We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yulara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayers Rock Campground
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 11, 2008

I was hesitant at first to book a cabin at the campgrounds. But upon further research it seems like this is the best value for a group of 5 adults. We are all petite in size so the size of the beds was not a problem. It was a pleasant surprise for us since the cabin is clean and so are the facilities. We are only Uluru-Kata Tjuta area for 2 days so we were not in the cabin for long amounts of time.

  • Liked — Price (in comparison to others in the area)
  • Disliked — No toilet inside the cabin
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kait1yn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    268
    181
    69
    44
See reviews for
183
288
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Just returned from 3 nights at the Ayers Rock Campground, staying in Cabin 5. They are small, very small, but we were not in the cabin all day long. They have a bedroom w/double bed, kitchenette w/table and on other side of kitchenette 4 bunks in a separate bedroom Little patio w/table outside. No bathroom!

The community facilities are clean. The pool is nice and there is a pool table outside pool area. Nice pathways up the hill to view sunrise/sunset of the Rock.

For the $$$, it was worth it to be at Ayers. I would rather spend my money somewhere else. Also gave us the opportunity to cook for ourselves as eating out gets old.

Free resort shuttle comes into park so you don't have to drive around. Only goes thru the resort area, not out to the parks.

  • Liked — The location was good.
  • Disliked — No bathroom! Small fridge.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed in cabin 10 for 2 nights and loved it - like comfy camping! Didn`t mind having to use the shower/toilet block as just a stroll away and very clean and quiet. The cabin was dated but clean and with air-con - a necessity in Feb! Big enough for 2 but I wouldn`t like to share with 5 others! We used the spare room as a dumping ground so we didn`t have to unpack. Was great having the outdoor space - not even many flies although there were plenty at Uluru itself. The best option price-wise by far and felt more authentic than being in a hotel.

  • Liked — felt like you really were in the outback
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stayed for 1 night in a cabin which had 2 bedrooms (one double and 1 with two sets of bunkbeds) This was the cheapest option at $150 which is still quite expensive but there wasn't much other option. I suppose if there were 6 people it would be good value although would be very cramped. It was compeltely adequate for 2 people though. It had a tiny kitchen area but did the trick. I liked the picnic table area outside where we enjoyed a bootle of wine. The cabin was not ensuite but the toilet blocks were close by and very clean so no complaints there. We used a pool in the one of the other hotels in the resort and it was nice (can't remember which one, the most budget one I think). We ate a lunch in Geckos in the resort village which was nice and then did cook your own BBQ at night which was fun and reasonably good value. Uluru is so amazing and would advise anyone to go there and the campground is not so bad really.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I would echo the previous review, we too stayed in a cabin. Very battered and shoddy, AD $150 a night. This is good value though if there is a few of you.

The facilities and restaurants and the resort are average to say the least. Poor choice. Poor service. Poor quality.

Then again you have no choice if you want to be near the rock. So just take a deep breath...

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oatcake247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yulara hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We stayed in a campground cabin for 2 nights in August 2007. At AU$150/night this was the cheapest option apart from camping (and the permanent tents, which we didn't know about.) The cabins are semi-detached and the walls thin so you may have to put up with noisy
neighbours. There is one bedroom with a double bed and another with 4 bunk beds. Towels and toiletries are provided. The room with the bunk beds is tiny, I cannot imagine how it accommodates 4 people and their luggage! The living area (ie kitchen & dining table) was a bit grotty and battered, but the kitchen was well-equipped. The bathrooms are a short distance away, clean and with plenty of hot water. Our son enjoyed the playground nearby.

Beware, the Ayers Rock resort levies a 1% charge on credit card transactions. Make sure you bring enough cash, because when I reserved our cabin online I was not asked to pre-pay with a credit card.

We had dinner at Geckos one night - average food and shoddy service, with dinner served before our drinks arrived. On the second night we stayed home and cooked dinner in our cabin. The resort grocery store is very well-stocked and prices were more reasonable than expected. However, iIf you plan to enjoy a bottle of wine with your dinner, alcohol can only be purchased at the Outback Grill 'bottle shop' which charges restaurant prices for a take-away bottle of wine.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank blyvoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

The person who talked of permanent tents is right. The best price around and wonderful large tent on wood floor with two single beds and a covered patio. I am grateful for the tip. it is the cheapest option without having to bring your own tent and sleeping bags. However, that person was incorrect about heat/AC. There is none just nice breezes and freezing cold freezing temps in winter, but plenty of blankets and a hot water bottle.There is a store and a laundry right nearby. The store can give you hot water and use of the microwave and even toast. It is also close to a viewing hill for ILURU. The stop on the free bus from the airport is Campground.on the circle that all the expensive hotels and visitor center are on and pickup for tours is right at the store..

  • Liked — The best cheapest
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dylans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.6 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.4 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayers Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayers Rock Campground

Property: Ayers Rock Campground
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayers Rock Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayers Rock Campground is located within Ayers Rock Resort on the edge of the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, a short 20min drive to Uluru. The campground features powered and non-powered sites for tents, caravans, campervans, motor homes and camper trailers and 2-bedroom air-conditioned cabins. There are kitchen facilities, BBQs, laundry, wireless internet, playground, swimming pool, volleyball court, giant chess and a store with basic supplies available at the Campground. At Ayers Rock Resort Town Square there's a supermarket, post office, bank, selection of stores, Tour and Information Centre and a variety restaurants and bars. The Resort also has a Petrol Station, Auto repairs and a free shuttle bus circulates the Resort. As a guest at the campground you can take part in the Free Indigenous Activities including cultural dance performance, guided garden walk, spear & boomerang throwing and Indigenous story telling experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayers Rock Campground Hotel Yulara
Ayers Rock Campground Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing