We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,493)
Filter reviews
3,493 results
Traveler rating
1,179
1,352
647
199
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
1,352
647
199
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace roomayers rockdinner buffetilkari restaurantlobby barsuperior roomsounds of silence dinnertali wirured centrepublic areasroom was largetown centreremote locationkata tjutasunrise tourcamel ridevisiting uluru
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,454 - 2,459 of 3,493 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A recent refurbishment has improved this hotel immensely. This is our third visit in six years. We found the new and artistically tasteful furnishings, including carpets based on motifs from Australian artists - both indigenous and non-indigenous - very good indeed. There were a couple of niggles. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped, with slippers and dressing gowns supplied. But a hotel of this standard should supply a range of pillows, so that people who prefer flatter pillows have a choice. The friendly staff did eventually find us a couple of softer pillows, and we were grateful for that. Also, the bathroom double sink unit in our ensuite was quite deep, so it was hard to shave or put on makeup with the mirror so far away, A small shaving mirror on the wall would be a real asset, as would a mirror somewhere else in the room. The grounds are pleasant, but the way the nice pool has been fenced off (for child safety) has spoiled, in our view, what used to be a very relaxing pool-side bar area.

Room Tip: Some of the top floor rooms have good views of Uluru
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstMagistrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This a really beautiful, modern, high-end resort. Incredibly professional staff, immaculately furnished and spacious rooms, and excellent restaurants (including a top-notch breakfast buffet). It's not cheap, but as far as I could tell, if you want to visit Uluru, your options are one of these hotels, or camping. We selected Sails in the Desert based mostly on availability and we were more than happy with our choice. Worth mentioning: they have washers & dryers which are free for guest use! PS Some good advice if you're visiting Ulura and Kata Tjuta is to definitely rent a car so you can visit the various sites on your own and not be restricted to a bus tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay - an oasis. Everything we needed was found here - great accommodation, great food, yummy cocktails. Lots of friendly staff on hand to answer any questions about the surrounding areas. Will return with the whole family.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are well worth the extra few dollars.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a family of five and absolutely loved it. After travelling around NT this was a great way to end(reluctantly) our holiday. The rooms were great, food was fantastic and the staff were awesome. We loved the cultural activities that were on and it was great for the kids to be involved.You should be proud of what you offer considering the remoteness of everything. A truly wonderful holiday spot.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the pool and it was so quiet and private but still close to everything
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Travelled 4-7 October 2013. Two adults one teenager. Our room was a good size, large balcony with two sun lounges. Air conditioning was lovely and cool, sheets on bed were crisp and clean. During the heat of the day we laid by the pool under the shade of trees. Not enough pool chairs. The pool has a fence around it which we felt we were in someone's backyard swimming pool. . First 5 star hotel with pool fencing. A cocktail around the pool was $20. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot review the restaurant.

Its a short stroll to the local market place, very small. At the IGA we purchased drinks, fresh rolls and ready made sandwiches, breakfast cereal, yoghurt. There are two cafes as well. We ate at Ghekos one night they served pizzas, salads, soup etc.

The first night we attended sounds of silence. A bus collects you from your hotel around 6pm and returns around 10pm. It gets very cold. Wear enclosed shoes and take a jacket.

Our two best activities were climbing Uluru. It is much steeper than I thought but children to 70 year olds were doing it. Secondly our helicopter ride for 30min at sunset. Fantastic.

Plan your days walks around sunrise and very late in the afternoon as the burning sun will dehydrate you.

Sails in the desert is the best on offer. Is it a 5 star and worth the money? No. It is a 4 star hotel with 5 star prices. Well done to the builders who constructed this resort in those high temperatures.

Note: Organise car hire prior to arrival. Save so much money driving yourself around, the roads are flat and sign posted.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydneytraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews