We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 'must do' before you die”
Review of Longitude 131

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longitude 131
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Uluru is a 'must do' before you die and Longitude is the 'must do' place to stay to see it.

It's not the cheapest hotel but it's actually good value considering that everything is included when you get there, tours, very good food and good quality booze. We arranged our helicopter trip to pick us up from the airport and drop us at the hotel - I would recommend this as the way to arrive but needs advance planning.

The 'tents' are luxurious but not ostentatious, they have balanced them very well and include iPads with music and Bose sound systems and the usual stuff you'd expect from a hotel of this standard.

Most of the staff are outstanding, and a special thank you to Luke who kept me topped up with Shaw & Smith Sauvignon and plenty of banter and Lucas for keeping us entertained with local stories and history.

We were lucky enough to be there just before the infamous Russian party, although we did hear of their imminently arrival. We found the other clientele very friendly which is important considering this is an intimate hotel that can only accommodate 30 people maximum.

If there are some down sides - their dry cleaning service takes longer than published, so allow an extra day if you want to wear something, this caught me out on our last day, and the spa is offsite but they take you pick you up at your convenience.

Another recommendation - get a private tour with Lucas straight from the spa (needs advance planning as they need to take the national park tickets with them) and you can get up and close to Uluru and the hear the stories / history at your leisure, there is a small supplement but trivial in the grand scheme of things (A$75)

We were lucky enough to be there when it rained briefly (their first for 6 months) and saw a magnificent rainbow - now you don't see that every day in the desert!

Room Tip: Room 8 has a clear view of Uluru and is the closest to the main building (if you're feeling lazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 715 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location is fabulous with luxury tents that are roomy--and allow you to even shower looking at Uluru (or you can close panels over sinks area. Very comfortable and easy to unpack, set up for few days touring. The price include tours--however we were not given info on additional tours since our stay was only two nights--I would have preferred to have been given the information so we could make that decision. Although the restaurant staff was attentive, and food very good, the hospitality staff was non-intrusive to point of being neglectful. Overall, it is a lovely setting, and wonderful tent experience, just would have liked more info when we checked in.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms look right out over Uluru--the tents are set up to take advantage of their loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeMangement, Public Relations Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and valued comments. Longitude 131 was recently taken over by Baillie Lodges, operators of acclaimed luxury retreats Southern Ocean Lodge and Capella Lodge. The management transition took place on November 1, hence after your stay, but we appreciate your feedback which we’ll immediately use to enhance the experience at Longitude. We note you stayed for 2 nights; the included signature touring program has been carefully choreographed to take in all the highlights of the region and there is simply no time for bespoke options. Historically, we understand information on additional tours has only been offered to guests staying 3 nights or more. With a 3 night stay now widely recognised as optimum, we are developing exciting new touring options, available for additional cost, visiting the favoured iconic sights with added luxe touches and exploring the desert further afield. Details of these adventures will certainly be provided to our 2 night guests, should they wish to replace an included experience with a bespoke private option. We hope to have opportunity to welcome you back soon for a refreshed new experience of Longitude 131.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at 131 for making our stay such a positive experience! From the moment we arrived ( lunch time was over, but at 2:30pm, when we arrived, they offered us a complete lunch since they knew we had been travelling!) till we left, we felt pampered and loved! Can't say enough about our stay except that we are thrilled that we chose 131 for our two night stay at the Red Center. It was expensive, but all things considered, for us, it was worth it.

Room Tip: we were in tent 5 and were very happy with it. We didn't see any need to be " in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exit63terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at longitude for three nights in October during my honeymoon. This was a fantastic and very special place. The staff will do anything you ask....I was never told 'no' to a request. Accommodations were spectacular! Wifi in rooms and in the main lodge; unlimited food and drinks; smart and savvy tour guides; charming staff; constant attention. Loved every minute.

Staff: I cannot praise these people enough. They work so hard and make it look fun and effortless. On our last night they arranged a private sunset viewing for us that overlooked 'the rock,' and created a wonderful fruit and cheese plate. At night, they told us about the different star constellations and made sure we always had a drink in our hand.

Food: Shona (the chef) prepares a menu that you 'approve' each morning...dinner starts with a soup and is followed by a main course and dessert. The bread is sensational and served with spices and olive oil. Everything is presented beautifully. Desserts are unreal...ranges from ice cream with a caramel sesame chip to rich chocolate cake.

Full disclaimer: There are lots and of flies during the day but that is unavoidable since you're in the desert. You are given a fly net to wear and it works perfectly! You'll be much happier wearing it than not wearing it.

Tips:
1. Stay for three nights and get the complimentary helicopter ride.
2. Request tent #12 (or one of the front four tents for an unobstructed view)
3. Bring bug spray and wear the fly net

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the resort so that we could attend the Darwin Symphony Orchestra event in October. The stay was nice and relaxing but not a WOW factor. Unfortunately we have been very spoilt by one of their other resorts (within the same brand) in Tasmania. I try not to compare on food, service and facilities but it is very difficult. I can not complain about Longitude 131 but for the price you are paying you would want the WOW factor.

The setting is serene and very relaxing. I would have liked the mini bar ie. alcohol facilities in the fridge - having to walk over to the main resort to get a drink (it is very hot outside) when you just want to relax. You can get the hotel staff to bring it over but sometimes it would be nice just to go to the fridge and grab something.

It was a comfortable stay but not a place that we would go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Oct 13, excursions included in the package are repeated every two days which means that we would have had to repeat trips or pay a hefty extra fee, mind you, prices are high enough for what is offered. So either stay for 2 nights or reckon with extras of up to 150 AU dollars for a sunset drive on a private basis to give you an example. Although the restaurant offers excellent food and wine, the management is abismal: forgotten beer, bread, replenishment of water and wine, you mention it, it's immediately forgotten. Most of the staff are very friendly, but the top management should really consider constructive criticism, so go to Explora and see how they are catering to individual needs...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Yes - we also overlapped with the Russian party. Its not an inexpensive place, and when paying top dollar you should be able to expect top experience. The rooms have a great view (the best possible), food excellent and staff very friendly knowledgeable and helpful. The guides and Chef should be singled out for their passion and knowledge. But we met the advance party of young Russian ladies - the gentlemen were due to arrive the day we left - But again such large numbers of young women determined to get drunk had an impact - we had to relocate our evening meal to the library to escape the hoo hah

Room Tip: Try to avoid 11-15 - the view of Uluru is interrupted by tents in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
1.7 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.5 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
1.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $2,098 - $2,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping certainly doesn’t come more glamorous nor the view from the ‘tent’ more spectacular than this. At Longitude 131°, a gathering of luxury pavilions overlooking Uluru, the vibe is intimate and civilised. The desert base fans out from the cool sanctuary of the Dune House, site of lounging, cocktails and Rock gazing. Dine on contemporary cuisine infused with indigenous flavours overlooking the nation’s spiritual heart or under a glittering canopy of stars at Table 131°. In the spirit of the original pioneers, relax after a day’s exploring in a tent recreated for today's traveller with a swag of mod cons. The comforts of the lodge are offset by discovery of the World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta, explored on a series of signature guided encounters. Longitude 131° is a place to really feel that the most desirable luxuries of today are infinite time, endless space and the sweet sound of silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort
Longitude 131 Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing