We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I've enjoyed our three-night stay here, but found the place to look a little shabby and not as spruced up as it should be for the price we're paying--not that you have many options when you come to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Much of the Desert Gardens looks like a cell block, despite the apt color scheme. The room was nice enough, in size and comforts; although the air conditioning system provided only cold, colder, and coldest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BillnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    1,004
    652
    238
    81
See reviews for
452
1,347
145
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I booked a long weekend as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary at Uluru. My travel agent suggested this hotel as a middle of the range hotel offered in the Uluru area and it was perfect for us.The room was clean and cool and quite spacious. We had a very nice outdoor area. Our flight landed around midday and our room was ready until 3pm. They stored our bags and we wondered around and waited in the cool reception area until it was ready. The breakfast was delicious. We did have dinner at Arnguli Grill, and even though it was pricey it was delicious. The management left a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate our anniversary. All the staff were friendly and polite. The free shuttle around the resort is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is in the same complex as the lesser expensive hotels, they all use the same amenities so save some money and stay at the cheaper associated hotels. Did have a nice pool, but the flies were so bad couldn't enjoy it's week as the flies were also in the restaurants. The hotel does have a free shuttle to and from the airport, very nice feature. Once you at the hotel there little to do but rest from the flies and heat.
Bathrooms and room size were good. The grocery store on-site is another great feature as the restaurants didn't open until later and we tend to skip lunch and do a dinner early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the grocery store, otherwise it is a long 10 minute walk in the heat and fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crhallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear crhallis,
Thankyou for reviewing your stay at Desert Gardens Hotel.
At Ayers Rock Resort we have four different accommodations available as well as the campground and although we are relatively close together I can assure you each is uniquely different in what is offered.
I hope our plentiful flies out here in the red centre during our hot period did not unduly affect your holiday. We find that our fly nets are very popular. As our weather cools down, they tend to no longer be a problem.
I hope that overall you enjoyed your time here in the red centre and I wish you all the best on your future travels.
Best regards
Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent our honeymoon in Australia, and visiting Ulluru was a must. Unarguably, the most convenient option is to stay at Ayers Rock Resort, to which this hotel belongs, since there is no one accomodation alternative in hundreds of quilometers around!

The hotel is nowhere exceptional... We had read the previous critics before, so we weren't surprised at all. Regarding the rooms, they are spacious and quite clean, but badly needed refurbishing. The day we left, on the morning, a girl came to our room to check the items of the mini-bar... Is this really necessary? In my opinion, they could do it just after our check-out, and they would avoid giving this negative impression of untruhtfulness...

As for the whole Resort, they plan lots of free activities to do. Make sure to get the flyers they have in the reception hall to fill your free time with fun activities like learning how to throw a boomerang. I didn't managed... but others, more skillful than me, did it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordiC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear JordiC4,
Thankyou for your review and choosing to stay at Desert Gardens Hotel as part of your honeymoon.
I am glad to see your recommendations for the free guest activities, our team do a wonderful job creating great cultural experiences for our all our guests and truly enjoy being able to share their knowledge with others.
Apologies for the interruption by our staff checking the mini bar in your room, this is normally done after check out.
We look forward to one day welcoming you back to the resort.
Kind regards
Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Spent 3 days here. Excellent base for visting Uluru and Kings Canyon. Close to aiport. Courteous and efficient reception staff. Unfortunately we had to wait almost 3 hours for our allocated room. Room spacious and reasonably modern. One problem with fridge temperature that they couldn't resolve. Ate all three nights in resort, twice in the Ilkari restaurant in the adjoining" Sails in the Desert" Hotel, once in the Arnguli Grill in our own hotel. Both quite expensive, food excellent and service very personal. On our first night we reserved a table at the Arguli Grill. on arrival we were shown to a table in a dark part of the restaurant behind a pillar that blocked a view of anything.There were several tables in a brighter part of the restauarant but were unable to get staff to move us. We were told if we were to book for the following evening we would be allocated a better table. However, overall we were impressed with this resort and would rtecommend it to anyone visting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This resort is spread out over a good size area, so unless you ask for a room closer to the check in area, be prepared to hike a bit to get to your room.....saying that, it will be worth the hike. These rooms are beautiful and spacious. Bathrooms are large and well appointed. Keep in mind you are IN THE DESERT, and it is hot and arid, and this is coming from someone that lives in a hot climate during the summer. Walking distance to the center of "town", and galleries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoahsMom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.1 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
Sails In The Desert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing