We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our room gave us an awesome view of Ayers Rock and this made all the difference to our visit since one of us was celebrating a birthday. There was a short wait for this reallocation but it was really worth it. It was a real joy to meet the very warm and friendly person who very quickly loaded our cases up and drove them over to our accommodation. Up our cases went and we were soon nicely settled in - our day was made. The room was at an end, spacious, with a balcony with table and chairs. There was a minibar, a sofa, table with chairs, king size bed .. bath robes and ironing board. The ensuite toilet and bath was well appointed. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was superb - much choice. The town was a short walk away, however a complimentary shuttle which carried guests to and from the airport also served this route. It is a very busy resort with buses transporting guests to locations in and out of the resort. We enjoyed the complimentary timetabled shows within the grounds. We did not use internet facility which is available at a fee. Many thanks to the manager and staff whose hospitality we very much appreciated and will long remember.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaiteur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
There are newer reviews for Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our 3rd hotel 2nd country on her trip round the world. It was a very nice hotel, staff were friendly, the rooms were clean comfortable and good air condition units (because you need it) when we were there is was extremely hot. The pool was good.Town as they called it was a 10 min walk. We booked sunset tour to Yulara which was very good. All in all we had a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our stay at the Desert Gardens Hotel far exceeded any expectations we had of this hotel, mainly because of the awesome view of Ayers Rock from our room (room 396 in Gum Coolibar block).....and after all the rock is why we were there!
This fairly average hotel is part of a vast complex and the outside is rather ugly and uninspiring. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, although the decor was slightly dated, but the fabulous view made our stay very special and memorable.
We did a sunrise tour to the rock on Day 1, and it was fabulous to be up close to the rock, and learn so much from our very knowledgable guide, but watching the sunrise and sunset from our balcony on Day 2 was very special too (and not many people could afford - or justify - making several trips to the rock as these tours are very expensive). We didn't eat in the hotel but found the food in the resort centre to be good - we tried Ayers Wok and Red Rock Deli - with a fairly good selection at the supermarket. No take-away alcohol is sold at the supermarket or anywhere in the centre - only sold at the bar at the Outback Pioneer, but that is a pleasant bar and we enjoyed our trip there.
The swimming pool was good and the staff generally helpful, although it was a bit of a conveyer belt at Reception some times, due to the size of the resort. The shuttle bus to/from airport and around the resort was very efficient.
In summary, the resort is very peaceful, the Rock magical and we wished we could have stayed longer than our 2 nights.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a rock view room.... otherwise it is a very average, motel style hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgentLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stopped for one night for a planned activity. check in very smooth, bus transfers were good from the airport. However check out times the next day were inflexible and we had to wait in reception for a couple of hours before our transfer to Alice Springs came. A bit more flexibility from that point of view would be beneficial.
The pool was very nice, and well kempt.
However the bathrooms in our rooms looked tired. They could do with a refurb. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on it. The other facilities are near by and can be reached with an easy stroll or the courtesy bus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear lemgotravelling
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read of your efficient bus transfer and check-in experience and also your enjoyment with our pool facilities.
If is disappointing to read you were not satisfied with our check out time. We try our hardest to ensure all late check out requests are granted, however during busy periods we do require our departing guests to leave their rooms so that they can be cleaned in time for our arriving guests. To minimise any discomfort to our guests that have afternoon transfers we offer both complimentary luggage storage and a hospitality room to utilise prior to your departure.
I would like to thank you once again for posting your comments and I look forward to welcoming you again to the Red Centre in the near future

Kind Regards
Michael Augustin
Hotel Operatrions
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

You can’t expect quite the same standards of class of hotel that can be found in the large cities, but for such a remote location I thought it was very good. I can’t comment on the food (or prices of food there) as we only stayed one night, with dinner at the Sounds of Silence experience and breakfast on a tour that saw the sun rise over Uluru. My expeerience of the hotel os therefore limited.

Our room was fine given the location, although the rooms are spread over the complex and directions are sometimnes not obvious, with some rooms a fair walk from reception, which is not so good for those with mobility problems (if you fall into this category, as for a room near reception). There is a courtesy bus that goes round the small Ayers Rock resort, although the village centre (not too much there, but a good supermarket, a few shops and a cafes etc.) is not far and an easy stroll.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Unfortunately we only stopped off here for the one night whilst holidaying in Sydney. We arrived about 1.30 in the afternoon and were anxious to make as much of the time we had there as possible. The free shuttle bus from the airport took us to Desert Gardens, 1st glance it looked very nice, check-in was quick and smooth and the free upgrade to a desert view room was much appreciated. Receptionists were very helpful in organising excusions for that very day to see the sunset of Uluru and Gorge and then next morning the sunrise. The complex was massive we struggled to find our room but again there were staff around willing to help. Room was fantastic such a comfy bed, I was just gutted I was only there 1 night and up at 4am to see the sunrise so couldn't fully appreciate that however was worth getting up at that time. There is a great range of facilities from what I saw including, a swimming pool, supermarket cafe/restaurant visitor centre etc. In all, Lovely place in the beautiful vast desert. Would definatley return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good hotel with lots of facilities in house and for tour booking. Prices reflect unique location rather than star status but this to be expected - bills for the excellent air conditioning must be astronomical. If arriving by car be aware designers have chosen to locate car park some way from rooms and stopping outside reception is reserved for coaches. Overall well recommended.

Room Tip: Rock view rooms are extar but well worth having
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrData70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $222 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing