We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Runaway before it's too late!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Youth Shack Backpackers
Ranked #32 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Runaway before it's too late!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The most horrible night ever is the night I stayed here.

Didn't sleep for 3 reasons:
a drunk guy started to sing and talk with few chances to quiet him
another guy fell asleep with his laptop open and the white screen was brighter than a light all night long
the fan blew all night long so much air that I was aching: the day after my neck was blocked

another friend of mine slept in another room where a guy was sleeping naked

rooms were so small, noisy and above all with dirty clothes on the floor that stank sooo bad!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filippobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Filippo,

Thank you for your review.

Trip Advisor is used for reviews on the hostel that you were staying in. Your review seems to be about other guests that were staying here.
As we are an International backpackers, we welcome people from all over the world and being in the heart of Mitchell street, a lot of our guests like to experience the buzzing nightlife of Darwin and unfortunately we have no control over the way other guests may wish to sleep.

If you had come and spoken to reception about your issues we could have helped to improve your stay, instead of reading about it on a website that is used for reviews and not for venting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    71
    63
    41
    66
See reviews for
6
55
123
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sassuolo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Price is Good but quality, cleaning of the rooms, kitchen, bathrooms and shared spaces are very dirty!!
corridor is significant in the smell of sweaty feet. backpackers leave litter and dirt everywhere and the staff does not undertake to maintain order in the building! The kitchen is very dirty and invites you to eat elsewhere. scales do not seem to be clean for years!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. When we arrived, they had checked someone into the room booked for us. They then didnt have a room for us and wanted to split us into 2 rooms. Eventually they found a room, but when we opened the door, the stench was so bad we felt sick. There was rubbish, wet clothes and dirty towels all over the room. They then put us in a long-term room, which was better. You have to be good at guessing where you can get hot water from, as it only seems to work in one block at a time. These were the worst standards we came across in the whole of Australia.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staff is really helpfull. Location right in the heart of Mitchell St is just perfect for getting around in Darwin. Dorms, toilets, showers and kitchen are nice and clean. I shared my dorm with 2 guys who were drunk most of the time and slept like crazy as a result. :-) It's quite a party place, but you don't really notice that if you want to go to bed early for a good sleep. I just think the cafe makes the place lively.
However, if you prefer a quiet place to stay, don't go here. If you prefer a place with some life: go to the Youth Shack!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had a private room, but it was a great price, very clean, great air con and the foyer area has a lot of character. The pool and the poolside bar are great places to meet other travellers and have a bit of fun while you start your journey in Darwin.

The best part is the hostel is in the heart of all the action in Darwin, right on Mitchell street, so you are in walking distance to everything.

The reception area has a lot of character- the best part being the two blue tongue lizards who live there!

As far as hostels go it is one of the better ones- that said it is still a hostel not a five star hotels so bear that in mind. The showers aren't the best- the hot water is pretty unreliable- and the showers are outside the room. Also the cooking area is a bit manky, but after staying in lots of hostels over the years, it is pretty standard as far as hostels go.

Please don't let the negative influence you- I think it is a great hostel and I would def. stay there again if I go back to Darwin.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtrain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hostel was paid for me as a part of a tour. I would never stay in such a place if I paid for it. It might be the right place for you if you want to party all night, but it is definitely not the right place for you if you are travelling and getting up at 5am. There was no hot water (although I did not mind because it was hot for me in Darwin and cold water was quite nice) and some of the rooms are VERY small. A/C works only is some rooms. The place is VERY noisy, especially the parts around the pool. There is always people around the pool so no one actually goes in the pool because everyone would stare at you. The toilets and showers were not very clean although I understand it is difficult to keep the amenities clean with all the partying people around. I do not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We thought we could stay at someones place in Darwin what didn't work out so we had to take the last available hostel there was: Youth Shack. Terrible name and the performance isn't much better. All other hostels were completely booked, only this still had several rooms available... not a good sign. Extremely noisy (no real windows, just tiltable glass fins) double room on ground floor for Aus$90 per night (already with max discount). Cheap for high season in Darwin but not good value compared to other places and taking into account what you get. Toilets extremely dirty in the evening since everybody at the internal bar uses them as well. However they were more or less clean in the morning. There is a tour booking office at the front but the staff is not very motivated. The corridor was smelly and I would never use the pool (what nobody did). Mitchell Street itself is Darwin's party area (all hostels are there) so if you are keen on getting drunk every night you might enjoy it. If you don't want to hang out with backpackers only, it's probably the wrong place to be. Your experience might be different and for Darwin the price is normal but I have been to nice hotels in New Zealand that were cheaper.
Pick another hostel if you can...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 37 in Darwin
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#36 of 49 in Darwin
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#37 of 49 in Darwin
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Down Under Hostels
Down Under Hostels
#30 of 49 in Darwin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Property: Youth Shack Backpackers
Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing