We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes - it is worth every dollar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longitude 131

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Longitude 131
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes - it is worth every dollar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Longitude 131 was a remarkable experience for us. We loved it.
At first sight the overall cost is extremely expensive but when one considers what is included and if one had to buy the tours and gourmet food separately elsewhere, we thought it reasonable value.
The location and design of the hotel is ideal and the service impeccable. The staff were all delightful, willing and helpful with special mentions to Nicole, Jason and Sarah. Our tour guides, Trevor and Nicole were very knowledgeable and gave great enthusiasm to their talks.
The food and wine were of the highest quality and the menu changed daily.
The unmissable tour, in our view, was the visit to the base of Ayres Rock.
We were disappointed by the sunset tour as we were led to believe by the publicity that this was to be viewed in an area exclusive to longitude 131 clients. It wasn't - in the words of our tour guide, we were watching the sunset with a thousand of our best friends!
In our view two days is the perfect length of stay as it is extremely hot and nothing else to see other than the two main sights. However these are quite unmissable.
There is not much to the local town, Yulara, and it is not worth the visit.
If you want a to make your trip to Uluru really special, stay at Longitude 131.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    69
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
76
470
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is THE place to stay if you want to visit Uluru (Ayres Rock) and kata Tjunja. We had the experience of a lifetime curtesy of this very special place. Nothing was too much trouble and every effort was made by all the staff to make this trip so worth while. Well done all at Longitude 131!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our two nights at 131. As others have said, the accommodations are very comfortable and unique. We went on all the tours ...and despite having to get up very early for the morning excursions found them to be extremely interesting and informative of Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and the indigenous culture. The lodge is quite small so you also have the chance to socialize with other guests, which we enjoyed. The food was excellent, although dinner service was very leisurely (aka slow) one night. We liked then"all inclusive" feature .... It's not cheap but lovely to have an open bar and all tours as part of the deal. We felt that two nights was about right ... Time enough to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta and have a little time to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had never taken as long as 3 weeks holidays but we decided to go to Australia for very special celebrations. Don’t get me wrong we are very well travelled but we don’t tend to spend long in any one place. We went to Hong Kong on the way in, Sydney, Uluru, Cairns, Hamilton Islands (Qualia) Brisbane then Singapore. Uluru was magnificent. Longitude made it so. Staff were great, our tent (Giles- Tent 7) was perfect, the activities (although I am very unfit) were very good, food and drinks were spot on. The tour guides were so knowledgeable (hello there, Trevor!). We went in early October, it was the perfect time, little to no flies, hot but not unbearably so! We learnt so much about the local culture, flora and fauna. Just perfect! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NTB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay. The view right over Uluru was fantastic. The staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful, made our stay really special. The food was really good and the staff were good at recommending wine to compliment the food.We joined in all the organised trips, because we didn't want to miss anything and it was great to see Uluru at sunrise and sunset. We had the opportunity to stroll around the base of Uluru, with the guide pointing out areas of special interest and sharing some stories. There was also time to relax. Although the weather was a little chilly, we spent a very nice afternoon sat by the pool. It was great that nice warm ponchos were provided, so when we went out at night we were not cold.

Room Tip: There really isn't a 'bad' place to stay in this resort. All of the tents had wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterKlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Simply outstanding. Not only is the service amazing it is the attention to detail and the absolute focus of every member of staff that makes this place worth every cent and more! The 'service' is not over the top but honest- insightful and all delivering. Nothing is too much trouble and you really do have the choice to do as much and or as little as possible. As someone that has worked with tourism boards, hotels, airlines this really is the best I have seen- a showcase of Australian hospitality and warmth.
The food is amazing- every meal- the trips and activities flexible and again executed with grace and detail.
Nothing is too much trouble- if you can afford it- do it- you will not regret one second.
Rooms incredible- we are off to buy the mattress and the pillows for home!

Thank you for making our 10th wedding anniversary so special!

Room Tip: All the rooms look great- the four down the front seem to have the best view- but you won't be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

131 is one of Australia's great lodges. Your luxury tent's floor to ceiling front window oversees one of the world's great views- Uluru in all its majectic spender. Waking to this is an inspiring experience but is surpassed overall by the fabulous service and local knowledge of 131's staff. They couldnt do enough for us. The ratio appeared to be almost 1:1, staff to guests. The luxury 'tents' offer mable bathrooms, australian hardwood floor living areas, fully stocked and inclusive bars. Dinners are a treat. wonderful food accompanied by inclusive wines selected for each course inclusing dessert.
What makes the service even more inpressive is that Uluru is not only in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of the middle of nowhere making the ability to have such excellent staff no small achievement.

Room Tip: There are two tents set back behind the rest - 10 and 11. These unfortunately have the other tents i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
1.7 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.5 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
1.8 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Property: Longitude 131
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longitude 131° offers immersion in the Australian outback, a true sense of stillness and beauty in this desert landscape, rich in cultural heritage and history. Explore the World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta and discover some of the ancient creation stories of the Anangu, the land's traditional custodians. Spend time exploring the diverse flora and fauna of the desert and come face to face with this irresistible land with the lodge's personally guided adventures. In the spirit of the original pioneers, stay in canopied pavilions that seem to float over the rust-red dunes. Luxuriously contemporised, today's explorers are cosseted from the elements in surrounds that favour refined comfort over ostentation. Classic furnishings meld with indigenous textures to evoke a sanctuary of earthy elegance. A private glass wall yields unparalleled views of Uluru (Ayers Rock). Exceptional cuisine celebrates a fusion of modern and local flavours. Enjoy an outback sundowner at the convivial open bar in the Dune House and dine under a glittering canopy of stars at Table 131°. Quieten to the night sounds of the desert and be mesmerised by the movement and songs of an ancient culture by firelight. Timeless and enriching, Longitude 131° promises a transcendent connection with this spirited land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort
Longitude 131 Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing