We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good value because hotels are so expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yulara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayers Rock Campground
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Only good value because hotels are so expensive”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Ummm... what can I say, we decided to stay at the campground as we were trying to keep costs down and the hotels all seemed over-priced.

Having stayed in all types of accomodation in my lifetime, I thought that the cabins were ok but have some issues:-

Noise - we were kept awake by the neighbours who were in full party mode as the walls are paper thin. I like a drink myself but in a campground you have to think about other residents!

Smell - the cabin we had smelt of old food / cooking smells which was a bit unpleasant.

The insects are a bit of a challenge now and again...take some Raid for your cabin

On the positive side, they have air-con fitted which is a blessing in the midday heat, its not fierce but its adequate and means the bed room isn't too hot at night. The pool area was fine, with spaces even though it was busy and we could also use the Outback Pioneer pool if we wanted.

Bathroom facilities were clean if a bit basic but you are camping at the end of the day.

We ate at the Outback Pioneer both nights, the atmosphere was good and the food seemed to be priced fairly compared to other resort restaurants. We had a lunch in the Gecko Cafe, having started off outside the flies proved too much so we had to go inside.

There is a bit of a standing joke about the flies in the outback....you just have to grit your teeth and get on with it!

Of course the whole point of this is to see Uluru which was majestic and that is what I shall remember from this portion of my trip

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    268
    181
    69
    44
See reviews for
183
288
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I could tell you not to stay here, but they have a monopoly, so you have no choice. And that is exactly why the place is so bad. We have our own caravan and stayed in teh campground. I don't think they have done one bit of maintenance on the place since it opened. I left a note for the cleaners because there was a broken shower in the disabled shower room in the amenities block that was constantly running. It was not just dripping - it was running full on. I thought that obviously they had not noticed it since it had been running the whole time we had been there - ie at least 4 days! But when we got back that afternoon they had just removed my note and locked the door. The shower was still running! It was still running when we left 2 days later.

Also there are birds nest above two of the shower cubicles and so there is always bird poop on the floor of those showers. I walked into the toilets 5 mins after they had "cleaned" them one morning. They had not scrubbed the toilets at all - they had just poured some chemical into them. And the laundry tub was full of sand and dirt - they had not cleaned it at all. The whole place looks run down and grungy, even the other "resort" areas - ie the more expensive motels and apartments. It seems the owners just want to take your money and do absolutely nothing for it. And they know that you have no choice - this is the only place you can stay near the Rock so they have a monopoly.


Read more: http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/travln/1/1320330273/tpod.html#ixzz1eWhFEKWd

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVLN-KAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yulara hotels

UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which did the job just about but was pretty tatty and tired. No toilet meant a long walk in the night to the communal block with the children which was a bit of a pain - so much like camping really, and given the price, a loo would have been nice.
Staff were friendly though and the stunning place that is Uluru and the outback/desert meant that it really didn't matter about where we slept, it was certainly preferable to the eye watering prices elsewhere in the resort area.
The kids did appreciate the pool , we used this every day. Watch out for Ayres Rock area in general, everywhere pulls the little "we charge 1% for using credit cards - or if you are English debit cards too" - which is annoying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiesnpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changes Daily
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Recent price increases (April 2011) at the campground now make it an unattractive location for single travelers. You can spend $41 a night for a powered site, or $38 at the back packers and get power with lights, and a bed. If you want to camp, head out of town into the dunes. Its just not affordable to camp here any more.

Room Tip: If you want to camp... Free camp somewhere out of the way. Dont bother with the camp ground anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Homer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I visited Uluru recently and after checking all the accommodation options I decided to go for a cabin in the campground as I was not prepared to pay the rip off prices for the hotels on offer. To my surprise the cabin was not bad at all, quite clean and comfortable. The shower facilities and toilets were in a separate block and were also quite clean, considering how many people use it. Still, the price the resort charges for the cabins is the same I paid for a nice hotel in central Sydney.
Unlike previous reviewers, I did not have any problems with spiders, flies, etc.
I did not expect a 5-star accommodation and was actually quite pleasantly surprised. I do not plan to visit Uluru again but if I was I would stay here again.
Overpriced? Yes. But considering the choice, this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The campground is not cheap, but it has excellent facilities including a pool.
Get in early to get a nice spot away from crowds and families.
Check the website for pricing as prices often change.

This is the closest place to camp to Uluru.

Camp kitchen is excellent. No camp fires are allowed. Lots of great facilities.

Sites are on hard ground, some grass around. Very open areas.

Room Tip: Get in early to pick your site, or around 10am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I would not recommend this camp ground or the people who run it as they cancelled our booking.The issue arose due to the requirement to provide credit card details via email ( unsecured ) are you kiiding me !!!.they did confirm that we had a booking via mail and would hld the booking.so when we had flow 3 hrs to find out our accomodation had been cancelled.not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.6 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.4 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayers Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayers Rock Campground

Property: Ayers Rock Campground
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayers Rock Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayers Rock Campground is located within Ayers Rock Resort on the edge of the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, a short 20min drive to Uluru. The campground features powered and non-powered sites for tents, caravans, campervans, motor homes and camper trailers and 2-bedroom air-conditioned cabins. There are kitchen facilities, BBQs, laundry, wireless internet, playground, swimming pool, volleyball court, giant chess and a store with basic supplies available at the Campground. At Ayers Rock Resort Town Square there's a supermarket, post office, bank, selection of stores, Tour and Information Centre and a variety restaurants and bars. The Resort also has a Petrol Station, Auto repairs and a free shuttle bus circulates the Resort. As a guest at the campground you can take part in the Free Indigenous Activities including cultural dance performance, guided garden walk, spear & boomerang throwing and Indigenous story telling experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayers Rock Campground Hotel Yulara
Ayers Rock Campground Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing