We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and safe option for single women traveling alone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Good clean and safe option for single women traveling alone”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I moved to the lodge from an upmarket hotel as I did not realize how little time I would be spending on tours and very little time in the hotel.
The lodge was a clean, friendly, alternative for a single women traveling alone. The bbq ambiance is wonderful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarolIne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    791
    753
    270
    138
See reviews for
382
1,068
276
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were spending only the one night before being picked up on our outback tour and chose this accommodation as much for the price for the 3 of us as we could share one room.
The room was adequate, once we found it and we slept fine.
The planes all arrive at a certain time but the accommodation does not let you have a room till 3pm...but that's ok, we spent the two hours waiting time trying to acquire our rental car, which we had pre booked and arranged to pick up two hours before we managed to secure it.
With limited time that is really what you want to do...wait for people to get their act together!
The front counter staff would ring us when the room was ready and by 4pm and they still hadn't called we managed to convince them we were still waiting.
Oh,but the next morning we were to be out by 10 am!!!!! until I explained we didn't actually get into our room on time the previous day and the manager kindly allowed us to check out an hour later.
You have no other choice in Yulara and they know it, but they are not doing any favours for the Australian tourism industry. We were travelling with a US visitor and among other things you do have to maintain a sense of humour, with the facilities while visiting this magnificent part of Australia.
On the plus side everybody should take advantage of the beautiful walk through the middle of the circle that surrounds Yulara. The flowers and the view of the rock from the viewing platform is sensational.
Also do yourself a favour and skip breakfast at the resort and go for brekky at the bakery in the city square. Cheap, delicious, good service and great coffee.
Also eat at Geckos....the best barramundi I had in NT! and lovely art work on walls

Room Tip: Don't expect service and you wont be disappointed'. Do eat at Geckos and the Bakery in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2cookandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The accommodation was advertised as basic so we were pleasantly surprised with the good standard of our room. The room was large clean and well kept the bed computable and facilities good. the resort itself is well set out and everything in walking distance or there is a free bus.Amazing views just finished off the experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in budget room with bathroom and was really impressed with the facilities on the resort. I was with my 7 year old and the room was big enough for the two of us - it had 2 bunk beds. There is a communal kitchen and an IGA at the town centre which you can get to using the free resort shuttle which runs every 15min. You can also check out the other accommodation available if you ever plan to return. We stayed there 3 nights and it was great. I didn't check out the restaurant but when to Pioneer kitchen for pizza - that wasn't fantastic but was still ok. There is also a great lookout for viewing the rock and olga's and the stars too.
really recommend this for families on a budget who don't mind cooking occasionally.

Room Tip: We stayed in 906 which is well away from bar area for nights where they have loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Ayers Rock, in the Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, in a budget quad room. The price was correct (Australia isn't a cheap country and this area is even less cheap) and the room was clean. We just used the room to sleep for a few hours each night, since we wanted to spend as much time as possible doing walks and sightseeing, so from this point of view, it was what we expected.
What was really excellent was the staff. They were very friendly and helpful, no problems during the check in, neither when we were getting food in the supermarket, asking questions about the area or ordering some drinks in the bar. When we were about to check out to proceed with our trip, the person on the reception informed us that there had been a fatal car accident on the road to Alice Springs and that the road was going to be closed for several hours. After checking with the policeman in charge (very kind too) and verifying that there was no way we could be in Alice Springs in time for the flight, we went back to the hotel where we talked to the same person. She was very kind and helped us rearrange the following steps of our trip, which she had no need to. Her name is Peyton. So, if you travel there, you'll be in good hands with her.
Needless to say that Uluru and the Olgas are awesome scenarios worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A trip to the red centre has been one of my "must do's" for the past 20 years and with the opening of direct services by Jetstar and Virgin to Yulara from Sydney I had the opportunity. Travelling cheaply as possible, I booked at the Pioneer Lodge in a 4 bed unit. I was impressed with the great facilities and considering I was in my room just to sleep for a few hours each night it was fine. I hired a car so was able to spend as much time as possible doing walks and sightseeing. I thought that the choice of food available was good especially when you consider you are in the centre of Australia. The integration with the traditional owners was good and I met an aboriginal elder who was on the board that controls Uluru and surrounds and she was most informative and happy to share her knowledge. All in all, the best 4 day holiday I have ever had. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably a room close to the amenities for middle of the night dashes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Took a quick trip to Ayers Rock for a family wedding on the weekend and stayed at the Outback. The staff were friendly- especially to those that got lost and couldn't find the right lookout where the Wedding was being held. However the accommodation in the the Hotel side is looking a bit run down. The TV's are still the old style and only got 3 channels with bad reception and the grounds could do with a bit of a clean up. It is rated as 3 stars but at present would think it is about a 2 1/2 star. On a good note the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkmoth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing