We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the deliveries”
Review of Walpa Lobby Bar

Walpa Lobby Bar
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Watch the deliveries”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ordered the triple mini burgers and vegetable platter. The plater was to come with three varieties of bread. We got none. When we asked we were given one. When I showed the menu to the wait staff we got a second and an apology that the truck had not shown up. No reduction in price and no explanation for why we had not gotten bread at first. This may be due to the staff being new, but at the prices that are charged I found this a bit disconcerting. Also note that if you get coffee here before breakfast, event though you are paying almost $400 per night, they charge extra for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Walpa Lobby Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear applejuice12

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the less than ideal dining experience you received at Walpa Bar. Please know that this is not the quality product we endeavour to provide our guest and to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in saddening.

Since your comments our staff both front and back of house have been given further training on the quality of both food and service standards expected to ensure this does not occur in the future.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest Regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    171
    72
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice burgers”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Food was cooked fresh and lovely decor. Menu limited to gourmet burgers and club sandwiches.

Reasonable prices and really fantastic service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“No service but food was good”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I had read so many reviews when I booked for 4 of us to visit Uluru that I wanted to experience as much as possible. This particular place, we rocked up at 7.30pm for dinner without a booking and they did not have a table for 4 of us so we went to the bar. We ordered some wine and some disces from the menu. The place does not have enough staff so we had to get our bottle of wine and help ourselves, get water and a bowl to wash our hands following pealing prawns.,
The team on the floor, all nice people, were friendly and been working here from 2 to 6 months. The general comment is that they like to earn money and no where to spend it, so once they have achieved their goal... They move on. Obvoiusly a few must have moved on as we had a chef taking our order !
The food was generally ok, not brilliant but ok. As you know everything here is much more expensive that other places in Australia, so you appreciate what you can eat and pay the price.
We went back for lunch the following day and the food was good. Service still poor .
You have many places to eat in the resort so if you like a relaxed atmosphere and accept the poor service, you will enjoy it. The dinner buffet looked amazing for $65 per person. I would go for that next time around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swissmiss6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, well presented”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We turned without a booking and although the restaurant wasn't even half full, we had to wait to see if there was a table! After we were seated we were served reasonably quickly and the food and presentation was excellent. The staff were friendly enough and we were able to sit and chat with our new friends - just met that day- without feeling rushed to leave the table, and of course our room was just across the garden - so convenient!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake great but a little overpriced”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped here for an evening coffee and cake. The staff were really friendly and provided us with their recommendations. Although we were expecting things to be slightly overpriced didnt expect a slice of cake to be close to $16. Off all the places we ate in whilst in Uluru, this one was the most expensive. However saying that the cake was very nice and a very well made coffee :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaB1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walpa Lobby Bar also viewed

 

Been to Walpa Lobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing