We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outback and Pioneer are the keywords!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Timaru
Level Contributor
551 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Outback and Pioneer are the keywords!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

When you see these two words together, you would expect the facility to be basic and spartan. It would be inappropriate for me to review on facilities that I have yet attended. Suffice to say that the bar and restaurants are more akin to a mess hall. This place is most definitely catering for the high turnover budget tour groups. I am actually surprised that it is part of the Accor Advantage group. The concept of a budget room here, though is to have the whole room of four bunk bends all for myself. The bill comes to a whopping $260 per night (divided by four bunk beds). It has coffee and tea making facility, WiFi is super duper powerful and it's priced $5 for one hour or $10 for one day and it's a no-brainer you would go for the second option. Apart from that, the room has two chairs. The air-con is the type that the moment you slot in the room key, it would run. However, the air-con is either On or Off and you have no say over how cold or hot you want it to be. This Lodge is very spread out and it takes quite a while to get from one end to the other. It will always be popular no matter what due to its relatively close vicinity to Uluru and so, I would expect the situation to be status quo regardless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello wiredfrog

Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

As Ayres Rock Resort Group we do offer all levels of comfort from Back Packer to Five Star. The Outback Pioneer consists of a back packer’s lodge and also a 3.5 star hotel. We do have the main bar for the resort area, which offer causal catering option. This is very popular for guests and residents to the area, and often has a decent crowd enjoying our live entertainment.

We appreciate you sharing your experiences from your stay and hope you enjoyed visiting the Red Centre.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    758
    728
    254
    135
See reviews for
354
1,030
266
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booked via a travel agent. Staff charming and helpful but accommodation a bit tired and dated. Pool refreshing after a long travel. We were there in March 2014 and the restaurant was closed for evening meals. Didn't give a lot of options for eating out as use of bbq area expensive. Breakfast reasonable value for 33 AD per person, go hungry!

Room Tip: All about the same as little traffic! A few minutes to walk to a good location spot for morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebarrett1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello juliebarrett1964

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

It is good to read that the staff where charming and helpful, as we do invest a lot of time in customer service training.
As a whole the Ayres Rock Resort has an ongoing improvements/ refurbishment plan, however there is considerable time needed to cover the whole resort.
At the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge we do also offer a lodge kitchen for our budget minded traveller to use, as many do choose to prepare their own meals with items purchased at the local IGA.
I trusted you enjoyed your time here in the Red Centre as this is a special and unique part of Australia.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The layout of this hotel is a bit like a holiday village, which I quite liked. The rooms are dated (breeze block walls painted over) but comfortable, clean and spacious. It really needs a bit of a makeover. I enjoyed the atmosphere as it is also a backpacker's place and there are lots of young people around. It has an open air bar and snack bar and do it yourself BBQ. Places to eat at Ayers Rock resort are limited, either eat at your hotel or the cafe at the "shopping mall". If you want quieter, more select surroundings, stay at the more expensive hotels. But this one is fine, just dated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello YorkDragon

Glad to read in your review that you had a good stay at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and lodge. As a resort group there are plans in place for hotel upgrades, but with any large complex this will be done over the span of sometime. This will be covered in stages with the individual hotels

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had many meals at the Pioneer kitchen, all of the meals were beautifully done, and were throughly enjoyed, they did the best Pizza I have ever had!
Great atmosphere, everything was clean, the staff very friendly, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello stw70

Once again thank you for feedback regarding your experience here.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a weekend trip to Uluru. Unfortunately the hotel is quite old and needs a total upgrade and renovation. The room smelled quite funky from the bathroom and the aircon was positioned in a way to blow directly onto the bed which was incredibly uncomfortable and we were either too hot or too cold to have a good sleep. We were lucky to get one of the rooms away from the pool/bar are, as the noise that is generated there day and night is extremly loud - you couldn't possible have a good night sleep if you were staying close to that area and as early as 6am we heard loud music from the reception when we walked past there one time. The pool is quite old and uninviting. The pioneer kitchen where you can buy lunch or dinner pretty much only serves pizzas, burgers and deep fried food - very disappointed with that. The big sell of the - cook yourself bbq, that they have going on at night, was also a big disappointment - when we went to look at the meat selection, it looked old, the chicken was so stale that I would not dare eat it at any cost. Overall I have to say the resorts only two positives are - the viewing platform on a sand dune where you can watch the sunset over Uluru, and the shop they have full of souvenirs etc - it seemed to have one of the best selections from other stores. Overall, I would prefer not to return to this hotel if I came back to Uluru.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BlondeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello BlondeBunny

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with the hotel. As a Resort group we do offer alternatives in accommodation levels and our staff are more than happy to assist in making sure our guest needs are meet during their stay. It is our goal to ensure all guest are happy.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Arrived after flight from Sydney. Everyone on flight would be staying at one of the three hotels in this area and have complimentary shuttle from the airport. Consequently everyone turning up at check in at the same time, the queue was long and hot. Not sure they can do anything about it, they have several people on desk but the check in process is long as your pre-booked tours are checked and the sales pitch to sell you more all takes time. Accommodation was adequate, very basic motel style rooms but with an excellent aircon which we were very grateful for. Breakfast was ok, nothing special, just not to my taste. There is nothing to do in the area apart from the organised tours to the Rock and surrounding areas for walks or camel rides. The heat and the flies were unbearable when we were there so were glad when our two days were over although this is not a fault of the hotel. Overall I enjoyed the experience and got to visit a very iconic place, but another time would probably try one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello JanetRob

We certainly have had many comments on the flies this year. I believe they have been at their worst for many years from what most of the locals are telling me. The flies have definitely reduced in numbers now as the weather is cooling off. From reading your review, I’m not sure whether you were made aware of the free activates that normally get hosted in the town square as they are also a good way to see some of the indigenous arts and dances. As you have enjoyed your visit to the Red Centre I would assume that the booked tours you have used where to your satisfaction and would like to thank you for taking your time to leave feedback on your experience.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in a standard room for two nights. The room was basic but decent. However, dining options near this hotel were few, basically just the BBQ restaurant (where you cook your own meal) and the Outback Pioneer Kitchen. A 3rd restaurant, the Bough House, was closed during our stay. We ended up driving over to the Town Square area for better choices. All of the other Yulara hotels are located there. We did eat lunch at the Outback Pioneer Kitchen on the day of our arrival. The chicken avocado baguette I ordered did not have a trace of avocado.

In hind sight, I think we would have been happier at the Emu Walk Apartments. They are similar in price to the Outback Pioneer, and they are near the visitor center and Town Square where there is shopping and better restaurants. It is pretty expensive to stay anywhere in Yulara, but bring extra cash if you want to avoid the 1.5% transaction fee that is added to anything charged to a credit card. Wi-fi is extra as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello Carol325

Thanks for leaving feedback regarding your stay. I will most definitively follow up with the kitchen regarding your order from the Kiosk. As for the layout of the Ayers Rock resort area, there are definitely more facilities located at the town square, which is why a courtesy bus runs between these areas on a regular basis. As you mentioned the Emu Walk Apartments are also a very good option for anyone looking to stay and to be a little be more central.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing