We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,282)
Filter reviews
3,283 results
Traveler rating
698
1,376
817
282
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
1,376
817
282
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayers rockdeluxe roomtown squaredesert gardenarnguli grillsounds of silence dinnerpost officelarge bathroomstayed nightsshuttle busgrocery storeaat kingsbuffet breakfastremote locationnational parksunrise touralice springs
Filter
Updating list...
2,188 - 2,193 of 3,283 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Waited 2 hrs for room after arriving from melb.

No diet coke available at bar or other diet drink

No elec point anywhere in room only in bathroom

Tour desk line from room not connected

reception line rings but does not answer

Concert weekend at Rock but no transport from hotel so missed out but travelled especially for event and no hire car facility



  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beiqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The reception and public areas are fine and well appointed. The pool was clean and there were plenty of sun loungers, towels provided.

The rooms however, let this hotel down. They are looking a little "tired" and ours certainly needed a thorough clean. There was alot of dust on the carpet behind the bedside table. The toilet was quite scratched and also needed a good clean below the water level. The patio door, which opened onto a terrace didn't lock properly and there was alot of dirt in the tracks.

Prices for the restaurant were very high, so we ate in the restaurant in the food court, which was fine. There is a newsagents in the food court, a supermarket (we bought things for breakfast from here) and a bakery.

Well organised transfers to an from the airport and a luggage room to store the cases if required.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level would have better views. Our room was on the ground floor, with a terrace, that overlooked unattractive scrub land at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilaelizabeth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Uluru and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has recently been renovated which was good. The room we had was large and spacious with a big bathroom including a full size bath. Very well maintained and cleaned. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed any trouble at all. I had reviews that rooms were not good but we could not complain at all (we even checked for dust in our room, none to be found & looked for mould in the bathroom, but nothing!). We have stayed at 5 star hotels around the world that did not match this room. The only issue is the walk from reception to our room was a bit of a distance so could be a problem if your dragging your luggage especially in the heat! I would also suggest that they offer more room and breakfast options as we were have preferred that option if it was available. We were unable to get into the restaurant on a Friday night for dinner which was disappointing as we didn't realise we needed to book and perhaps staff should advise guests about this. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit which we hope will be sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Size room with a rock view (it's worthwhile having the larger rooms apparently).
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It has been 15 years (and two children later) since my last visit to Uluru and our stay at Desert Gardens was perfect for a mini break in the NSW school holidays. I had read poor reviews about the hotel needing a renovation but I have nothing but praise for the hotel. Sure its not 5 stars but it was clean, comfortable and quiet and apart from sleeping there in the evening and a lunchtime nap it served us very well. I think people have to remember that it is in the middle of Australia and in the desert. The staff are usually backpackers or young people on holidays. I couldn't fault our stay there and we all had a great time.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the Black Fuscia Section - away from the pool area. Very quiet and peaceful. Did not have views of the Rock but then we didn't ask for them !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hedge39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Uluru - a great place to visit. Desert Gardens - awaiting its turn for fixes. There is a reason that Sails in the Desert (adjacent hotel, same owner) is undergoing a remodel. Desert Gardens must be next. In short - broken toilet, shower curtain too short to reach tub so water goes onto bathroom floor, safe too small for laptops, sliding glass door barely closed with struggle, lack of controls for room heat / cooling and way too hot on cool winter nights. King bed reserved but not provided. No reason given. Was only reminded that preferences are not guaranteed. No big deal, but the staff could say something nicer than the equivalent of "we don't have to". Despite all this we still had a nice visit, and there wasn't a better choice for our lodging. Expect a few problems and enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_Prospector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews