We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When you consider just how far the resort is from anywhere: you have to appreciate the premises, staff and food. We ate in the restaurant on more than one occasion and it was very good. Our room was a terrace and overlooked the rock and resort. All very comfortable with a degree of seclusion in comparison to the other facilities.if going to Yulara this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Terrace but away from staff access points or laundry
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,161)
There are newer reviews for Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 3,162 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a really good hotel. It’s clean and efficient. The staff is very good and they did help me a lot during my stay. The hotel is nicely situated close to Ayers Rock and you can see it from the roof of the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Service was very bad, not many options, would have been better off hiring an RV and cooking our own food, we would have got service. I am not the roughing kind, but i think it would have been entertaining, and not frustrating, did not enjoy any of the restaurant facilities at the Voyages Resorts, forgot food, when it came out it was cold. No Service, No Service . . . I am still confused. Was it a dream??? No Nightmare. What resort does not have a fitness centre. I think the whole business is full of apprentices? No Management anywhere.

Room Tip: Hmmmm . . not sure what to say. Stay in an RV, Camping . . .
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hunter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here but it was spoiled at the end by being overcharged on incorrect items on our bill. These included being charged for 3 dinners for 2 people on the same night, being charged for a bottle of wine when we never drank a bottle, and a photo on a tour we didn't even go on. How can that even happen? In relation to the gluten free food advertised for breakfast, all that was provided gf was white gluten free bread. And when I asked I was basically told sorry they couldn't tell me if something was gluten free. I can understand but get rather tired of being charged full price then have to eat a very limited range. With all the lovely cakes and pastries on display, couldn't one gf cake be available on request?
I must say the gardens were outstanding with a variety of native plants on display. And it was great to see the artistic decoration of the rooms in local colours and style. We stayed here twice on the same trip, in the superior room and the terrace room. Both were very comfortable and I would recommend to stay in the superior room rather than pay extra for the terrace room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms were lovely. I recommend there's no need to pay extra for a terrace room. The...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batwoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a small group tour. The greeting of a drink and a warm towel was most impressive. Our ground floor room overlooked the garden and pool and was large and comfortable and lived up to the five star reputation. I cannot comment on the price as it was part of a package deal but it is certainly a very classy and comfortable hotel. The only criticism I have is that some of us had to wait a long time for the evening meal to be served and when it arrived it was cold. The breakfast selection was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I took advantage of the stay 5 nights pay for 3 deal at Sails in the Desert. Received a warm washcloth and refreshing drink on arrival plus Manta magazine and some flyers. Was allocated a superior room on the third floor. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Their "Ahh" beds are just that - Ahh - perfect to sleep in. Air conditioner worked very well. Their bathrobes and towels were super soft. Had the buffet breakfast and dinner buffet which has a good selection of hot and cold foods. They do great cappuccinos and the cheesecake is to die for. It was too cold to use the pool. Sails is an easy walk to the Town Centre where you can find the visitors centre, an IGA supermarket (prices reasonable), the Indigenous Art Markets, Australia Post, the ANZ Bank, and several shops. No need to buy a flynet to wear as there were hardly any flies during my whole stay in the Uluru area. There is also the free Resort Shuttle Bus which is worth taking around the whole resort area to get your bearings. I'd stay at Sails in the Desert again with the same deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Sails in the Desert in a terrace room which included breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean while the terrace added a feeling of space. Breakfast at the dining room was excellent and freshly cooked eggs to your style and liking are available along with a great buffet. Although service was mostly quite good I think it would be fair to say the hotel is more four star and a little too pricey for that level. Having the town centre so close was very handy for some free entertainment and the shops. I would recommend using Uluru express to take you in to the national park for a base walk at your own pace. The desert awakenings tour was also very good. As for the sounds of silence....I'll just say better options are available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third level are a better choice than the ground floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0GG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.7 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $214 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails In The Desert Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Sails In The Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing