We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in OZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Youth Shack Backpackers
Ranked #31 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ive stayed here heaps of timesits a great place, facilities are awesome theres a pool and a deck for sunbathing. The rooms are small but adequate for what you need, its nice and clean and locations great. The staff are awesome too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed there just for one night and changed hostel for the rest of my stay in Darwin !
the staff is quiet friendly and the reception is clean, but once I got in my dorm, the painting was falling off, it smelled bad, there is no space for everybody suitcases. They do provide with lockers but 2 of them where broken, I couldn't put my padlock on.

there is a bar and a swimming pool. It pretty much a party hostel. I had just come back from a tour through Kakadu national park , I was looking foward to a good night sleep..did not get it ! it's noisy (even with my earplugs), and the matress was uncomfortable. It had the shape of the previous people who slept on it.

no Free WiFi. No included breakfast.

the location is good though. it's in a busy street with lots of bars, shops and restaurants. the shuttle to the airport is just at the back of the building, very conveignant.
I would not recommend this hostel. it is not worth the 30$ a night I paid !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place wasn't bad. Every room had fans and air con, important at this time of year.
The bar was great, and last night if we bought any drink (even a coke) there was a free steak and salad. TV room was good. Didnt actually swim in the pool but it looked good. This place is probably one of the better options for backpackers in Darwin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

When booking I did understand you get what you pay for but after spending the extra money to book out an entire room which was confirmed for me and my three friends we arrived to be told they had only made the booking for two of us (but paid for a four person room) and that we all had to be split us up into four different rooms. Not being happy about this we asked for some kind of refund, discount or drink at the bar and they said it was "not their problem, not all bookings are gaurenteed!" After spending around half an hour at reception we finally managed to get into two rooms in which one smelt and looked disgusting and the fan didnt work, the other on the other hand was not too bad still had dirty sheets from the last backpacker.
If your just looking for a bed and thats all this is the place but i wouldnt recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddymay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The most horrible night ever is the night I stayed here.

Didn't sleep for 3 reasons:
a drunk guy started to sing and talk with few chances to quiet him
another guy fell asleep with his laptop open and the white screen was brighter than a light all night long
the fan blew all night long so much air that I was aching: the day after my neck was blocked

another friend of mine slept in another room where a guy was sleeping naked

rooms were so small, noisy and above all with dirty clothes on the floor that stank sooo bad!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filippobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Filippo,

Thank you for your review.

Trip Advisor is used for reviews on the hostel that you were staying in. Your review seems to be about other guests that were staying here.
As we are an International backpackers, we welcome people from all over the world and being in the heart of Mitchell street, a lot of our guests like to experience the buzzing nightlife of Darwin and unfortunately we have no control over the way other guests may wish to sleep.

If you had come and spoken to reception about your issues we could have helped to improve your stay, instead of reading about it on a website that is used for reviews and not for venting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Price is Good but quality, cleaning of the rooms, kitchen, bathrooms and shared spaces are very dirty!!
corridor is significant in the smell of sweaty feet. backpackers leave litter and dirt everywhere and the staff does not undertake to maintain order in the building! The kitchen is very dirty and invites you to eat elsewhere. scales do not seem to be clean for years!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. When we arrived, they had checked someone into the room booked for us. They then didnt have a room for us and wanted to split us into 2 rooms. Eventually they found a room, but when we opened the door, the stench was so bad we felt sick. There was rubbish, wet clothes and dirty towels all over the room. They then put us in a long-term room, which was better. You have to be good at guessing where you can get hot water from, as it only seems to work in one block at a time. These were the worst standards we came across in the whole of Australia.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AlbertB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#35 of 52 in Darwin
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#37 of 52 in Darwin
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#15 of 52 in Darwin
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banyan View Lodge
Banyan View Lodge
#39 of 52 in Darwin
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $23 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing