We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprized”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yulara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayers Rock Campground
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overprized”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The campground is close to Uluru and Olgas, just a short drive with the car, so the location to see this things is really good. The campground himself is $42 a night in low season, for me this is overprized. Showers and toillets are old and not clean, there is no camp kitchen. The first BBQ had no gas, the seconde was ok. Don't waste water is the slogand in the toillets. In a area with 5star hotels,pools and spa, this is not possible. I think the owners spend more attention to the hotels than the campground,thats sad......

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    278
    189
    71
    45
See reviews for
196
291
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were reluctant to go here, because we thought it would be too crowded, but we were pleasantly surprised. The facilities were all good, there is a shuttle bus that takes you round to the shops, supermarket etc. rather like a hi di hi holiday resort. But because we wanted to go to the rock, we plumped for this one. We were pleased as it is very close to the rock. The park itself charges $25 per person - valid for 3 days, nothing to do with the camp site where we paid $42 for the night. The supermarket IS EXPENSIVE - $26 for 6 beers and $28 for an okay bottle of wine.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Convalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in a very small but "luxurious" tent with 2 beds and a wooden floor. Unfortunately the door did not really close so we had to tie it closed with a rope. The toliets and shower facilities were good and very regularly cleaned. The camping site has lights so you don't get lost in the night when you have to go to the toilet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I would definitely recommend camping for your trip to Uluru. All of the hotels are very expensive, and they simply are not worth the money. They are not luxury hotels that the price you pay would justify in larger cities.

The resort itself is run like a military operation. There are shuttle buses around the resort, it's shops and hotels. There are various excursions running all the time. It's very impressive.

There is a supermarket in the resort. Also, ten minutes walk from the campsite (which has a small shop) is a bottle shop and bar which sells chips, pizzas etc for a reasonable price.

Also, we booked the sunrise and cultural walk through AAT Kings. I would definitely recommend this. You are picked up at 4:30am, but are surprised with tea, coffee and biscuits in the national park just before sunrise. Our guide was excellent, and I learnt so much about the culture, flora and fauna. The drivers were also lovely and friendly, and all the staff were pro-active at offering to take photographs etc. Would definitely recommend the trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Uluru campground chalets are clean and comfortable, equipped with everything you need except toilet, but clean communal showers and toilets are situated close by. Visiting this fasinating beautiful area was a great experience. AAT Kings tours are extremely professional with friendly interesting guides. Don't walk round the rock base in 40°C without taking some sugary food with you, and of course lots of water. (I was on a real sugar low after 13kms, 11km round + 2kms to the cultural centre, but survived happily). There is a lot to see and do, our 3days were action packed and I didn't see everything I wanted to. King's Canyon is definitely worth the trip.The friendly staff at the campground organized everthing for us and we slept well in the air conditioned chalet, much cheaper than the hôtels and just as comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's like once upon a time, they TRIED to be awesome, but over the years, stopped giving a damn.
Everything was passable, but things were just generally dirty and worn. I feel if there were more competition in the area, maybe their standards would be higher, but it's Ayers Rock Resort or nothing sadly, and the campground is really lacking. Compared to other places we stayed in the Red Centre, the Ayers Rock Campground was definitely at the bottom of the list.

Having said that, we also visited the Pioneer Lodge or whatever it was (the outdoor bar), and that was pretty cool. Can't say much for the rest of the resort, didn't see much of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The staff were very helpful and the facilities were okay and well looked after. A swimming pool with shaded area for cooling off. The Pioneer Lodge Bar and eating area was not far away if you do not fancy cooking your own food. All in all a good place to camp if you are on a lower budget. Go for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.6 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
0.1 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.4 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayers Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayers Rock Campground

Property: Ayers Rock Campground
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayers Rock Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayers Rock Campground is located within Ayers Rock Resort on the edge of the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, a short 20min drive to Uluru. The campground features powered and non-powered sites for tents, caravans, campervans, motor homes and camper trailers and 2-bedroom air-conditioned cabins. There are kitchen facilities, BBQs, laundry, wireless internet, playground, swimming pool, volleyball court, giant chess and a store with basic supplies available at the Campground. At Ayers Rock Resort Town Square there's a supermarket, post office, bank, selection of stores, Tour and Information Centre and a variety restaurants and bars. The Resort also has a Petrol Station, Auto repairs and a free shuttle bus circulates the Resort. As a guest at the campground you can take part in the Free Indigenous Activities including cultural dance performance, guided garden walk, spear & boomerang throwing and Indigenous story telling experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayers Rock Campground Hotel Yulara
Ayers Rock Campground Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing