We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveler rating
353
862
812
286
152
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
862
812
286
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutback pioneerbudget roomlive musiccommunal kitchenbough restaurantbbq areaown bathroomsingle bedcook your ownsalad barviewing platformshuttle bustake awayvisiting uluruaat kingspost officetown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,230 - 1,235 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Ayers Rock resort for 5 days, which in my opinion was too long. Unless you are going to do a trip or tour every single day, which will be very expensive, only stay for 2 days. The resort is close to Ayers Rock airport and to Uluru, so it doesn't take too long to drive down to Uluru if you have hired a car. I stayed in a 20 bed female dorm, which was cleaned daily and was a basic room to stay in. The shared toilets and showers were also clean, but the kitchen could have been a bit nicer. There was also a pool and common area with a tv and computers, but the Internet was around $6 for 10 minutes!! And it was so slow!!! Some of the staff were friendly but others didn't seem so nice, and I was left in reception for nearly 3 hours after I arrived to check in as the room still hasn't been cleaned, and once it had the reception never told me, even though they could see me sat there waiting.
Again, an alright resort to stop off in for a few days, but only to see Uluru and that's it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFiedlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear TheFiedlers

Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us at the Outback Pioneer and Lodge.

It is wonderful to read that both your room and the communal facilities provided the necessities for a pleasant stay with us.

I found your comments regarding the less than friendly customer service displayed by some of staff and the absent communication when your room was ready concerning. Please know that we do take such feedback seriously and these matters have been addressed with our Front Office Manager who has reiterated procedures to the team to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There isn't much choice in Uluru so prices are more expensive than elsewhere and you take it on the chin to experience the famous Ayers Rock. However the accommodation was very good and the transfers from airport and a shuttle around the complex was excellent. The sound of silence was a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When booking a place to stay near Uluru, the Pioneer Outback was the least expensive place to stay that allowed for us to have a private room (and since we were hauling our nice camera equipment with us, security/privacy was important to us). The room, however, was a double bed with a bunk bed, so we were a bit cramped for space. Also, the bathrooms are in a separate building, and of course we ended up there while it was pouring rain, so going to the bathroom in the middle of the night ended up being an unpleasant adventure.

Other than the size of the bed and lack of attached bathroom, the room was nice. It was clean, included a refrigerator and air conditioner that worked well, and suited our needs. When we realized that we had a glitch in our travel plans for the morning we were scheduled to leave, the front desk staff went above an beyond to help us fix our issues, even though they were in no way related to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34AnneK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear 34AnneK34

Thank you for review.

Our staff strive to provide all of our guests with impeccable level of service and to understand that in your case they went above and beyond your expectations is wonderful. I will be sure to pass your praises on to our reception team.

It is pleasing to read of your delight with the in room facilities available however your disappointment with both the size of the bed configuration and detached bathroom facilities is saddening and for this I would like to apologize.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights to experience Ayers Rock and the Olgas. Ayers Rock and the Olgas are something everybody should have on its bucket list.

We did not like the Outback Pioneer Hotel at all. During our 7 days through the outback, it was the most worse hotel. Rooms are overpriced, dark and smelling, and definitely need a renovation. I did not like the atmosphere at the resort. Designed for the masses, no flair, functional, no atmosphere.

Our approach was "start early and come home late" to avoid spending too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relssog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear relssog

Thank you for review and I am pleased to know you enjoyed your travels around Central Australia.

It is saddening to read of the disappointment felt during your stay with us at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and the atmosphere of Ayers Rock Resort. We endeavour to provide our guests with a quality outback experience and to realise that we have not met your expectations is regrettable. It is however with feedback such as yours that we are able to improve overall guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Outback Pioneer Hotel for 3 nights at end of March 2013. This was the cheapest option of accommodaton apart from hostel rooms & camping. We loved it - it was clean & had everything we needed. Transfers to & from the airport are free & there is also a free shuttle bus that takes you around the resort. For $20, we were able to get a piece of fish & all you can eat salad bar at the BBQ. Pizzas at the Outback kitchen were really tasty, too. Hire a car for easy transport to get around. It works out cheaper & gives you more flexibility. The pool is great for a cool off on hot days. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews