We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hassle free transfer meets every flight and a shuttle bus circuits the resort - both complementary. I stayed one night in the 20 bed female dorm which was clean and comfortable. Firm mattress and pillow with crisp fresh sheets and a blanket. Division of bunks and 3 separate doors give a degree of privacy. Pool area is pleasant with plenty of loungers and towels available. Toilet block is well maintained, plenty showers with good water pressure. Well equipped laundry with outdoor drying area. Without exception staff were friendly and helpful. Reasonable value for money considering its in the middle of nowhere with a captive audience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_C67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is exactly what I was looking for in the outback. Yes the room rate is high but...it is uluru. I had booked the best room with private bathroom. The room was very clean and I have spotted not one insect. Sheets were very good quality and soft. Plenty of towels, good shower, etc... BBQ in the evening is perfect. The food is not more expensive than in the rocks in sydney, so ok. A botlle of water is exactly the same as in the other touristic places in Australia.
This hotel is all about atmosphere. It fits perfectly with the outback location. I have also visited the other hotels in the resort but they were very cold looking, no outback atmosphere at all. I was very happy I chose the outback pioneer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights while doing a three day tour of Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon and Alice.
Standard rooms well fitted out with own ensuite. Facilities overpriced and area around complex could have done with some TLC. Good location for Ayers Rock and the National Park. Would recommend for a night or two but no longer,

Room Tip: Stick to a Standard room or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not the cheapest of places to stay but after all they do have to bring every thing in by road great pool and nice and tasty roo burgers and the only good pub in town you can even cook your own burgers if you like

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Dcfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We cannot complain about the room,it was clean and quite, even if we were not aware that our "budget room", includes a shared bathroom. It was clean and comfortable.The high price is not appropriate to this basic motel accommodation, although this resort is the cheapest in Yulara! The resort itself is plenty of restaurants, bars and other amenities, that can be quite useful in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel provides a decent stay in an area known for being overpriced. We stayed in one of their regular hotel room accommodations (they offer dorm style lodging as well) for two nights and while it offered no luxury frills the basics were cleanly provided so that paying extra due to the location didn't feel like such a rip off. The staff was helpful and the BBQ ( both the cooking n socializing) was fun. Since your in the "outback" anyway I would suggest saving your money and giving this place a shot as it may be just average for the price you have to pay but I saw the other places and they weren't really worth the extra esp. since the one with the spa couldn't provide the spa services I requested as it was under renovations.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemustravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in outback pioneer hotel for 2 nights. Arrived at hotel at 11am but not given our room til 4pm nothing to do while waiting small bottle of water 4 dollars. As an oversea visitor found oz expensive for food drink etc but ayres rock resort more so 9.80 dollars for a bottle of coors.

Our room was clean and basic bought groceries in town centre supermarket for breakfast.

Did not use pool wasnt very clean.

The nights I stayed there was a rhythm and blues band playing who were entertaining.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: $152 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing