We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dining Experience In The Desert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilkari Restaurant

Ilkari Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience In The Desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good food inspired with tastes of the bush.. Cost is quite expensive but buffet means you can have as many servings as you want. Lots of yummy desserts available. Nice atmosphere, indigenous art hanging on walls, modern. Service is quick and efficient but perhaps not quite 5 star standard. Good selection of cocktails and australian wines. Bathrooms are always kept clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmyCurren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    220
    68
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious with nice outlook onto gardens/pool area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for full buffet breakfast here on our last day. At $37 each it is comparable with 5 star hotels in Sydney. They have a chef making fresh omelettes, fried, poached & boiled eggs and pancakes. Have all the other usuals such as hot food in bain maries, cereals, fruit, yog, bread/pastries, charcuterie station plus congee, sushi and noodles or rice dish. Nice view into the grounds with a number of tall ghost gum trees. Very peaceful and nicely furnished. Since we had two other morning tours this is the only time we had breakfast at the resort and we were happy we chose Ilkari.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiger5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Food is OK, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Most things in Yulara are expensive, and this is no exception. You are a long way from anything so I am sure their costs are high.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Buffet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had buffet breakfast included in our package at Sails in the Desert. There is a great variety of items available for breakfast. The service was also very good and I did like how you were given a coffee/tea pot per table - it was not self serve which I enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best buffet I have ever had! I did think that $65 per pp is expensive but after that night I will suggest it to all my friends! All food stations are well presented and the food are gorgeous! U can order unlimited steak fillet, salmon fillet, lamb cutlet and kangaroo bbq skewer from the station and they will bring them to your table! U can also have prawn and fresh salmon, tuna and oyster from the seafood station! All cooked well and taste damn beautiful! Compare the $88 buffet in Sydney Sheraton Hotel, this one in Ayers Rock truly the winner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickiVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilkari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ilkari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing