We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Desert Garden hotel during our visit to Australia for our honeymoon. We stayed here for 3 nights and overall were pretty happy with our stay. I read the reviews and did research before staying here so I kind of knew what to expect regarding the "resort's monopoly".
I'll start with a few negatives... First, we were put in a disabled room even though we requested an upgraded room (after all it was our honeymoon) and later put in a room with two double beds. The walkway outside our room (401) was extremely loud. None of the large stones were cemented down and when anyone walked by or when housekeeping rolled their carts by it sounded as if someone was coming through our door. I requested a quieter room at 4am and we were promptly relocated the next morning. Secondly, the WiFi was down while we were there. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice to communicate with our family via email since we didn't have international calls on our phones. Also, as large as the resort is, they do not provide a fitness area or gym. And lastly, we visited the deli several times and I over heard one of the female workers made a comment about visitors not tipping. She was always rude everytime we were in there. However, everyone else we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful.
The positives... friendly/ helpful/ accommodating front desk staff, the pools were very clean and nice, several water coolers throughout the resort, free shuttle for the resort, and many restaurants and deli to choose from. The resort also provides many free activities daily. We had fun learning how to throw and spear and boomerang.
We took a camel ride at sunset and highly recommend this. Afterwards, the guides provide light snack and appetizers and complementary wine, beer, or soft drinks. We were able to mingle and meet others from all around the world.
We also visited Ayers Rock at sunset and walked over to take the free visitor's guide tour provided by Ayers Rock. The tour starts at 8am and lasted about 2 hours and we learned a lot from our guide. You can stay as long as you want and take one of the free shuttles back to the resort. And it only cost about $65!

Room Tip: There's a grocery store within the resort so if you're traveling on a budget, as we were, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 3,056 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had originally intended to stay at Longitude 131 but decided against it because we did not want to tied to the set tours etc. Instead we booked a deluxe double room with a rock view and were not disappointed. We had a lovely view from the balcony and it was wonderfully quiet. We enjoyed the garden layout. As we had rented a vehicle, we were not dependent on hotel transfers. Even so, there were many checking in when we arrived from the airport but the process was efficient and smooth. The staff were very helpful and we had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Recommend a rock view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeyaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were actually pleasantly surprised by the Desert Gardens Hotel...the service is much better than one might expect from a monopoly hotel complex in the middle of almost nowhere forced to operate from facilities which were "state of the art" in the mid 1980's. The pricing is absurd, even by Australian standards...we managed to get a 30% off rate which still meant paying nearly US$400 a night for what is basically a three-star US motel. Oddly, the place was half empty over Chinese New Year despite the discount...possibly reflecting the awkwardness in getting here given the flights situation (we drove from Adelaide), but also signifying a deeper pricing issue. Yet there is that view and the convenience of being near Uluru and the Olgas. We had an issue with hot water which was solved within minutes. The parking situation is a bit odd...sometimes a long haul from the oddly situated parking lot to your accomodation. Food options are actually quite good (again low season). In contrast to the lodging, the restaurants on the main square are very good and not overpriced by Australian standards (sorry for having to add that...Australia competes with Scandinavia as being a very expensive tourist destination). The option of an Asian fast-food spot (A$15 for a nice meal) is brilliant. I might push this to a four if not for the price.

Room Tip: Do the Rock view,,,and spend more than a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had read some very bad reviews on Trip Advisor but my room was very nice and I got a rock view without having to pay for it. My room was a very long way from reception and if you have trouble walking, ask for a room closer. Service wasn't that great...a phone message took 24 hours to be delivered to me.

Make sure you get breakfast included because it's quite expensive and if you have it included and you go on an early morning tour, you can get a breakfast box to take with you. Don't pay for a breakfast box because they are $24.50 and a complete rip off.

That being said, all the food in the resort is very expensive but it's a monopoly and in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king on the second floor and get a rock view without paying for it...room 367
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ging466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good accomodation close to Ayres Rock on a resort complex. Free coutesy coach for trips to other parts of complex giving alternative eating options but prices artificially high due to resort being owned by one company. Trips or private vehicle required to visit Ayres Rock or other places.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Rock, however these may require an upgrade. Transport required or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe double room for 2 nights towards the end of the Australian summer. The transfer service from the airport was very good as was the check in experience - bear in mind that if you arrive on a morning flight and at the resort before 2pm, the chances are that you'll have to wait for your room to be serviced.
We had a room equipped for people with disabilities which I found odd as compared with other rooms it was quite far away from the reception area. The downside to this was a low shower (I'm 5'10" and had to squat/hunch a bit to wash my hair) and an elevated toilet seat (my girlfriend is 5' 4" and her feet didn't touch the floor without pointing her toes - so she says, I don't watch her pee!). I think the description as a 4* hotel is a bit generous and the website photo of a room with a direct view of Uluru uses a lot of artistic licence!
The restaurants were fantastic quality but like everything else very expensive (import costs and the resort's monopoly of supply).
I was very put out by a cleaner coming into our room in the afternoon without knocking and without apology asking when we were leaving - I told him that we were leaving the next day he checked list before accepting what I said.
Staying here gives you free run of the other hotel's facilities and there are wide selection of restaurants in the Sails hotel as well - I think it goes without saying but be hungry before choosing a buffet style restaurant, my girlfriend ate a salad and a bowl of vegetable noodles for which we paid the flat rate of AUD$65.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drw2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Desert garden 7-9 February 2013. After having read all the negative reviews we were a bit angus, but we were surprisingly positive. Room was newly renovated, good breakfast and friendly staff. It's correct dining is expensive but what can be expected in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $232 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing