We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in limited area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel in limited area”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Good facilities, nice rooms Breakfast was good.
Would stay there again. We had little success getting free WiFi in our trip round Oz and this was no exception. Handy for the rock.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    1,040
    675
    241
    84
See reviews for
472
1,404
152
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powassan, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was very happy with the hotel. Reception was great from check in to my departure. The buffet breakfast was excellent. I really liked to look out over the rock garden and watch the birds. Please have 'free' wifi in the rooms! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARILYNJOANNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Austalia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 great nights at this hotel - we selected a premium 'room with a rock view' and were not disappointed. Room was on the upper floor (stairs!) and was excellent with all normal facilities plus a balcony that enabled sunrise and sunset viewing (from a distance) of Uluru. An excellent buffet breakfast was included in the rate and was served in the hotel restaurant - eggs, omelettes and pancakes were cooked to order. The Desert Gardens Hotel is not the highest priced option at the Yulara Resort but we found it excellent. The Resort includes a variety of dining options - restauants at the hotel and Salis in the Desert, restuarants in the town square and meals at the hotel at the camping ground. The Resort is spread over a largish area and some walking is required if you want to explore everything. Be aware that the Yulara Resort is the only place you can stay in the Uluru area and it is some 30 minutes by car from Uluru.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a "Rock View Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The selection of hotel is limited in the area. We chose Desert Gardens Hotel to save a few bucks but book the better rooms with the balcony and rock view. We knew they had wifi, what we didn't know was wifi was not free. Out of all the hotels in the area, I think this is the only one without free internet (unless Outback Pioneer doesn't either). There were many disappointments but I can only think of a few right now. It's prob better to remember the good than bad.

The receptionists were okay. They weren't overly friendly and each gave us bad information. The first receptionist told us if we went to Sails in the Desert we could get free internet from them from the lobby. All we had to do was tell them we stayed at Desert Gardens Hotel. We did that and was rejected. We felt embarrass b/c they said "only guests in our hotel can use our FREE internet.

Another receptionist told us that by 7pm the night before we can find out if the climb at Uluru was open or not. Well that was wrong b/c you can't find out until the day of. We kept on going back to the reception desk that night asking but of course they don't know.

I don't remember all the issues we had with them but we definitely remember traveling back and forth and each time being very upset. The hotel did provide us with complementary champagne because it was our honeymoon.

Overall I would recommend Desert in The sails over this hotel. The lobby in Desert in the Sails blows you away in design. They have many receptionists working at a time. The free wifi helps too if you needed to do work. I would trade my balcony with a rock view room for a normal room at Desert in the Sails. Keep in mind they are all under the same management.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Lynda l.

Thank you for reviewing Desert Gardens Hotel.

I am sorry to hear of the misinformation that you received.
Since your stay in December , WiFi has been installed into all Ayers Rock Resort Hotels.
This has certainly been a welcome addition to our services.

We always aim to provide accurate and up to date information to all our guests and my apologies for this not happening , especially for such a special occasion as your honeymoon.
These issues will be followed up with our staff to ensure it does not re occur.

I trust that you otherwise enjoyed your visit to Ayers Rock and Australia.

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The service from reception check in to check out was superb. Made to feel welcome at all times with no bad experiences and plenty of free activities. Our room was more than adequate and quite comfortable, perhaps queen beds rather than double would be a benefit. The amenities are excellent and the choice of eateries, shopping and activities was a pleasant find. The high standard of customer service throughout the resort during our entire stay is to be commended. These people loved their work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffy20105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at the desert gardens for two nights. First night we ate at Geckos, which was pretty disappointing and overpriced. the beer selection was pathetic. The place was crawling with staff but none seemed too interested in helping us out. The bar staff afterwards at the outback basically told us to get out about 5 minutes after they served us our last drinks.

It's amazing what a difference one person can make: the next night we ate at the restaurant adjoining the bunya bar. The waitress, Silke, rearranged tables to get us in on short notice, and made us feel very welcome with a most friendly disposition. Despite the restaurant obviously being busy, our food arrived in a reasonable time. A stark contrast to geckos where we were made to feel like we were an imposition. if these reviews are read by management i advise you to foster your good staff as it is front of house who make or break a restaurant/hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Bernard K.

We appreciate your review.

It is wonderful to hear that Silke looked after you when you dined with us at Arnguli.
Service is certainly an important part of the Ayers Rock resort experience and I am glad that you really enjoyed your dining experience.

Sorry to hear that you did not have as good an experience at Gecko's as we normally deliver a similar high standard there as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and I will happily pass on your comments to Silke as well !

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, sorry we didn't stay a day or so longer to get to know the area better, there is more to do and see than you think. Very happy with the hotel, very clean and comfortable, decent size room with virtually every thing you need and a good breakfast selection too. The reception staff are very accommodating and friendly a very enjoyable experience all round.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Dave-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing