We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great staff, Nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The room we had was lovely, bright, and had a shaded sitting area outside that would have been pleasant but we found the heat a bit much. Unfortunately, with the tours we had booked we did not have too much time to really enjoy the room. It is a bit overpriced, but what can you expect when they have a monopoly in the area. With the plane arriving well ahead of check-in time, there was no room available that was ready when we got there. They stored our bags for us, called AAT Kings to confirm our tours, and then put our bags in our room when the room was ready. That is what I call service ! The whole complex of Yulara is very nice. The shopping complex is excellent with dining venues, a post office and a grocery store that had everything you could possibly want- including a cheaper alternative than dining in the restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    1,004
    653
    238
    81
See reviews for
452
1,348
145
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Over priced for the quality of hotel. Comfortable and clean with friendly staff but over priced even despite a reputed upgrade. The restaurant served very good food, although again the buffet breakfast was extremely expensive

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason Y, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Richard T,
Thank you for your review.
I am happy to see that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay at Desert Gardens Hotel.
It is saddening to see that we have not met your expectations in regards to quality for price. Our aim is to exceed all guest expectations and have everyone leave having had a truly memorable experience. Please accept my apologies for not achieving this for you during your stay.
Kind regards
Jason Yule
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel and agree with everything others have said. HOWEVER, before leaving home, we were aware of problems with billing/front desk. Our flight from Sydney was cancelled, causing us to have only 1 night instead of 2 at the Desert Gardens. We were told, and have the bill for the 1 night; assured the billing dept. was aware of the change, that was beyond our control. Now we are billed 2 nights, and they have disputed the credit card company's claim. They HAVE the SIGNED bill for the 1 night, yet are disputing their error. This is not the first incident of overbilling by this hotel, as seen in previous complaints on Trip Advisor. Enjoy the hotel, but be aware ......

Room Tip: We were in our room for such a short time, that everything was good. The staff was helpful, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judiee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our four nights at the Desert Gardens. It's not a luxury resort and would probably be a 3.5 to 4 star hotel but is a wonderful place on which to base your days at Ayers Rock. Little used swimming pool and nice rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the best places to stay in the centre of Australia. The Ayers Rock Resort complex has been sympathetically developed to provide most of the amenities one might expect in a much bigger town. The Desert Gardens Hotel is a touch of luxury in a desert environment.

We stayed for 2 days at the end of November and occupied a first floor room at the back end of the hotel complex, having a balcony overlooking the desert scrub. The room was large and had a bathroom with a large walk-in shower. Unfortunately the sink didn't come with a plug! However, the main room had an efficient air conditioning system, very welcome in the high temperatures of this area.

On returning from the sunset view of Uluru on our first night we discovered that none of the external lighting worked in the block that we were located. It was extremely difficult to find our way to our room, which was towards the far end of the block, and was grateful that I had my mobile phone which provided enough light to find the door lock. Next morning, about 4am I reported both the non-working lighting and the lack of a plug. A second call had to be made in the afternoon about the plug, which was duly supplied, but the external lighting still wasn't working on the second night there.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we felt it was very expensive but rather ate in a restaurant in the resort complex a shirt walk away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a long drive in the heat from Alice Springs it was a relief to arrive at Desert Gardens. Air con, king size bed, quality bed linen, decent size room, with desert garden view, swimming pool and nearby cafes and restaurants all made our trip to Uluru comfortable in mid summer heat. It was great to have a pleasant room to escape to in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

To put things into context - to have clean, airconditioned comfort in the middle of nowhere is very pleasant, particularly after having driven 1,900 km to get there; and the pool was appreciated. Food and atmosphere were fine, the service courteous and professional. Given that everything has to be transported in over long distances, it is logical that the prices are higher than in any of our capital cities, including Darwin. The gardens were an absolute delight. Happy to recommend this place and hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.1 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
Sails In The Desert Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing