We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Barramundi in Darwin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Beach

La Beach
Ranked #63 of 358 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Canberra
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Barramundi in Darwin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are Barramundi lovers and on our recent trip to Darwin we had quite a few Barra meals but the meal we had at La Beach was definitely the best! We simply loved getting the fish and chips in butchers paper and sitting on our chairs out the front on the grass watching the sunset. To top it off the barra was superb - cooked perfectly and reasonably priced! We are only sorry that we didn't find this restaurant until the day before we left Darwin. We will definitely return next time we visit Darwin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    65
    31
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great position but get there early”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

we had planned to eat fish and chips and watch the sunset however we lined up for about 20 minutes to place our order to only be told that they had run out of certain things and there would a forty minute wait. Disappointing as we were recommended this restaurant by friends. My recommendation is to get there early and order quickly!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PadThainoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spectacular sunset and delicious seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I came here years ago when it was a fancy restaurant. New management has meant that there is no longer the table service or white linen tablecloths but this has in no way impacted on the quality of the seafood.

The restaurant now has a more casual and relaxed feel which "goes with the Territory" and is really family friendly. The service was fantastic and the location was amazing. Oysters, Barramundi and champagne watching the sunset = very happy family.

Highly recommended if you want an easy good quality and casual dinner with amazing views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MawsonDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
293 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fabulous position”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We read about this restaurant on Trip Advisor and were able to walk to Cullen Bay in about 40 minutes from the city centre. The position of the restaurant is fantastic, overlooking the sea and fringed by palm trees. You need to queue to place your order and then are given an electronic device which buzzes when the order is ready. It is possible to pay by card. The member of staff taking the order was really friendly. They sell wine, beer and a range of soft drinks. We went on a Friday evening just before sunset and it wasn't necessary to book. Food was reasonably priced and of an average quality and as a non fish eater, I was able to order chicken and chips. You eat the food out of paper and it is a wonderful spot to watch the sun go down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips and sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

A great place for a fish and chips restaurant. Right at the beach with a large covered terrace overlooking the sea. You get fantastic views of the famous Darwin sunset.

The fish and chips is fresh and tasty - both thumbs up!

They've got a reasonable selection of beer and wine.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to this great place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Beach also viewed

 

Been to La Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing