We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere”
Review of La Beach

La Beach
Ranked #63 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

It was really busy the night we went here. Such amazing views of the water, since it's so close to the water. We had to wait a while for our meal, and then when we went to check, they hadn't put our dockets through. But we just laughed it off. I thought the food was really good too, and the size of the meal is really good for what you're paying as we had to get doggy bags to take home. Also its so close to the Casino.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    68
    31
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunset, beach, fish n chips ... ”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the fish and chips are quite expensive ... but no more expensive than anywhere else in Darwin. The serves are large, the fish is fresh and well cooked. The restaurant inside could do with some personality but the views outside are unbeatable - especially at sunset. Takeaway with a bottle of wine and sit and watch the sun set from the lawn out front of the restaurant ... that's what this climate is all about. The best fish and chips in Cullen Bay by far.

Helpful?
1 Thank Angelae0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bring back the old La Beach”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

La Beach was the best seafood restaurant, in a nice but windy location, now its just fish and chips.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nae_jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Casual fish & chips with a million dollar view!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Million dollar view. Standard fish and chips and a nice relaxing atmosphere. Ok, so it is a little over priced, but isn't everything in Darwin!! We had a lovely casual evening here with a couple of beers and fish and chips. And we will be back! Perfect for a lazy Sunday. Try to be there for sunset!!

Helpful?
Thank backpackers0_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, excellent value”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I have to disagree with the previous poster about the "expense". We take our family of 6 here weekly (2 kids, 4 adults) and pay well under $100. The grilled Jew fish is to die for it costs about $13-$14 for a large serve (it's like 2 pieces) so well below what it would cost in a fine dining restaurant. It's hard to find fresh, well cooked fish and chips in Darwin - this is more than worth the value

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Beach also viewed

 
 

Been to La Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing