We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,493)
Filter reviews
3,493 results
Traveler rating
1,179
1,352
647
199
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
1,352
647
199
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace roomayers rockdinner buffetilkari restaurantlobby barsuperior roomsounds of silence dinnertali wirured centrepublic areasroom was largetown centreremote locationkata tjutasunrise tourcamel ridevisiting uluru
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,278 - 2,283 of 3,493 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a beautiful sight Uluru and Kata Tjuta are.
We had a amazing stay at Sails in the Desert. The highlight of our stay was the Tali Wiru dinner experience...amazing!!! The food and matched wines were perfect, the night sky and stars are out of this world and our hosts and indigenous guide were fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmyNkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Stunning inside and out. Grounds are just beautiful. Service and dining also fantastic. You are met upon arrival with a hot cloth and drink of apple juice which is really refreshing after a long trip.

Room Tip: All rooms were pretty amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miscalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We are travelling from central australia to darwin so this was our first experience in the outback. The buffet dinner and breakfast were really good and the rooms were large and clean inside, but we had issues in the room and we called reception twice and were told that maintenance would be up shortly and they never showed. This was disappointing. But apart from that which was annoying we still enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggielou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great stay, comfy bed, trendy room, lovely pool, friendly staff, parking was easy, help desk was helpful, star gazing tour was really interesting - Staying at Sails was well worth the money! I would recommend it for people of all ages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Rooms were nice, staff were excellent, but definitely wouldn't consider this a 5 star hotel. Not worth the price at all. Pool area and day beds and most of the outdoor areas a bit run down. Rooms nice enough, but again definitely not 5 star on an international level. Internet incredibly expensive, especially as these days most hotels offer free wifi in all rooms.

Room Tip: Any room without a balcony (ie on ground floor) not worth it. You have to stay inside with curtains drawn or be right there on full view of everyone walking past
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear leigh191,
Thankyou for your review.
I am to glad read you thought the rooms were nice our staff were excellent. Pricing in this location is greatly impacted by our isolation. We regularly review pricing of properties in similar locations to ensure we are in line with market expectation. We do offer free WIFI in public areas.
Again thankyou for your feedback and all the best with your future travels.
Best Regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews