We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room in an expensive area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our cement-block motel was clean and equipped with a kitchen area (refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink with draining countertop, electric kettle, and all dishes/utensils needed). There was a small table with chairs in addition to two beds. Because our tours left at 5:30 a.m., we utilized the kitchen area to prepare supplied instant coffee and tea, and food (purchased at the market in the towncenter). The antique TV needs to be replaced with a flat screen, and the 3 or 4 channels available were disrupted by stormy weather. The pool area was in need of repair, with loose and dirty tiles and older chairs marring this asset. This hotel had a covered outdoor pub, barbeque restaurant, bottle shop, and fast-food type counter. An indoor restaurant seemed to be closed during our visit. We took the free bus to other hotels in the resort for nicer dining options. Be sure to check the resort bus schedule as there are breaks in service that might result in a missed reservation. The other hotels seemed to have the same cement-block construction, but with more stories and nicer amenities. And the flies--horrific, overwhelming pests. We bought nets to put over our heads so we could at least stand to be outside. The flies kept us from trying the pub and barbeque restaurant. While a $10 wi-fi card was advertised, I tried twice unsuccesssfully to buy one. The staff at the hotel seemed to be new and still in training.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road that runs through the property as trucks and buses use this roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeySSanDimas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

A bare bones, clean room and that's about it. Paid more for this room than the Holiday Inn Old Sydney in the Rocks. Best thing about the hotel was the BBQ, bar and live music. Ask for a room ways from BBQ and Pool area which tend to have a lot of people at night if you want client.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERISADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at outback pioneer lodge for 3 days...cheapest option unless you want to camp. Rooms were small and has no lockers only 2sockets available to charge mobile phones etc. but bed was comfortable and shared bathroom facilities were clean. Foods were very expensive at hotel...you can shop at town center supermarket you can either get cooked food or cooked them yourself.the lodge kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge has a variety of room choices. We stayed in a basic dorm room with four bunk beds, air conditioner and two outlet plugs for charging computers, and shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. Everything was clean and it was no problem getting extra towels. The heart-shaped pool was about 20 C (April) so we enjoyed a swim. The live outdoor entertainment was nice as well. There was a 20 metre walk to a good star-viewing area. We enjoyed our stay and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

There is no competition, all options belong to the same company, the location is exclusive, of course it's overpriced, very overpriced!
Simple room for a price that you could get a five star in a big city.
We even got a note saying there was a lot of flies due to weather, well, for over 200aud (1 night) they could at least offer a cheap fly net, but no, they'll charge more 10aud for that.
Not only this but I got a room with bad smell, asked to swap and got another with a musty smell.
Good services around the premises and the supermarket wasn't that overpriced at least that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outlanderlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I made a mistake when I booked the hotel and ended up with a room with no bathroom. Fortunately, reception were helpful and let me upgrade to a superior room for $50. It was nice enough and served it's purpose. The resort as a whole is really good and there is a free shuttle bus which runs you around. The pool area is nice and the food facilities were good. All in all for what we paid, the hotel was OK. Nothing amazing but certainly nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear steem21

Thank you for review.

I am pleased to understand that you found your stay with us to be a pleasurable one and that our friendly reception team were able to rectify your concerns with a positive outcome.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chose the Outback Pioneer Hotel and stayed in a motel type room at the resort. It was at the cheaper end of the range for the type of accommodation available at the Ayres Rock Resort. the en-suite room was clean, had a fridge and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to have several dining options on site, and we took advantage of the Outback Kitchen as well as the Grill Kitchen. It was no frills accommodation, but when you are out early in the morn and late evening to catch the light over Uluru, you just need a nice, clean and comfy room, which this certainly was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear steem21

Thank you for review.

I am pleased to understand that you found your stay with us to be a pleasurable one and that our friendly reception team were able to rectify your concerns with a positive outcome.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $174 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing