We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The accommodation is poor and overpriced. The website does not accurately reflect what type of room you will actually get. I think the place was built in the 1980s and hasn't been updated since, we had metal bunk beds. The furniture and decor is old but at least the sheets and towels were clean, shame we had to use communal bathroom. However there are no other accommodation options, the resort has the monopoly over the visitor. I thought AAT Kings was a rip off, i paid for a guided walk around Kata Juta but we were left to walk on our own. If I was to go again or recommend to others, i would only spend one or two nights there, I followed lonely planet advice to spend 3 days to get use of your park ticket but it wasn't worth it considering you have to use a tour company to get around, which are overpriced. The hotel has also charged my credit card twice so i forsee a battle on my hands to get a refund...we would have been better to do a day trip to Uluru from Alice Springs and not stay at the resort or fly in and out again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bawoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,287)
There are newer reviews for Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The drive to Uluru AKA Ayres rock from Alice Springs was about 6 hours with a few stops, the drivers knowledge was excellent, this was a tour in itself as we are Brits and don't normally get to see this much space or wildlife on this scale, it made us realise the vastness of this stunning country we were also shown a short video of John Stuart - Stuart Highway "what a man", on arrival at our resort again the welcoming was warm. The rooms were much more than we expected spacious, spotless all the amities you require, good air con and pool just a few steps away, you can jump on and off the resort shuttle bus or you can walk. The shops are good, the food is excellent, note that liquor is only sold at the outback pioneer bar for you to take away. There is a small market that original aboriginal art is sold, stories are told and dancing is performed. The best sounds of silence tour we were told was from the outback pioneer hotels we booked this for our second night we were not disappointed the food was excellent the sunset lamb, kangaroo,crocodile, etc.... the stars, the stargazer talk, the music from the didgeridoo was so surreal we could not believe where we were, our eyes glazed and this was not just from the amount of alcohol we were offered. One thing to be aware of which we think should be told to customers prior to booking, the amount of bugs that are on your food table and in the food when you start eating it did not bother us, as we were in there territory not visa versa but many people seem to be affected by this, whether this is a frequent occurrence or not. We loved our stay again exceeded our expectations. We would love to come back one day. For all stargazers this is a real treat especially the amount of shooting stars amazing Thanks you Uluru

Room Tip: nb. You will not get a balcony room view of Aryes Rock from this hotel, but it is just a walk away...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyChain052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The only accommodation near Uluru is in Ayers Rock Resort and Voyages Group are clearly abusing their monopoly by only offering overpriced hostels and hotels. We had a four bed shared room with nothing but the two metal bunk beds in it, not even a chair. The common kitchen was very poorly equipped: plastic "crockery", only two saucepans, dirty fridges. Showers and toilets in the common outhouse look 30 years old and are in bad need of renovation (blocked drains, poor flushing, paint coming off). Nice thing about Outback Pioneer Lodge: mixture of restaurant and BBQ, in which you buy the meat but grill it yourself and have an all-you-can-eat buffett with salads etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block 3 if you want to be further away from the music, which is played around the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having stayed at the outback pioneer we found it generally good and room serveice was great but on a big stay away do not do the "Sounds of Silence" dinner was a massive rip off drive you're car or even just go to a look out with some cheese and biscuits and you're party cause it's a big tourist trap,having done many remote catering sites myself I could not believe what was served for the price and the systematic feel of the whole evening was a huge let down I was at a table with some American people and latter meet some Spanish people and did apologize for the food that was served "that's not Australian quisine" (sic) for the price I could have eaten at Quay one of Australia's best shame on Voyages resort for letting this go on and destroying the name of Australian quisine and Australian trained chefs.

Room Tip: Was in a private room with a bathroom was good but did I see people walk out at the price of shared...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Most expensive accommodation on a round the world trip, and def the most basic. However we were pleasantly surprised. Stayed in family room with own bathroom shower etc. room was spacious and clean. Good heater as it was cold at night. No bugs or beasties that we seen! Outdoor pool area was grand for a little afternoon sun. Certainly we weren't in the pool in August! Enjoyed the resort because of the mix of people there. Pc and Internet available for use y the half hour. Laundry facilities too. Enjoyed the BBQ. Daughter enjoyed the burger and chips at the takeaway! Staff at reception very good. Transfers to and from airport good and nice staff on these too. Hope I go back some time, really do! Go and see Uluru!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Flew from Sydney - takes three hours using Quantos, nice easy flight arriving around 1245hrs. Transfers ready for you - there are only four flights in/out per day! Friendly welcome and wheeled our own luggage to our room to save waiting. Very tidy and sufficient for our short stay, en-suite and tea/coffee in the room. As stated by everyone this is an expensive stay due to location and monopoly by one company owning all the accommodation. Take your own wine in your main suitcase if you want to save a fortune!! We didn't and regretted it. Cheapest bottle was $32.....We did the Sounds of Silence evening meal with Uluru (Ayres Rock) as the backdrop. Fantastic evening, great company, aperitifs prior to the main meal which were refilled regularly!! Wine unlimited with the meal which was a sit down buffet style.....start gazing after the meal which was humorous and entertaining. Gets cold at night dropping down to 3-4 degrees so take a jumper!! There were numerous gas heaters around though which helped a great deal. DO NOT wear High Heels to this, you will sink!! Splashed out on a helicopter flight/tour of the rocks...brilliant and thank you to Angus our v.young pilot and chauffeur!! Hot during the day, up to 33 degrees and the salt water pool was brrrrr. Don't panic about water shortages - they have the largest underwater table anywhere would you believe! Supermarket in the main complex has plenty of everything so you can make up your own lunch etc if you want to save a bit - we did! We discovered it was sooo easy to walk across to the main complex direct - took six mins as opposed to waiting for a shuttle bus which was a 20 min wait each time....plenty of tours you can do if you want to walk etc around the rocks...sunrise is VERY early,,be warned if you decide to do the 'Sunrise' trips.....up at 0500hrs....great two days had though despite the expense.

Room Tip: We were in the 400+ numbers so well away from the main complex and very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in a budget room with no ensuite. The whole place is very pricey and they almost have a monopoly on accomodation.
If you're deperate for cheap accomodation there's a service station a while east that allows free/cheap camping.
We got in late one night, did the tour the next day and took in some of the cultural activities and left the following morning.
The shared toilet/shower facilities brough back memories of camp when i was a kid. The pool and the food area have a great atmosphere at night.
The buffet restaurant in the section is very expensive.
The cook your own BBQ with the vegetable bar is good value and a bit of fun. You buy the raw cut of meat and cook it yourself.
Our room had a bunk bed built in. No bars to stop kids falling out of bed. I was worried about it so I ended up sleeping on the top bunk. A bit of railing would be some good peace of mind.
The tour of Ayers Rock they organised for us was great, but they neglected to tell us in addition to the price of the tour we needed a park pass.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $148 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing