We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patchy, renovated rooms but pool not heated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for work meeting.
Rooms recently renovated although shower fairly basic. Restaurant food good but patchy service, some local staff trying very hard and friendly but backpacker-type staff members fairly disinterested.
While plenty of walking to see Rock available if you wanted to do exercise on-site, swimming pool heating not working and no gym. Therefore 3 stars only. Sense that they are trading off their location but they should realise that competing in domestic/meetings market .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear JstcaMelbourne,

it is disappointing to understand that you weren’t satisfied with our facilities and you are indeed correct that there was an unexpected maintenance issue with the pool heating during your stay which has been fixed and the pool is up to 25ºC again. My apology that this wasn’t the case during your visit. A gym has so far not been added as the main reason is indeed our location and only very few requests for this have come through so far. I do however realise that this is becoming an ever more important facility and will be proposing this in our next facilities review.
You are certainly correct that there is quite a variety of staff members out here and the turnover is rather high which should be though not visible to any guest and I will look at our training plans to see what improvements can be done to avoid this in future.

Best regards,

Andrea Nestle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,358 - 2,364 of 3,339 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a fantastic three nights at Sails in late July. We booked a superior room via wotif.com and were upgraded to a terrace room so, from my perspective, that was awesome customer service from the start! As far as the building and services, while Sails is not Sydney's Sheraton in the Park, I think they've done the best they can with an older building and I found it comfortable and a very pleasant place to relax after hiking. The room had clearly been upgraded and was well-maintained.

For meals, we went to the IGA and bought breakfast, lunch and snack provisions for three days and ate dinner out three night -- the noodle bar, Gecko Cafe and Mayu at Sails. Mayu isn't listed on Trip Advisor so I'll review that one here. We had an amazing meal there on Fri night. It's a room off the main restaurant, seating maybe 20-30 people. The food was perfect -- beautiful flavour combinations perfectly cooked. We paid $200 for 2x entrees, 2x mains, 1 dessert and a bottle of red wine. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustHaveSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The issue always when a spot is isolated is that staff turn over a great deal and this certainly does not help with the service. This was obvious from the minute we arrived at the hotel. We had a lovely time here but it is certainly not as magnificent as it is made out to be. The rooms are okay but the bathrooms are old and shabby. The restaurants are average and there is not a lot of others to choose from. Still this is a must go to destination once in your lifetime so little choice. Still very happy I went.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear janwholeboxndice

Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased to hear that despite your disappointment regarding the service, the limited number of restaurants and the condition of the bathrooms, you were happy that you visited.

Because of its isolation, the staff turnover is higher than average. Despite this setback, we continuously strive to train staff to deliver a quality service.

Please note that your feedback has been discussed in our hotel management meetings, to ensure we meet our guests’ expectations.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights, in two rooms (one room for kids, one for adults). The hotel is a bit older and while there is some evidence of its age it is overall in good shape.

Beds were comfortable although not so much the pillows. Water pressure was fine.

The pool area is lovely and the service at the pool bar/restaurant was good. We enjoyed lunch there one day. It was winter so the pool water was on the cold side.

The restaurant was surprisingly good for this sort of place - we had both breakfast and dinner there and were pleased.

It's a short walk to the little village and we arranged tours in advance. We really liked the SEIT sunrise and base walk - small group, great guide. The AAT Kings Kata Tjuta tour was also good but I would have preferred to do the full circuit hike with a smaller group.

We also did Sounds of Silence which was a good experience. Expensive, but really unique.

Overall we felt like 2 nights was plenty of time. I think if we hadn't gone to Uluru while in Australia we would have kicked ourselves for skipping it - but we don't feel like we need to do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My stay at sails in the desert was amazing I would like to personally thank 3 staff there names were taila, wiggy and trevayne that there were all amazing all more than willing to help me and go out of there way to be informative

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rwl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was at this hotel with my wife for my honeymoon

So if you want to stay in Yulara - you don't have that much choice - all the accommodation options are owned by the same company. You just get to choose between the different branding levels available.

The hotel is nice enough. The price is expensive though - but it's not like you have a choice between the different hotels - the cheaper options are not very nice and the nicer options are much more expensive. All in all it's poor value for money.

At the end of the day my advice is just avoid Ayers Rock as a destination. It's boring, hot and there isn't a whole lot to do. Spend your money better and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyD113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear JimmyD113

Thank you for your review.

Ayers Rock Resort is the gateway for travellers to explore the iconic Uluru and majestic Kata Tjuta and is a place where travelers from across the world come to experience its uniqueness.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for your disappointment with your stay. We endeavour to not only encapsulate a sense of place at Sails in the Desert Hotel but to provide our guest with a memorable stay. To understand that in your case we have not realised this is saddening.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest Regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sails, does it very well. it overcomes isolation, older infrastructure and varying qualities of service to be a very good place to stay in one of those completely unique locations.
a "Rock view" room is worth it. the ambiance and set up cannot be beaten. the service is a uneven, but if you are expecting Singapore/Hong Kong/Manila levels of service visit those places - none of them will have the central Australian experience tho'.
the food is well above average and the rooms all one could wish for. Just do it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank AOW-Canuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.7 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $263 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails In The Desert Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Sails In The Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing