main doors for the safety of our team as well as our guests. An intercom system is installed next to the doors so that guests checking in or in house guests returning to the hotel can alert our front desk team.

I apologise that our parking facilities weren’t clearly explained to you at check in. I will pass your feedback onto the entire team as simple things like car parking should be a pre-empted request. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our car parking system and have made drastic improvements over the last 6 months. We will continue to improve our car parking over the next few until the system is near to perfection. I thank you for your feedback on the matter.

The reception is staffed 24 hours for your convenience. I implore you to contact reception if something in your room is not up to your standard so that we are given the opportunity to rectify the issue.

If you would like to discuss matters further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel on 08 8982 9999 or email djenkinson@adinahotels.com.au directly.

Kind Regards
Dannielle Jenkinson
Adina Vibe Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am currently staying at the Vibe Waterfront Darwin. I arrived on Monday, late, and ordered room service.
It is now 19.35 on Thursday night, 3 days later, and my room service tray with plate etc is still on the side in my room!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannielleJenkinson, Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Pauline R,

I am really disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations.

I assure you that our restaurant team do floor checks for room service trays at least 4 times a day to try and prevent instances like this occurring. It seems that we may have dropped the ball on this occasion and I sincerely apologise for this. I will share your feedback with the relevant department heads so that they can initiate corrective measures.

We tried to contact you regarding this issue but weren’t able to catch up with you before you checked out. I request you to contact me at the hotel on 08 8982 9999 or email djenkinson@adinahotels.com.au directly if you would like this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Just checked into this self rated 4 star hotel. Its filthy dirty, small and the reception staff are rude with an side serve of attitude.

Room are less than basic. It would be a 2 star hotel at best.

Booked for 3 nights, and have lasted 20 minutes. Didn't even bother to unpack my bags.

Booked alternate accommodation already snd heading out the door as I type.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedhowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Thedhowl,

I am unsure if this review is for Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront, as we have no record of anybody checking in and leaving within 20 minutes. Added to this your comments are not reflective of the style of hotel we are, or the level of service we provide. Additionally, we are not self rated, but rather AAA rated.

It is also strange that you have been able to come to a conclusion on the hotel, given you were only here for 20 minutes, and if your comments are accurate, the team would have readily helped resolve any concerns you had.

Please contact the hotel directly if you would like to discuss this matter further, or alternatively withdraw your review if it has been linked to the incorrect hotel.

Kind Regards,

Luke Saunder
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Property: Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Address: 7 Kitchener Dr, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Darwin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing