We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but resort is tired and service was lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room but resort is tired and service was lacking”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Sails resort at the end of November. I was pleasantly surprised by our room which was large and tastefully appointed, however the rest of the resort is a bit tired looking. The swimming pool area was a bit of a disappointment too.
We ate at the pool bar a couple of times and the food was quite nice but unfortunately I couldn't say the same for the restaurant in the resort's town centre - I don't think I've ever had such a bad pizza!
On the full day we had at the hotel we left our room first thing so that we could see Uluru at sunrise and then do the base walk whilst it wasn't too hot. We returned at about 11am and put the "do not disturb" sign on our door so we could have a nap. We left the room again at 1pm and didn't return again until after 4pm so we were surprised to find that the room hadn't been cleaned. Perhaps it was our fault for putting the sign on the door but it was only for two hours out of the whole day so it was a little disappointing.
Service on the whole was fine but I did think that the staff on reception could have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear annacathryn,
Thankyou for writing a review on you recent stay at Sails in the Desert.
I am happy to see that you were pleasantly surprised by your room and found the overall all service satisfactory.
To read of your disappointments with the pool area and Geckos café is concerning and I will address your comments with the appropriate managers to ensure we improve where possible.
Our procedure for do not disturb rooms is to leave a card in the door stating the room was attended while the sign was out and if a service is required to call guest services to organize this. I will speak to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this procedure is being adhered to. Thank you again for the feedback and safe travels.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    1,178
    580
    180
    102
See reviews for
650
1,583
123
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. the hotel is located in the resort area which is the only place for hotels. Now people do not feel competition and they are not trained to please customers. Some do, because of their nature but not by design. One of the staff turned her back on me at the reception and when she came back she was surprised that I was still there waiting to complete my requests. She then proceed to "make" my dinner reservations. She actually did not. The good thing is that the other staff at the restaurant recognizing the embarrassment when we arrived for dinner proceed and gave us a table. Checkout time is 10am but if you arrive from Cairns you may be there for four hours waiting. They told us they will call us if we had an australian celular. for the 400aud a night we are paying they could afford an SMS.

Room Tip: If you arriving earlier from Cairns make sure you have an ealy check-in available otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear rjfm1958,
Thankyou for your review.
I would like to express my sincere apologies for the poor customer service you received at our reception desk and assure you this is not a reflection of our usual standard of service. At Sails in the Desert we pride ourselves on our friendly and professional service and I will be sure to follow your comments up with the reception team to ensure this does not occur again.
We call our guests who are waiting for rooms instead of using an SMS system as we believe personal interaction is pivotal in the customer service experience. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent my christmas holiday at Sails in the Desert Rock Resort. Rooms are amazing, clean, modern, very comfortable, love the TV and great reception, balcony .... A blessing, nice, green and clean. Could do with a bit more activities or a games room, but overall very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

General observation: Uluru (the PC name for Ayres Rock) is beautiful (see pic) but it is also a total tourist trap. THOUSANDS of people fly in, take massive guided coach buses to the rock, have dinners under the stars, sunrises at the rock, etc. Overall this might as well be a Disney resort. That said, the Rock (and the "Olgas") are beautiful, and Sails in the Desert Hotel is quite fine for a tourist resort. You want to see the Rock, so you might as well go, but do not spend more than 1 night out here no matter where you book your hotel. The Sails hotel is VERY expensive though... $37 each for a very mediocre breakfast buffet was hugely disappointing, for example.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear jc,
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad to see that you found Sails in the Desert to be a fine hotel, however it is disappointing to see that the resort overall has not met your expectations. At Ayers Rock Resort we strive to give all guests a magical and unique experience and to see that you compared your experience to a Disney resort is concerning.
The buffet breakfast at Ilkari restaurant is regularly praised for the diverse menu choices and I apologize that you were disappointed and found it mediocre.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

can understand some of the mixed reviews on TA regarding this hotel - we stayed for 2 days last week - but in the end of the day you are staying to be 15 mins from Ayers Rock
yes parts are tired and in need of being overhauled but the rooms were fine and the main dining areas and reception have certainly been attended to recently and upgraded. Overall the staff v attentive to issues when raised - we had rain and a small roof leak developed in the bathroom but no big deal in the end.
restaurant was good if overpriced however the bar did meals which were much better.
Overall well worth the stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamispice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our flight to Sydney from Ayers rock has cancelled. Jetstar arranged all the passengers a free accommodation at The Sails for a night. It's a very nice hotel, with spacious room , friendly staffs and great service.
I left my jacket at the lobby when I checked out the next morning. When I called from the airport, they acted quickly. They looked for it and brought it back to me just before the flight departed. I appreciated such great service very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Were weren't aware of the number of different options available for accommodation at Yulara, and looking at the other options, this would have been the top of the range I would think. The rooms were quite large I believe, and looked like they may have been refitted within the past 12 months or so. Our room unfortunately looked over the road at the back but did also take in the natural scrub not to far aware, which was nice at night. As we found that we spent very little time in our room anyway, the view was really of little consequence. But the pool area was quite nice but could have done with a little more shade The room was air conditioned, but we would have much preferred the option of having the balcony door open with a ceiling fan. But unfortunately, the screen doors were very poor quality, and with the number of bugs around, leaving the door open was never going to be an option. There wasn't a ceiling fan anyway, so consequently we had to put up with hotel dry mouth syndrome. The resort as a whole was quite clean, the restaurants and bars were very nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A nice place to base all your exploring from. Just remember too, you don't need to use the expensive tour companies to see the sights, there are other means of transport if you just wanted to go to the rock or the olgas. We also used the Uluru Express service.

Room Tip: Its nice to have a room overlooking the pool, but just remember, you don't spend much time in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.7 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails In The Desert Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Sails In The Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing