We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilkari Restaurant

Ilkari Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
BerkhamstedHerts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was a pretty decent buffet - good selection and decent standard. The service was good and we all enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    220
    68
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“meals great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

service was very good and range of meals were every thing we wanted. breakfast was not complimentary though

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Very overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

$70pp for this buffet is way too much. Sure it had a good selection, food was good, but not worth this. Service was incredibly slow - it took forever to get our table even though we had a reservation, waited forever to get our cooked meats, drinks, etc.. and then finally had to wait in line for 15 minutes to charge it to the room (you'd think for this price they would come to our table with the bill to pay). After hiking 15km that day I did not appreciate having to stand some more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Ilkari Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear lanamom,

Thankyou for providing feedback in regards to your experience at Ilkari Restaurant.

It is unfortunate that your evening did not meet your expectations, furthermore that you did not experience the sufficient and prompt service I know our restaurant team can provide. I can assure you that I have raised your feedback with the restaurant team along with implementing methods to improve our service during busier times.

Thankyou again for your review.

Kind regards,

Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great choices and excellent food (especially for hotel buffet style). Definitely worth eating here at least one night of your visit.
Breakfast is standard hotel fare - very good, but nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel of this calibre. Service is pretty ordinary though. I understand they have high turnover due to the remoteness of the area. But some basics are simply lacking. Nonetheless, good option for breakfast and their chefs are brilliant at dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrisVegasChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale. NSW
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food good variety.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Food was very good, service excellent and they employ locals, the prices are city similar, that is pretty reasonable given the isolated location. Surrounds very beautiful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kye88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilkari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ilkari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing