We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharged by $500!!!!! and still haven't had any luck in getting it back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonshadow Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonshadow Villas
Ranked #23 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overcharged by $500!!!!! and still haven't had any luck in getting it back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Are you serious??!! After an ok stay in reasonable accommodation for the couple of days before & after my wedding, I was a bit surprised to return home and find my new husband's credit card had been over charged by $500 by Moonshadows. After several emails and phone calls over a 4 week period, one email advising that they thought they had recredited the money & they would get back to me advising on what happened - 2 months late and still haven't seen a cent back from the overcharge!

Weddings are pretty expensive and staying in what we thought was nice accommodation for this special time and being overcharged a significant amount - has left a very bitter feeling about our stay at moonshadows.

We had a few days at Cullen Bay before hand and were upgraded to a fantastic marina view apartment for half the price.
Moonshadows was on the surface a lovely place.....but overcrowded, dishwasher broken, leaking air conditioner - may as well be a self contained apartment where you have to clean everything before you leave - not luxury accommodation & not very impressed with the overcharge.....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytravels00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonshadow88, owner at Moonshadow Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
We do understand that delay with the refund of money can make people worry. We try to give people the trip of a lifetime in wonderful surroundings not create stress.
We do appreciate the feedback although we were devastated it ended up on Trip Advisor!
We made an honest mistake with two cards being used by the guest for the one booking resulting in an unintentional overcharge. .However, we managed the refund in the end with many apologies - it was certainly not delberate!
We have offered a gift certificate of an anniversary stay to say sorry. And our card/refund system is much improved! We do learn and improve from our guests comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
59
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

In May 2008 my partner and I stayed at Moonshadow Villas with our wedding party. We rented the back 2 villas, Birdsong and Rainforest, which I personally think are the nicest. They are secluded, freestanding and full of character.

As a long term Darwin local I would like to congratulate Moya and Peter on Moonshadow. They have managed to demonstrate successful tropical architecture and provide an oasis in what can be some pretty awful accomodation choices in Darwin.

As there were 9 of us, our arrivals were all over the place but Moonshadow were endlessly flexible. Everything was VERY clean and a lot of effort had been put into the bedding. Our villas were close to idential in layout and had a deck, lounge room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom downstairs and a huge bedroom and huge bathroom upstairs. We easily had 4 adults and a baby in our villa.

There are 5 villas in total, lush, Balinese style tropical gardens and a pool. There are also 2 BBQ's available, though they seemed to vanish after the 1st night. The pool is beautiful but all of us found it too cold to swim in. It would be good if this could be solved as a few swims would have added to the otherwise perfect weekend.

I would have to say, this is far and beyond the number 1 choice for accomodation in Darwin. What a strange state of affairs for a tropical town with a strong balinese influence!! If you want to experience Darwin at it's best, this is the place to do it.

  • Liked — One of very few tropical, Balinese style, luxurious accomodation choices in Darwin
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LikesALittleLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonshadowvillas2, Owner at Moonshadow Villas, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Really pleased with this review.. Sometimes a little difficutl to impress a "local' visitor because we are blessed to live in such an amazing tropical and eclectic city.. A wedding for us just has to be perfect. Sometimes it is a bride preparing, having photos amongst the palms and then champagne with her mother and bridesmaids and then the groom for a few days. Other times is is relatives and friends sharing the fun. Can be a most stressful time but at Moonshadow we think that the peace and beauty helps everyone relax and truly enjoy this special occasion. For a tropical pt!erson the pools are cool, for Victorians they think it is amazing. We are looking for a way to keep all happy.. Thank you fo the review, very much appreciated and we wish you the very best! Moya and All at Moonshadow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Suites Zen Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alatai Holiday Apartments
1.2 mi away
Paravista Motel
Paravista Motel
#27 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Argus Apartments Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonshadow Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonshadow Villas

Property: Moonshadow Villas
Address: 6 Gardens Hill Crescent | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moonshadow Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR and GREEN STAR Accredited Less than one minute to Darwin City. Stay in a Rainforest less than a minute by shuttle or car to the city centre or an easy to medium walk Our goal is to give our residents a true 5 STAR tropical experience. Why come to the tropics to stay in 'normal' surroundings? Stay where there are butterflies and living vertical gardens that provide privacy. Enjoy your own tropical mini-home, fully self-contained with luxurious and comfortable king size beds (and beautiful linen). The 5 villas are award winning, architect designed and unique accommodation. Surrounded by 80 foot palms and grouped around two sandstone pools, Every villa has its OWN laundry, all cooking facilities, full size refrigerator and is fully air-conditioned. Every villa has direct pool access and its own al fresco dining area and verandas with private gardens and courtyards. The property has wild-life and birds and has been designed to be part of nature - it is not a soundproofed concrete structure. Our visitors say that Moonshadow is the only way to truly experience the wonders of the tropics. A destination as well as accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing