We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$374
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/22
Destinia.com
$362
View deal
CheapTickets$374
Travelocity$374
Trip.com$376
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,573)
Filter reviews
4,573 results
Traveler rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room ayers rock dinner buffet superior room ilkari restaurant lobby bar sounds of silence dinner tali wiru red centre public areas room was large main restaurant town centre remote location kata tjuta hired a car sunrise tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 4,573 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

Overall we had a lovely stay at Sails. The hotel was comfortable, the room was spacious and we had a large balcony. The bathroom was tired compared to the rest of it. It is incredibly overpriced for what you’re getting, but so are all the options in Yulara.

Breakfast was included, and the buffet selection was great. If you can get it included relatively cheaply, I’d do it. You can pretty much manage to avoid lunch and might save you in the long run. Our waitress each morning, Taeko, was so genuinely friendly. A great start to our day.

We had dinner and a late lunch at Walpa Bar during our stay and it was good, and not too expensive. Though I think it would be better if the menu changed a bit. Our waiter, Warren, was lovely.

Sails is pretty central to Town Square, we ended up walking everywhere and not utilising the free shuttle. But the shuttle is an easy option for getting around Yulara in the heat. The free transfers to and from the airport were easy, it’s only about 10 mins away and buses are waiting for you as the plane arrives. It’s a well oiled machine.

Also, I was thankful that the laundry was free to use, my clothes were filthy from all the red dust and they dried almost instantly in the heat!

I think just setting your expectations that things are roughly 30% more expensive than the big cities, will help you adjust. And you’re definitely there to see the Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park, rather than the resorts.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank love_weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Hi love_weekenders
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.
Our truly remote desert location does indeed mean a greater investment to visit us than hotels in metro areas given the cost of supply chain transport however it is our goal to provide the best value possible and we hope that in addition to the shuttle services you were also able to experience a number of the free cultural guest activities on offer throughout the resort.
It was certainly our pleasure to have you as guests and we further thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

This was a lovely place to stay, although for the price, which was pricey, the bathroom was definitely tired, but the room was fine, clean and spacious. It was close to everything and the staff were really lovely.
The pool area was great for families and the places to eat were defiantly well located. We had the buffet dinner and were blown away with the amount and quality of the food, it was really nice and definitely recommend to anyone for $75 a head.
Overall this is a nice place to stay. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
4  Thank TJM682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

Took the opportunity to stay here as a Birthday celebration to see Uluru and the Field of Light. Have always wanted to stay here so was able to combine all these experiences. Our stay was exceptional. This is a very professionally run hotel. You won’t find a better breakfast buffet anywhere!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank dac6054
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Hi dac6054
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Sails in the Desert. We are honoured that you chose our destination to celebrate your birthday and it was certainly our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019

We spent two nights at Sails in the Desert during our trip to Uluru. The rooms are good, clean, and quiet. The staff is warm and friendly. Since you are out in the middle of nowhere, they have you captive, and they know it--everything is significantly more expensive than it should be.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Hi Max G
Thank your for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We do appreciate that it is an investment to visit our destination however it may be of interest to know that the operational costs of supply chain transport to a remote resort like ours is significantly higher than that of hotels based near major cities. As an example, twice a week, three fully loaded road trains make the 1,663-kilometre trip along the Stuart and Lasseter Highways from Adelaide to Yulara in order to supply the Resort with all food and materials.
Additionally, Ayers Rock Resort is owned by the Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation and one of our key responsibilities is to promote and sustain eco-tourism, protecting pristine sites for many years to come. Ayers Rock Resort works collaboratively with the local community to assist them to exercise sustainable environmental tourism practices, respecting and supporting the local culture and offering employment and training opportunities to the local and broader Australian and Torres-Strait Islander Indigenous communities. We wish to reassure you that profits from all business activities are directly and indirectly re-invested in the Indigenous and resort experiences and through the various training and development programs in place around Australia.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we thank you for choosing to visit this beautiful part of Australia.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

First the negative-The walk to the room. We stayed in a room almost opposite of the lobby back by the back entrance for resort staff access road. It was a legitimate five minute walk from the lobby to room, and that was once we knew where we were going. A place that is this sprawling, there should be a staff member to show you to your room. The signage was not very good either.
Also think we paid around $450 USD a night for what was really an upper 3 star or lower 4 star hotel, but given the location, it is a bit more understandable.

Now for the positives
Our room was pretty nice-Very large, some of the decor is dated, but everything was very clean and ran well. Beds were comfortable, pillows weren't very good would be the only complaint.
Staff was friendly and we had no issues there. Restaurant staff was excellent while desk staff was pretty good.
Grounds were pretty well kept and nice. We didn't get to use the pool because when we went it just was not warm enough outside.
Location is a bit unorthodox to judge since it is one of only a handful of hotels in the area. But it is where you need to be if you want to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta.
Overall I'm glad we stayed at Sails vs. the other more budget options (not counting the $1k a night place).

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoKnights14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews