We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE VERY, VERY CAREFUL !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel and agree with everything others have said. HOWEVER, before leaving home, we were aware of problems with billing/front desk. Our flight from Sydney was cancelled, causing us to have only 1 night instead of 2 at the Desert Gardens. We were told, and have the bill for the 1 night; assured the billing dept. was aware of the change, that was beyond our control. Now we are billed 2 nights, and they have disputed the credit card company's claim. They HAVE the SIGNED bill for the 1 night, yet are disputing their error. This is not the first incident of overbilling by this hotel, as seen in previous complaints on Trip Advisor. Enjoy the hotel, but be aware ......

Room Tip: We were in our room for such a short time, that everything was good. The staff was helpful, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judiee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 3,054 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our four nights at the Desert Gardens. It's not a luxury resort and would probably be a 3.5 to 4 star hotel but is a wonderful place on which to base your days at Ayers Rock. Little used swimming pool and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This has to be one of the best places to stay in the centre of Australia. The Ayers Rock Resort complex has been sympathetically developed to provide most of the amenities one might expect in a much bigger town. The Desert Gardens Hotel is a touch of luxury in a desert environment.

We stayed for 2 days at the end of November and occupied a first floor room at the back end of the hotel complex, having a balcony overlooking the desert scrub. The room was large and had a bathroom with a large walk-in shower. Unfortunately the sink didn't come with a plug! However, the main room had an efficient air conditioning system, very welcome in the high temperatures of this area.

On returning from the sunset view of Uluru on our first night we discovered that none of the external lighting worked in the block that we were located. It was extremely difficult to find our way to our room, which was towards the far end of the block, and was grateful that I had my mobile phone which provided enough light to find the door lock. Next morning, about 4am I reported both the non-working lighting and the lack of a plug. A second call had to be made in the afternoon about the plug, which was duly supplied, but the external lighting still wasn't working on the second night there.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we felt it was very expensive but rather ate in a restaurant in the resort complex a shirt walk away.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a long drive in the heat from Alice Springs it was a relief to arrive at Desert Gardens. Air con, king size bed, quality bed linen, decent size room, with desert garden view, swimming pool and nearby cafes and restaurants all made our trip to Uluru comfortable in mid summer heat. It was great to have a pleasant room to escape to in the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

To put things into context - to have clean, airconditioned comfort in the middle of nowhere is very pleasant, particularly after having driven 1,900 km to get there; and the pool was appreciated. Food and atmosphere were fine, the service courteous and professional. Given that everything has to be transported in over long distances, it is logical that the prices are higher than in any of our capital cities, including Darwin. The gardens were an absolute delight. Happy to recommend this place and hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

To put things into context - the hotel (and its sister hotels close by) are basically pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
With that in mind I wasn't expecting much, and I wasn't disappointed because I didn't get much!
Ayers Rock is something of a cartel with regard to hotel accommodation, and as a result the prices are quite high.
My room was basic, functional and on the ground floor with no view of Uluru. I only stayed one night, and didn't spend much time in the room.
I didn't use any of the restaurant facilities.
The hotel is more of a motel really. The rooms are grouped together in blocks, and to get to mine, I had to walk outside to get to it. Not really a problem for me, but its worth knowing if you have a family as the grounds are not secure (but maybe they don't need to be!)

I paid $398 for one night. Circumstances meant that my booking was last minute. I wouldn't want to pay that again for that level of comfort, BUT, there is not much choice.

There was nothing about my stay to dissuade people from staying, but neither is their much to commend it, other than the proximity to Uluru.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiskerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear whiskerxx,
Thank you for your feedback.
As you have stated we are in the middle of nowhere. As this is the case operating costs are extremely high and this does impact prices. There is a wide range of accommodation available at Ayers Rock Resort ranging from backpacker style accommodation at Outback Pioneer Hotel to 5 star luxury at Sails in the Desert. Desert Gardens Hotel is the only with views of Uluru. If you book Deluxe rock view rooms this will guarantee views of Uluru.
I can assure you that Desert Gardens Hotel is a safe and secure hotel. We do not have fences around the hotel however there is a security team 24/7, Police, Fire and Ambulance services nearby.
Again, I wish to thank you for the valuable feedback and all the best with your future travels.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

On check in we were given a map with our room highlighted, and soon got lost! However we were pointed in the right direction, to find a lovely upper floor room overloooking the desert and with a view of Uluru. Sitting on the balcony chilling out was very pleasant. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. We found that the many plants and trees around the rooms lent a lovely peaceful note. We had dinner at the Arnguli Grill and thought that the quality of food and service was excellent and with a good wine list to match. The use of local bush ingredients was a nice touch. We also had a couple of lunches al fresco at the bar which again were excellent.

Room Tip: The deluxe room we had was comfortable and in a good location for seeing the rock in the distance, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tramoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $229 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing