We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

stayed for 2 nights while we hired a car to see Ayers rock & the beautiful Olgas. room spacious and clean with all the usual stuff you would expect. all the staff we met were friendly, including the people driving aroud in the golf buggies and servicing the rooms. They deserve a special mention as this made us feel special. would stay again as it was a pleasure to walk aroud the hotel feeling totally at ease. Nice pool and lots of places to eat on the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allright12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    1,032
    672
    241
    82
See reviews for
466
1,388
149
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hi I had requested an early check in as I was arriving by bus from Alice Springs at 1.00 and going out on a tour at 2.30 including dinner under the stars. At over $400 and a check out time of 10.00 I expected more of a response than "no the rooms not ready and guaranteed check in is not till 3.00." No acknowledgement that I had even requested an early check in. Real tough luck, we don't give a dam kind of attitude. The room was nice and the rock view great but the sheets as stiff as cardboard. Returning in the dark and trying to use the keycard to turn on lights as well as air con a challenge as it goes in underneath. The porters Michael and Benjamin were the friendliest and most helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yulara hotels

Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We actually booked a cheaper hotel in Yulara but due to a mistake of the hotel stuff we have been transfered to this hotel. The hotel is really a great when you consider that there is nothing around within several hunderts of kilometers.
We also like the "town" very much but as everything there is owned by one company it is of course very expensive.
I think the price for the Desert Garden is usually much more expensive than what we paid for the other hotel so I think I would rate the it worser for the full price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elschakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Gardens Hotel for 4 nights. Our rooms were roomy with comfortable beds and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I would highly recommend Desert Gardens Hotel. The staff were very helpful and informative.

Loved our stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

All the hotels in Uluru belong to the same company so you are trapped with their exorbitant prices. A lunchtime snack and a beer could have bought dinner in most other places, added to that the waiter service (and there were several of them) was painfully slow. Our room was large and clean. It is best to pre book breakfast as they offer a special rate the staff on reception were most helpful about this and other requests. The small shopping centre is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, its not worth getting on the free shuttle bus. The bus goes on a circular route which is worth doing to get an idea of the (small) size of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had booked three rooms for three nights at the Outback Pioneer Hotel in Yulara through the Accor website, but on arrival was advised that we had been upgraded to the Desert Gardens Hotel. As a result, the standard of accommodation exceeded all my prior expectations; and while I note the comments on the high cost in some of the preceding reviews, the costs I paid for the three rooms was more than reasonable for the standard of accommodation, and taking into account the remote location. The prices we paid were much less than we paid for inferior accommodation at Kings Canyon and Cooinda in Kakadu.
My wife and I travelled with two French couples, who were also impressed with their rooms.
After we relocated from the Outback Pioneer to the Dersert Gardens check in was quick and efficient.
Rooms were spacious, clean and cool, with an outside verandah for use in the cooler parts of the day. the bathroom was large and clean, with his and her sinks and high quality shower accessories.
The main part of the complex was cool and welcoming, with a lush garden beside the walkway from the front desk area to the bar and restaurant section.
We ate in the Gecko restaurant, located in the town square on the first night (the Arnguli Grill was fully bookedl). The food there was of a high quality, with the advantage that the costs could be charged back to our rooms.
on the second and third nights we ate in the Arnguli Grill and the Mayu Restaurant. Service in both restaurants was excellent, and the food in both was superb, with Mayu just a shade better. Our French guests thought the food was "perfect".
We used our rooms to rest and relax during the heat of the day. We would go out early in the morning, either to Uluru ot Kata Tjuta, walk for four or five hours until the day got too hot, then retreat to the comfort and cool of our rooms for three to four hours before heading out again for a bit more walking and sunset viewing. They were real oases during the heat of the day.
A great experience for us and our guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koreconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
320 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

In the middle of nowhere this is the second best (I think) hotel in the Ayers Rock complex. Stylish gardens with motley rooms. The only gripe is that if your rooms are on the 1st floor you have to lug your suitcases up the stairs - no lifts or ramps. A great swimming pool, large bar, and a dullish restaurant. We walked the 5 minutes into the 'centre' where there are some much cheaper but good value places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing