We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great location, beautiful property, wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Oh, where do we start? Let's start with the staff. It's youthful, optimistic, fun energy permeates every conversation. They look and act like they actually love their jobs. How about the property? It is gorgeous. Strolling along the brick pathways under the full canopy of stars is so peaceful. And the rooms? The hotel should have feared that they'd need to physically extract us. The rooms are big and airy, as is the bathroom. We had a second-story balcony view of Uluru/Ayers Rock. What a way to awaken in the morning after sweeping open the curtains. Its restaurants are expensive, but then again, Ayers Rock is a long way from anything, so getting food there can't be cheap. One workaround is to have the big buffet breakfast and then to walk over to the supermarket to load up on picnic food for lunch. Staying at the Desert Gardens Hotel was a magical experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 2,900 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were not too sure what to expect...reviews were not very consistant or encouraging. Prices were very high with little choice . However we were pleasantly suprised--the deluxe room was up to 4* but then so it should have been for the money!
Do NOT eat at the Ayres Wok noodle food shop in Yulara----It seemed reasonably priced but was rubbish and ended up in the garbage!!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room but without a view of Uluru---good choice as the rooms with a view cost more. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokelaniEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay here early in the week for a few days. In an ambient setting at Yulara, the property boasts delightful staff, the casual Bunya Bar, White Gums Restaurant for breakfast, Arnguli Grill for some excellent dinner offerings and a space that affords guests an excellent opportunity to relax or engage at whatever levels the choose. My guest space was a 'Rock View' room with a great visual connection to the iconic monolith. Many thanks to all involved in making my visit so pleasurable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rock View rooms add an extra dimension to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowsalwaysrule!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very nice hotel, room big and and cosy. Very surprised and happy to receive a special present for honey moon, a bottle of australia Brut, really good.
The hotel is close to all the others, it takes only 20 minutes to get to Uluru and 40 minutes to Kata Tjuca. The restaurant is really good. We were a little disappointed because the day we spent there was rainy so we went in our room and the heating would not work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giotto79Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our first allocated room had no electricity and way off at the edge of the complex. Then the next one had such a noisy air conditioner we had to turn it off and sweat. Too late to complain and we were tired.Would not recommend this place. We heard other complaints as well from fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the desert gardens hotel for one night as part of our honeymoon. Considering it is in the middle of the outback it's a really good hotel. Our room had two double beds and everything was very clean. On arrival we got an unexpected free bottle of champagne (thanks very much) and settled in for the afternoon before going on the sunset tour. This was amazing and because we were slightly out of season there were less people there than I expected. We had pre booked this but it could have easily been sorted out at the hotel. Arrived back at the hotel and consumed the free drink and would have gone to the bar but had to get up early for the sunrise tour which I really recommend also, one tip.....it's freezing in the morning!!!! However this was not the warmest time of year, just a mild 30degrees during the day. Bed was comfy and bathroom very clean with loads of towels and showel gel etc. You might have to expect a few bugs, none in the room but I guess they might happen in Australia...it's fairly common I believe. Obviously it shocks some people. Sails in the desert was like a building site so pleased we stayed here. Before being picked up we relaxed around the pool which is also very clean. Nothing bad really to say, better than I expected and we enjoyed our one night here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisWhiting77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Waited 2 hrs for room after arriving from melb.

No diet coke available at bar or other diet drink

No elec point anywhere in room only in bathroom

Tour desk line from room not connected

reception line rings but does not answer

Concert weekend at Rock but no transport from hotel so missed out but travelled especially for event and no hire car facility



  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beiqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $183 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing