We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,359)
Filter reviews
3,359 results
Traveler rating
724
1,410
829
283
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
1,410
829
283
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ayers rock deluxe room town square desert garden arnguli grill sounds of silence dinner post office large bathroom shuttle bus stayed nights grocery store aat kings remote location buffet breakfast national park sunrise tour alice springs
Filter
Updating list...
2,550 - 2,555 of 3,359 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Ayers Rock, Ularu, is a very fascinating place. I'm glad a went through all of the effort and expense required to see this special place. That said, the Ayers Rock Resort folks have got you by the "you know what's" when it comes to staying there. Although there are levels of accomodations, the prices are all very steep for what you get. We paid over $300 US per night for a small, nothing at all exciting room. The staff were all friendly but at the prices they charge for everything they should be smiling. My advi9ce is, go to Ayers Rock and ignore what the financial charges are, it's a once and a life time experience, no doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

For most people, Uluru is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and the owners of the Ayers Rock Resort clearly know this. Even if you take into account the fact that all supplies (and people!) have to be shipped in from elsewhere, it is still mightily expensive: we paid A$1120 for two nights. The resort has other hotels, but the big benefit for us was that, by booking a "De-luxe" room, we overlooked Uluru. Now I think this is the only hotel where you can do that, unless you're willing to pay zillions at Longitude 131, and that alone was worth the extra money.

It rained while we were there which got the locals very excited even if it bemused us. It meant "Sounds of Silence" had to be cancelled two-nights in a row (at least they didn't try to run it). I don't think this happens very often: we arrived mid-afternoon and were due to go on it that evening and the staff were a bit unsure as to what was happening. To be fair, they clarified things quickly. We did, however, do "Desert Awakenings" and that was very good and well-worth it. If you get Eric as your tour guide then you'll be as lucky as we were.

We ate at Gecko's (pizza/pasta) and at the hotel's restaurant (White Gums??). Having read some very mixed reviews we found both were fine. The staff were very pleasant and the food was good. I got to try kangaroo and crocodile for the first time which at least made it an experience!

Is the hotel worth the money? If you simply compare it to other Australian hotels, of course not. I'd agree with other reviewers that it's a bit like staying at a UK Travelodge (or, I suppose, a US Days-Inn). But you're not here for the hotel and therefore it's almost a secondary consideration how good or bad the place is. If you want to see Uluru you need to be prepared to pay the price, and we found this a clean, reasonably efficient place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwardknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed here as part of our tour. This hotel, as well as the others in the Ayers Rock Resort, are under the same management. When you visit Ayers Rock and want to stay over, there's very little choice except for these. That said, our room at the Desert Gardens was 161. It's a ground level room with a terrace over looking some bushes. The room was 2 queen beds, not very spacious nor well-lit. The bathroom however was nice. It was very large and brightly lit with plenty of counter space. The breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

All the hotels in the Yulara resort are run by the same company so there is no real competition. I think that this results in the hotels not trying as hard as they otherwise would. However, the Desert Gardens was fine. The rooms were comfortable. We wished that we had had a pool view room because they also look over the gardens. The reception staff were great ( as seems to be the norm in Australia). The pool area was quiet and relaxing.

We had dinner in the restarant twice. The first time the service was abysmal. The second time is was great. (The first night I think the manager had a day off).

The advertised breakfast is not good value but we discovered they do, what I think they called, a quick start breakfast for $11 which was more basic but better value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank younggrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Reading previous reviews we were prepared that our stay at this hotel would not be the best. For a start it was the most expensive hotel of our trip around Oz and possibly the worst quality. However, when we arrived at the hotel it was not as bad as we were expecting. We had not booked transfers but were pleasently suprised to find that AAK Kings provide free transfers to the resort but this makes check in take a long time as you arrive with a coach full of people. The room itself is ok I would liken to a UK Travelodge standard - everything you need is there but its not luxurious in anyway. The pool was ok freezing cold and was also full of leaves and bugs we particularly noticed that the pool area was not always cleaned at night as there were glasses and other things still there in the evening. Previous reviews are correct in the sense that food is extremely expensive we only ate Geckos Cafe where the food was not very good and the service was awful. However, we were not there just to stay at the hotel we were there to visit Uluru.

Uluru is absolutely out of this world and definitely worth putting up with the hotel. We visited Kings Canyon which although is quite a long trip from Uluru is breathtaking. We made the long climb to the top which was amazing. You can also walk the lower canyon if you are not too keen on the long climb. We also went to Uluru to watch the sunrise and walked right around the base which took several hours but well worth it. We decided not to climb for the cultural reasons but we think walking around the base was the better option because we got to see the aboriginal paintings and the waterhole. We also went back to Uluru to watch the sunset on a Harley Davidson. This was not only the highlight of our trip to Oz but probably the most amazing thing we have ever done. We were taken for a ride around the rock and then to the viewing area to watch the sunset while drinking champage. The service we received was amazing and would definitely recommend. This trip is well worth the money we only wish we had had more time to do this again. The trips are quite expensive but we decided that you will probably never go there again so its important to see as much as you can. We wish we had time to have visited the Olgas as we only saw them from a distance which seemed very different to Uluru.

Our stay at Uluru was an experience we will never forget as it really is completely different to other parts of Oz and you really feel that you are in the 'heart' of Oz. We would suggest not to expect too much from the hotel and be well prepared for how expensive everything is. For us the experiences we had at Uluru and Kings Canyon were well worth putting up with the hotel and the expense.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lisa799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews