We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,279)
Filter reviews
3,279 results
Traveler rating
697
1,373
817
282
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
1,373
817
282
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayers rockdeluxe roomtown squaredesert gardenarnguli grillsounds of silence dinnerpost officelarge bathroomstayed nightsshuttle busgrocery storeaat kingsbuffet breakfastremote locationnational parksunrise touralice springs
Filter
Updating list...
2,442 - 2,447 of 3,279 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We had trouble finding a reasonably priced hotel in the resort as we were travelling with our adult daughter. We took a standard room but were pleased to learn we'd been upgraded and had a magnificent view of Uluru from our terrace. The room was quite spacious but the lighting was very poor both in the bedroom and in the bathroom. Breakfast wasn't included but because we left early to see the sunrise both mornings, it wasn't so important. There's an IGA in the 'town centre' as well as an information office and cafes etc so the resort works quite well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed in a Deluxe Room overlooking at the Rock. Well, second night and we had to move room as the noise from a Pipe was terrible. We were re-located, but who wants to move rooms in the middle of the night?. The TV was an embarrasement, we did not go to watch TV, but at night - what else is there. Then, movie rentals - too expensive, lucky we took precautions and got movies in Sydney and watched them in our Laptop, which had a better screen than the TV in a Duluxe Room. The Internet was down the whole period we were there and the only chance was to pay $2 for 10 min.? expensive or not. What is amazing is that there was Internet in the main Foyer, but not for the rooms. When we asked for Internet they the Clerk said that it was down. But we wondered if it was a lie, because there was Internet in the 2 computer in the front desk - were we lied to? I do not know. But the room in Peak season is around $460 per night, lucky we went off season and paid around $260 per night for a mediocre room, last year we went to London - and staed in better rooms facing Hyde Park and Cheaper in the middle of London - amazing. The only plus was the personel - very kind, nothing to complain about it. But the room - a disgrace for the amount paid - and NO - internet., take your onw wireless if you must. And the other plus was to look in the distance at the Rock - very far. So if you can - just go for cheaper rooms if you can - you wont feel cheated.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEER36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Australia/New Zealand tour. We flew direct to Uluru and having picked up our hire car had no difficulty at all finding the resort – a 10/15 min drive from the airport.

What particularly impressed us about not only Desert Gardens, but the whole Voyages resort, was how unobtrusive it was. If it had not been well signposted, we could easily have missed the turning.

Desert Gardens is a busy hotel and there seem to be quite a number of tour groups that use it. This did lead to some congestion and queuing in the reception area at times, but both check in and out were efficiently handled. On check in, there did not seem to be any porters or bell boys to help with luggage, so we were left to manage on our own. As rooms are arranged in 2 story blocks across the complex – with no lifts, this was rather trying! Whilst we were there, the area was plagued with locusts and flies, a result of recent weather conditions, so face nets proved essential. The door to our room was covered in locusts, which I found a little off putting to start with, but to which we rapidly became accustomed. There was no problem with insects inside the room, at all.

We were in a standard room, on the top floor of a block, facing a sand dune and a view of the desert, none of which were a problem as we spent very little time actually in the room. The aircon was reasonably quiet and very efficient, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom and plumbing more than adequate. The balcony was a pleasant place to enjoy a quiet drink and snack before heading out for the evening.

Having read reviews of the hotel, we were prepared for food to be pricey. However, we balked at paying AU$26 each for a continental breakfast and similarly ridiculous prices for other meals. The problem was easily solved by walking the short distance to the ‘town square’ and having breakfast at the Red Rock Deli (fabulous fruit salads and filled croissants) and evening meal at Geckos (excellent pizza and pasta dishes) both of which were very reasonably priced.

Unusually, Desert Gardens not only has a guest laundry – they make no charge for the use of any of the machines AND provide washing powder for free. The swimming pool was a good size and well maintained although actually used very little. There were plenty of sun loungers and chairs around the pool, and towels were provided free of charge. The hotel has a small gift shop which had some rather nice pieces, but seemed to open at odd hours, so we never did get to buy anything there. Although quite a large proportion of guests had cars, there were always plenty of parking spaces available.

All in all we had a fantastic time at Uluru and would not hesitate to recommend Desert Gardens with the caveat that food prices really are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunL0ver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Good, comfortable rooms. Excellent service, the staff were very helpful. We only ate breakfast but that was good too. Our only complaint is that, despite being expensive to start with, pretty well everything you look at is a chargeable extra. You even have to pay extra to get a properly made (ie coffee machine) cup of coffee with breakfast!

Tip: book for the 'Sounds of Silence' dinner - it's memorably good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights during our tour around Australia. Had a room overlooking pool area. Good sized bedroom and bathroom. No safe in room. Complimentary laundry facilities which was very handy as we were on a long trip. The whole resort is owned and run by Voyages who have the monopoly here. All restaurants and shops etc were very expensive. Still a great place to stay but be prepared to pay over the odds for food, drink etc. Good pool area very clean. Plenty of pool towels available. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews