We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Best of the area”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Sails is the best of the hotels built around Uluru, or Ayres Rock. Staff is eager and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. Pool and surrounding areas are marvelous. Breakfast was fine. Dinner service delightful but painfully slow. This is a transient tourist stop so there is a lot of movement which the hotel handles quite well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    997
    515
    159
    92
See reviews for
551
1,336
106
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent four nights at Sails in the Desert late in September 2013. We were very impressed with the entire resort and would not hesitate to recommend it. We had a room with two queen beds. It was spacious, well appointed and modern, and comfortably slept the four of us. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and these were amongst the best beds I have come across. The resort offers a lot of activities and we split our time about 50/50 between the free activities and paid ones. Our kids (5 & 7) particularly enjoyed the indigenous dancing and spear/boomerang throwing. The guys that run this do an outstanding job especially if the kids interact with them. The food and paid activities are expensive, but the place is a long way from anywhere so we were expecting that. Some of the staff are obviously being trained, but that was also one of the things we were expecting, and we found all of the staff looking to go out of their way to help.

It's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0St351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to the NT. We had read many Trip Advisor reports prior to booking and were to say the least a little apprehensive . We arrived around one o'clock and had to wait until close to three to get to our room. Sadly the lift was out of order so I had to lug suit cases up a flight of stairs...a true 5 star would have had staff to assist.. The room was ok but why provide 2 double beds rather than one King size is beyond me. This was a special occasion ( wedding anniversary ) anyway the room was clean and comfortable with a good size bathroom. As with all other Trip Advisor bloggers, I felt the prices charged were exorbitant at over $1000 for three nights for room only..no breakfast included.. And to top it all off they demand 1.5% credit card charges. I'm sure their negotiated rate with Amex etc is less than 1.5%.
It would appear that ALL accommodation at Yulara is operated by the same company so they can and do charge whatever they like and it's something you just have to except that you will pay above premium prices if you go to The Rock.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Xlcobra

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay with us at Sails in the Desert Hotel did not meet your expectations and for the lift not working on the day of your arrival. You should have been assisted with your bags and I am very sorry this did not happen. We will review our procedure and make the necessary correction for this not to be repeated.

Our isolated location does have a small baring on our price structure however we do endeavour to keep our pricing in line with our remote resorts across Australia.

Please know that we take such feedback constructively as it enables us to improve our product for the future.

Kindest Regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sails is a great place to set your family up: we rented 2 adjoining rooms towards the back of the resort near the tennis courts. It was a bit of a hike, tho we appreciated the quiet away from the pool and main entrance. Food was fantastic at the restaurant - was appreciative of the discounts offered to kids, and enough choice for fussy kids. The menu changes daily, which suited us as we were there for quite a while. Rooms were fantastic - extremely large beds, comfortable couches and chaise to relax in after a long day. The staff were helpful. Only downside was a really lengthy wait to be served at the Lobby Bar on the day we checked out. They seemed to be extremely understaffed, and we waited over 30mins to just order coffee. This was only a minor hiccup, however if you are paying $$$ to stay at the top resort at Yullara, you do expect a certain level of service. If you can spare the $$, treat yourself to the Wali Tiru exclusive dinner - it was a highlight for my husband and I. We organised a babysitter through the hotel, and had an AMAZING dinner! All round, great location to stay.

Room Tip: If you have a room near the tennis court, it may be a distance from the foyer, but it is closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sails is geared towards a high turnover of guests, including business conferences, and we felt that our small family booking was of little importance. I had made a specific request for a room, and that allocated (after several hours of waiting) was unacceptable. The reception staff basically said 'tough', and it was only when the Customer Service Manager (Jamil?) got involved, that the issue was sorted to our satisfaction. He was very helpful.

On the whole, the staff were good, and also had interesting backgrounds themselves. The rooms were comfortable, and the main entrance to the hotel was very attractive.

As a family, our overall feeling was that we are glad we visited, but would have probably chosen to stay just one night rather than two.

We took the Desert Awakenings tour which was OK, and Tali Wiru which was fantastic.

Although much of the stay was focused on the aboriginal story, we saw little evidence of 'real' people, other than the artist in the town square.

I am aware that this review covers our overall experience, rather than just the hotel, but it is difficult to divorce the two in this 'resort' type of setting.

Room Tip: Be aware that the First Floor rooms are on a level with the desert, not one storey up as you would e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear fairyjay

Thank you for your review.

I would firstly like to apologies for the unacceptable time it took for your room to be allocated to needs.

I am so pleased to hear that despite your original issues regarding the allocation of your room our staff were able to help to your satisfaction. Although Sails in the Desert does cater to a lot of large groups and conferences all our guests including small families are equally important to us and I would like to express my sincerest apologies that you did not feel this while you were here.

Please note that your feedback has been discussed in our hotel management meeting, to ensure we meet our guests’ expectations and provide all guests with a truly memorable stay.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a fantastic time visiting the centre of our country. Sails was much better than I expected. The staff were lovely with a friendly air, which aids the holiday experience. Buffet Breakfast was included and was fantastic giving you cooked to order eggs and cappuccinos. Terrace room was wonderful, the only downside being the lack of clear demarcation between balconies and the placement next to a smoker. It was fantastic having the easily accessible IGA, it really helped, particularly as you could buy fruit and drinks and other snacks for during the day, very helpful when you have kids. Someone on the plane going up said to hire a car. That was a good tip as I was just going to do tours. It gave so much more flexibility and you can drive around the rock which I hadn't realised. It also meant you could just go back to the hotel when you wanted to, which was helpful as it gets very hot, so you can just shoot back to the hotel and go back for a swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails In The Desert Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Sails In The Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing