We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed in one of the larger Emu walk apartments last summer. Compared with some of the other apartments we stayed in while in Australia, the apartment was over-priced and indifferent. It wasn't really dirty, but quite shabby and very gloomy, despite the bright blue sky outside. I would not recommend the apartments and would definitely not stay there again, though I don't know what the alternatives are like. We spent the next two nights at Kings Canyon Resort, which is owned by the same company and found that to be equally indifferent.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    382
    199
    60
    33
See reviews for
394
305
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2006

Stayed at the Emu Walk apartments and were pretty happy with the place. I agree with the comment further down to hire a car, this is very straightforward but gives you more freedom.

Unfortunately on returning home we found that after we checked out we had been charged for the minibar, which we had not used. The hotel has not responded to my emails on this and has not credited the charge (though my card issuer has).

So, apartments themselves were nice and flying into Yulara and staying here must beat a 5 hour drive from Alice Springs, but beware being charged for things you haven't used.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2006

what a rip off. Cynical exploitation in terms of charging whatever they like for average service. Do yourself a favour & camp instead.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2005

This was one of the better apartments we stayed in. It was clean and well stocked and very roomy. Was designed like a home. Had a nice kitchen, dining area, huge bathrrom and 1 queen bdrm on the upper floor. On the lower floor was the living area which was huge and the back yard and another king bdrm. They cleaned everything to detail even doing your dirty dishes. I would reccomend shopping at the store for food we got 2 days worth for 4 people for under $50Au. The gecko resteraunt is good but noisy. There is also a take away place there which is also good. There is internet in the hotel lobby and the visitor center across from the post office. If you have a family or a small group I'd stay here definately worth the price.

Helpful?
11 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2005

Finally made the trip to the rock but let down by accommodation. When we arrived, though 4 reception staff at desk, we recieved no acknowledgement. We waited 5 mins to be finally checked in. We were told of facilities, restaurants, etc. When we arrived at the room we noticed the small things. Cracked laminated cupboards, dirty toilet bowl, mixed/matched cutlery & crockery, etc. When we tried to buy drinks at the bar to take away we were sold the items then told we could not take away? We had to say we were guests, we had to show room key, we could not pay by credit card (just cash or eftpos), we could not buy a lighter, we could not purchase full strength beer, all the time being told "NO". I have never been told "NO" since being a child. To add injury to insult we tried to book a dinner reservation. 3 out of 5 retaurants were closed. No one told us this when we checked in! The receptionist (Assistant Manager) pointed out all the restaurants but did not say which were closed. How frustrating. Again, "NO" but it is not open. The rock itself was great to view sunset & sunrise but considering the captured market it seemed they just wanted to squeeze money out of you. The staff displayed a lack of enthusiasm, sullen looking faces, demoralised & this applied to all staff. I felt we were just another dollar figure considering the property rating. Why go up another star to still, possibly, feel ripped off. So all in all, a bad experience for us. I hope, as an Australian ambassador, this hotel picks its game up, spends some money on the old, tired looking hotel & somehow picks the staffs morale up. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JVG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

The expense of staying here was offset by the well-equipped kitchen and the proximity to the market. We cooked all our meals while there and avoided the expensive restaurants. The one-bedroom apartment accommodates two parents and several children. The balcony looked out on a pretty Outback landscape. The whole complex is very pleasant especially considering the remoteness of the location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2004

We have just stayed at the Emu Walk Appartments of the Ayers Rock resort. The Suite was very spacious and completely equipped with a full kitchen, a dining and living room and a dormitory. The rooms are clean and spacious, the appartment is within close walking distance of the resort center with a supermarket, shops, tourbookings, etc.
We also did the "Night sky show" to do some star gazing and we enjoyed it very much. The star sky there is phantastic.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gammal_Ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing